We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, efficient and lots of amazing staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable, efficient and lots of amazing staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here for 7 days for a series of meetings so I feel adequately expereinced to judge this hotel.
This is not the fanciest poshest of establishments (the restaurant and terrace are lovely; the pool area could do with a bit of an upgrade) but it sure does make your stay comfortable.
Breakfast buffet serves a wide variety of fruit, breads, eggs etc; the dinner menu has a variety of really tasty meals. Be ware the 28% surcharge on all food in the restaurant though.
The rooms are perfectly comfoirtable, tidyt, the bedding of great quality and the bathroom equipped with hairdryers and toiletries.
The highlight however, are the staff. Whether the wide smiling security guards on every floor who greet you with a salute or a jambo, Benson and Felix at reception, the many wonderful housekeeping and room service staff who made me feel special. And Helen, in the spa, who gave me the massage of a lifetime. These people deserve awards for their kindness and could teach us South Africans a thing or two about how to treat guests.
So a big thank you for every smile that came my way.
(There is also a great running route past state house and into an Arboretum just outside the hotel-about 6km return and very worthwhile and safe.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Friederike,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We also strive to ensure that our guests' stay is of utmost comfort and this includes providing uncompromisable security measures. We are also glad you had a chance to enjoy the Tulia Spa, one of the Hotel’s best amenities and we'll be sure to pass your compliments to Helen.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    216
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
45
130
56
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights Jan 13 & 14 and we had 2 rooms. In advance we asked for newly renovated rooms as others' reviews were bad. Upon check in we asked the staff if we were being given newly renovated rooms and were told we were. However when we got to our rooms they were old, dilapidated and horrible!!! Definitely not ever renovated!

We spent 2 days trying to speak with a manager and got nowhere!

Front desk staff was dishonest and did nothing!

Rooms were not only old but were dirty and smelly!

We tried resolving after our return home with the manager and although he agreed we paid good money and did not get value for our money, to date he has not issued us with a refund! In fact he tried calling us a second time COLLECT from Kenya without our permission and he won't put anything in writing via email.

DO NOT STAY AT THE SAROVA PANAFRIC!!!!!! You will be disgusted and get ripped off!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Theresa,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay at Sarova Panafric and would also like to express my sincere appreciation for your Trip Advisor review.

I am saddened to hear about your room experience. Indeed, we encourage our guests to give us feedback so that we’re able to take up corrective action. Immediately after reading your review, I thoroughly investigated your situation to understand what the mishap was. Your experience was indeed quite surprising as we have stringent check in procedures that see to our front office and reservations associates strictly adhere to listed details from the Travel Agents or bookers. In your case, as discussed on the telecom, I understand that the Travel Agent you were using instructed for you to be checked into a Superior room and paid for the same. In such situations, we strongly advise clients to double check and confirm any room details with their particular bookers especially if there has been a change of room allocation. This will enable you have no hustle upon check in.

We continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned. Not only do we want each guest experience to be seamless, but we also take cleanliness with the utmost seriousness. We can assure you that our team does take the utmost care with all products, not the least of which being rooms: our rooms are cleaned every single day, unless requested by guest not to, with standard, stringent and uncompromising procedures. The guest rooms are then inspected by the Executive Housekeeper to ensure everything is in order. With that being said, we're certainly not making excuses, and we assure you this will never happen again.

I do hope the next time your travels bring you to Nairobi, you will return to Sarova Panafric and be sure to let me know. It’ll be a pleasure to meet with you.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over a 2 weeks period as this was the main hotel for our safari's of Kenya and Tanzania. It appears the majority of safari companies use this hotel as the overnight hotel/pick up/drop off point. It is also a very busy hotel with a lot of conferences being held on a daily basis.
Check in can be very slow even with a large number of staff. The staff are very pleasant and try their best.
On the first night we stayed we were in the older rooms overlooking the front/main road, these rooms are very very old. Very basic room, very hard and low bed, disgusting bathroom. The room we were in had a major problem and after two phone calls no one came to help us, so we had to put up with very bad fumes all night as there were no windows to open.
The next morning after advising management of the issue and the lack of staff to resolve, they could not do enough to apologise and promise better upon our return.
What a pleasant surprise on our 2nd night when we were put in the Executive area (new rooms) overlooking the skyline. The rooms were very modern, great beds, very clean, comfortable, flat screen tv and wi-fi that actually worked well, unlike the older rooms. The 3rd night we were in the new rooms again and overlooking the pool. What a difference from old to new rooms you wouldn't know you were in the same hotel.
The restaurant/bar downstairs is very comfortable and always busy, great food but service very slow. Breakfast is the typical buffet style, be early as it gets so many people you may not get a table and once food runs out it takes a while for fresh food to come out.
Hint, the Pizza is to die for, watch out for the steak unless you can chew on rubber.
We would stay here again if on safari and appreciate the help of management in resolving our issue quickly.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask and get rooms in the Executive area or above. Don't stay in the Superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re so pleased that you chose Sarova Panafric for your 3 nights in the city.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. Plans of performing a guest bathroom enhancement are in the pipeline and shall be commissioned to begin soon. And we’ll be performing additional enhancements in the rooms in the coming months and years that we trust our guests will take great pleasure in. We’ve shared your comments with our department heads, as we’re always striving to better ourselves and to make each guest visit magical.

We hope you may have the opportunity to return again to Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Located at the edge of the diplomatic area and the down town, this place is a comfortable place if you prefer a quiet evening after a long day work where there is also a possibility of having a yet another business meeting in the evening! Food is certainly a high point and the staff is very cordial and welcoming. It is not a very fancy place but very utalitarian and an understated elegance. It is certainly a very good choice for the business visits, but is also good for the travellers who are on vacation. The national park and other places for outing are at comfortable distance.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the road are good ones as they also give a skyline view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We’re glowing reading your review; thank you. We couldn’t be more thrilled or honored that you had such a wonderful experience at the Hotel – and out and about in our neighborhood too. We’re so proud of our warm, welcoming and cordial staff, as we know that service is what makes the difference between a good stay and a great one.

Many thanks once again for choosing Sarova Panafric; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another special stay.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed twice each time for 1 night while on Safari

Our 1st stay the room was very dated and not very clean (in the bathroom). The 2nd time (9 days later) we asked and received a better room. Having stayed in 2 other Sarova locations, this is by far the weakest hotel.The breakfast selection was very limited.

However the service is generally very good and everyone genuinely wants to help. As this was our 1st and last night on the Safari, I would chose elsewhere and if you do stay insist on a renovated / clean room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly. We're absolutely saddened by your experience with the air conditioner, mosquitoes and your bathroom. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned.

Apologies for the room situation. Not only do we want each guest experience to be seamless, but we also take cleanliness with the utmost seriousness. We can assure you that this is very out of character and that our team does take the utmost care with all products, not the least of which being rooms: our rooms are cleaned every single day, unless requested by guest not to, with standard, stringent and uncompromisable procedures. The guest rooms are then inspected by the Executive Housekeeper to ensure everything is in order. With that being said, we're certainly not making excuses, and we assure you this will never happen again. In regards to the breakfast at the Flame Tree Restaurant, we have received numerous reviews about the variety of the spread which is one of the offerings our guests enjoy. .Having said this, our chef is readily available to cater for any special requests as we continuously strive to ensure our guests' stay is of utmost comfort.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel the last part of holiday and it was lovely and relaxing with fantastic facilities. We booked in for some of the treatments such as a pedicure and massage and these were excellent value staffed by friendly and professional staff. The food was great and breakfast had everything you could possibly want. Further must not forget the cocktails

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your wonderful review.

It’s a joy to receive glowing feedback from our guests, and especially as it pertains to excellent service and food. We pride ourselves on providing fantastic service, and we work each day to enhance the guest experience even further. We're also excited to note that you enjoyed the spa treatments as well as the cocktails stirred up by our mixologist. I'll be sure to share the same with him.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. It would be our pleasure.

Warmest Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Overall the hotel was good, staff was nice. Wifi is free but quite difficult to log into, and did not work the first day (of 3). Rooms are rather outdated, but OK. restaurant staff was nice and food good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at Sarova Panafric, but most importantly, the service provided to you. We strive to provide exceptional service to all our guests in order to make your stay with us great. We're sorry to read about the difficulty faced during your logging in to access the Wi-Fi, however, our 24hr manned reception and Business Center attendant is readily available to assist with any issue you may have in regards to Wi-Fi. We hope the during your next stay with us, you will communicate the same so that we can help you avoid any disappointments. We’ll also be performing additional enhancements to our guest rooms in the coming years that we trust our guests will take great pleasure in.

We look forward to hosting you once more.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.