We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference facilities offered on 25th & 26th April 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
1 review
“Conference facilities offered on 25th & 26th April 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We are a training & consultancy firm and as such, we conduct trainings on a regular basis. We have no training facilities of our own and as such, we always outsource. We conducted a training involving 20 people at the sarova panafric on the dates indicated. We were assigned a room on the 2nd floor. The service provided was excellent. The food was absolutely great. The two areas for improvement are;

1. Provide an extra toilet for the conference room provided on 2nd floor. 20 people shared 1 toilet which ended up with people queueing
2. Ensure that the cutlery needed for refreshments served inside the conference room is availed together with the refreshments. The cutlery provided came way after the refreshments had been set up for the 10 o'clock & 4pm tea on both days of the training.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Mburu,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your conferencing with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed excellent customer service and found our food to absolutely great! Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Thank you for your feedback on the two areas and I assure you that we have taken your recommendations into consideration. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    218
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
46
130
56
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here in a standard twin room for one night before going on safari, upon return from safari spent a few hours by the pool.

- If your booking the cheapest rooms ensure you ask for a renovated one

- Standard rooms only have a shower but the water pressure and temperature were good, but rooms are quite small

- Breakfast was very good choice of 3/4 cereals, big pastry/cake selection, usual cooked items and an egg/omlette station plus fruit, tea/coffee, fresh juices and toast.

- Our party of 7 ate in the restaurant and ordered a variety of meals from pizza to steak and all were of a good standard as was the service. Friday night in the restaurant is steak night. Food beside the pool was also good and menu was the usual fare sandwiches, pasta, pizza, fries etc

- Pool is a reasonable size although there aren't many sun loungers. When I was there they'd used the area at one end of the pool for a conference buffet lunch, the bar & covered seating area is on another side, another side had only a handful of chairs & tables under cover which left one side and a narrow one at that for sun loungers. If the pool area is important I'd definately look at other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at Sarova Panafric on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your positive feedback.

Its great that you selected Sarova Panafric and that we didn't let you down. I am glad to read that you found our team members so welcoming. Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. I have passed on your commentary to our team & they are very proud of the high quality breakfast offering in our Flame Tree Restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. It would be our pleasure.

Warmest Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed here during our first night in Kenya. It is an excellent place for an overnight stay. The food is good, rooms are nice. There is also a swimming pool and security on every floor. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Would highly recommend and would stay again. Another great Sarova facility. Awesome reception, very clean, modern rooms, good food and service. Got a free upgraded room. Good location but Nairobi can be very congested with traffic. Plan travel time accordingly. WiFi was weak.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tananarive, Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

sarova panafric hotel is at the heart of nairobi city, so the hotel is great for in town routes (shoppings, meetings, workshops, e.t.c).

The hotel operates at international level (five stars). and all services are being provided at professional level.

I would recommend this hotel for highly packed, tight schedule business issues.

Room Tip: I preferred top rooms..great city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Charles,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I booked a friend in who was visiting me fro New South Wales. Though we arrived at the hotel well before his check in time, the staff went out of their way to ensure that his room was ready within a short time. The front office staff were very friendly and during my friends stay there, he could not stop praising the hotel about it's cleanliness, food and the friendly staff. Their security on all floors is excellent and I witnessed all this. Every time I arrived to pick up my friend or drop him off, I was always met with the best smiles and friendliness and I could not help feel I had made the right choice. It is a great place to stay if you want a reasonably priced hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Irene,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us great. Please feel free to contact us, in case of anything, the next time you'll be visiting as we always strive to make your stay better with us.

Thank you for your commendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here one night prior to travelling back to UK. Rooms OK and staff in reception efficient and helpful. Tried to sit on a chair by the poolside for lunch, but they were all reserved for a variety of conference attendees. Paying guests obviously are considered second class citizens in this respect. It was quite galling to see some of the reserved tables, that we were not permitted to use, remaining empty during the lunch period.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style and was of a reasonable standard. However our meal in the restaurant that we booked was a disaster. Our party of around 15 people were ignored for some time and when we eventually placed our order, the real wait started. When some of the food was served it was not of a very good overall standard, and some of the dishes eventually arrived after some of our party had already finished eating theirs. One of our party cancelled his order after waiting for so long that he shared his wife's meal and no longer felt hungry!

Some of us were due to catch a flight back to London that evening and the slow service threatened to delay our departure enough to make it possible that we would miss our check in. Thankfully the traffic was unusually quiet and we made it on time.

Difficult to categorise the hotel properly. The decor and facilities were good, but although the actual frontline staff were in the main helpful and friendly, the main priority seemed to be the conferencing bookings, andas already stated the paying guests came a poor second. It is no use providing facilities that guests were unable to use, and letting the service in the restaurant suffer. The moral for all hotels and restaurants is don't take the booking if you cannot adequately provide the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric. We do appreciate your feedback.

Sarova Panafric is wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and ensure their stay is exceeding. We're sad to hear about your overall experience while staying with us. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up corrective action. Accept my apologies for the delay experienced in the food service. We have stringent food and beverage standards including service time and delays are not in accordance to our standards. Please note that we appreciate every guest feedback and always strive to continuously provide excellent and up to date facilities that are suitable to guest needs. Therefore, we have taken note on your feedback in regards to the pool area.

I do hope the next time your travels bring you to Nairobi, you will return to Sarova Panafric and be sure to let me know. It’ll be a pleasure to meet with you and for you to enjoy our good facilities, excellent restaurant and amazing staff.

We definitely look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.