We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Introduction to Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Introduction to Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, 22 and 23 December. Service was absolutely lovely, excellent food for lunch and dinner in their restaurant. I would definitely recommend if you are flying into Nairobi woth the intention of going on safari, it is a very good first stop.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Leone,

Happy New Year!

We are absolutely thrilled to note that Sarova Panafric was you're first stop in Nairobi on your way to Safari and that we had the great opportunity to make you feel welcome. Here at Sarova Panafric, we believe that the initial experience in a city influences the overall perception of the city. We truly hope that your positive experience with us had a great impact on the rest of your safari. Its great to note you found our service lovely and enjoyed the excellent food; both lunch and dinner. I shall share your feedback with our chef and team and I'm certain they will be excited to hear.

Thank you for recommending Sarova Panafric and we truly look forward to hosting you again, hopefully soon.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    204
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
126
54
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have always stayed at the Sarova Stanley but decided to stay at the Sarova Panafric in order to see how different the two hotels were even though they are just a couple of miles apart. Panafric is more exclusively located and has a feel of serenity probably because of the green vegetation around it or the mere location outside the Central Business District. The staff both at the hotel (Rose and Patrick were awesome) and the restaurant (Catherine was charming) are what added to my comfortable stay at the hotel. I know I'll be back for sure.
On the negative side, the Checkout process is still the same mess where they "detain" you at the front desk while they verify if you "stole" something from the mini bar (they claim they don't keep your credit card record for such charges). I was also surprised to find out that they do not have central database for their customers which means if you've stayed at Sarova Stanley before, your record does not exist at Sarova Panafric and you'll have to register all over again even though they have internet access.
Overall experience was positive.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Swimming pool are more fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback! It's great to note that you found our prime location exclusive and took note of the meticulously manicured gardens that provide the serenity to our guests. Without a doubt, we strive to provide exceptional service to our guests as it always should be. We have shared your feedback with Catherine, Rose and Patrick as well as the head of departments and they are elated to know that they 'added the comfortable' element to your stay. We apologize about the delay during the checkout process; it is standard procedure to confirm any mini bar consumption but shouldn't delay the client's check out. This is definitely not in accordance to our standards and be assured that we have looked into it to ensure seamless flow. We also appreciate your feedback on the guest database. However, this isn't possible at the moment as we do not share the same server as Sarova Stanely. Having said that, we will look into it to identify the possibilities for future references.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed the last two weeks in November, running a training course in the hotel.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful - more so than any other hotel I have stayed in.

Food was expensive but generous portions and extremely good quality.
Pizzas were surprisingly good as were the steaks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Michell,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Its great to note that you enjoyed the pizzas and tried our steaks at restaurant. The Flame Tree Restaurant boasts for providing a great culinary experience and we're elated to read that you were around to try our Steak Fridays. We hope that next time you're around, you'll try our generous Ribs & Chops potions during Wednesday Jazz Live. We’re also elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us during your training great. It's incredibly rewarding to know that a guest has experienced just that.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Sarova Panafric is located within walking distance from the centre of Nairobi. I was adviced to walk alone during the day light only. This is a cosy hotel with nice restaurant and friendly staff. The rooms are rather basic but OK. The hotel has plenty of well catered conference rooms for meetings. Bear in mind the traffic in Nairobi is congested and allow enough time getting to the airport.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are more quiet,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Jari,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We’re ecstatic to know that you liked our rooms plus the lovely Flame Tree restaurant. But above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed exceptional customer service. Our staff strives to provide warm, welcoming service always, and making your stay with us during your conference great. We also pride ourselves for our central location. We do hope you had a chance to walk around the city and view some attraction sites.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Sarova Panafric for one week whilst I engaged in some charity work for the company I work with. The hotel is well laid out with lots of places to 'hang out' in our down time. The rooms are clean and nicely appointed and there are very friendly security guards at each floor! The food was good to great and the staff were absolutely fabulous!!! A fantastic stay in Nairobi made better by this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We also strive to ensure that our guests' stay is of utmost comfort and this includes providing uncompromisable security measures. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Hotel’s amenities such as The Tulia Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The foyer for this hotel has very obviously been upgraded, so when we saw our room it was disappointing. The room was very basic and clean with a TINY bathroom, but has seen better days. We had a room that faced the street and it was quite noisy.

Having said that, the staff were friendly and the restaurant was very nice. The breakfast buffet had a huge variety of food and it was tasty.

The hotel had internet access in the business centre that was very high speed. There was high security at the door to get in, which made it feel safe.

Compared to other hotels we stayed at during our trip to Kenya, this one was not one of the best, but it was clean and felt safe.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Kyles,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and rooms clean. It is also notable that you appreciated the security offered at the hotel. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned.

Its great to note that to know that you enjoyed the variety of the breakfast at The Flame Tree restaurant. But above all, we’re elated that you enjoyed the facilities that are destined to make your stay all the more exceptional and the security. Security is Top Of Mind at Sarova Panafric and we continuously strive to ensure our guests' stay is of utmost comfort.

We do look forward to having you visit us again.

Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The first thing that's immediately apparent is that this star is fading. The rooms (superior) have seen better days. Be sure to avoid a room facing the street as the traffic is surprisingly loud at night.

That said, the service was excellent. Everyone from the security to the ladies at reception did everything to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfast buffet was pretty extensive and again the staff was very friendly and hospitable. Dinner was just ok and very overpriced IMO.

Airport transfers were obscenely expensive (USD50 each way). There are numerous reputable options online for airport xfers for as low as $20 each way - some even allow you to book directly from their website.

While my stay wasn't terrible, I was expecting more since other online reviews were very encouraging.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and rooms clean. It is also notable that you appreciated the security offered at the hotel. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations as in the Executive rooms & suite. Renovations of the Superior rooms is in the pipeline and we'll definitely communicate once commissioned.

Our airport transfer service is an unusual offering among Nairobi City hotels and for a number of years it has proven to be tremendously well received and enjoyed by most guests. This is because of the importance in providing continuous convenience, and luxurious experience beyond the hotel for our guests. Of course, there are some who may wish to enjoy an ordinary taxi ride, as you did and in such cases, we request that you only let us know during your stay or in advance and one of our concierge or I would happily arrange the drop off for you. This also assures us that the guest is not inconvenienced in any way & safely arrives at their destination of choice.

We truly look forward to hosting you once again.

Warm regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.