We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned from a three night stay at Sarova Panafric having visited Kenya for the first time for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and provided a very high level of service throughout. They made me and my family feel very welcome. The breakfast buffet had an excellent selection and the quality of the food in the restaurant at lunch and dinner was high.

My room was a good size and spotlessly clean.

I would totally recommend staying here if you are looking for a hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Hotel’s amenities such as The Tulia Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    218
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
46
130
56
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubendorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

It was a nice stay at this hotel. After our safari we needed a place to stay. This hotel was ideal. It has a good restaurant where they serve the included breakfast and also lunch and dinner. Staff was very friendly and professional.

The one thing I didn't like, was that they don't organize a regular taxi for you. They only offer Limo service to the airport ($40 per person). But it was no problem organizing a taxi by myself, which costs $20 to the airport in total. I can recomment Aircab for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate your feedback and were glad to read that you found our location convenient, our hotel rooms to be very clean and that our services were professional. Sarova Panafric is committed to making your stay truly incomparable with the aim of making your stay a home away from home experience and one where you get superior service in a relaxed environment.
Our airport transfer service is an unusual offering among Nairobi City hotels and for a number of years it has proven to be tremendously well received and enjoyed by most guests. This is because of the importance in providing continuous convenience, and luxurious experience beyond the hotel for our guests. Of course, there are some who may wish to enjoy an ordinary taxi ride, as you did and in such cases, we request that you only let us know during your stay or in advance and one of our concierge or I would happily arrange the drop off for you. This also assures us that the guest is not inconvenienced in any way & safely arrives at their destination of choice.

We truly look forward to hosting you once again.

Warm regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at Sarova Panafric on two separate nights while on our honeymoon over November. The breakfast was fantastic, and the room was nice. Service was very good. Jane the masseuse was a beautiful soul. There were two aspects that were troubling - 1. the thin walls - there was a function by the pool while we were staying and we could hear everything. 2. The massive markup on a taxi from the hotel to the airport. The usual price is 2000ksh from hotel to airport but the hotel charged 25USD per person - an unacceptable markup, particularly considering the taxi driver probably saw less than 5% of this. As someone rightly pointed out, the Sarova is the Hotel California. The corruption/ unscrupulous dealings in Kenya is truly disappointing. I implore the general manager of the hotel to review this practice and to demonstrate his/her appreciation for the hard work of the staff and associates by rising their wages to a fair and appropriate level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed Sarova Panafric, and we can’t thank you enough for sharing your feedback with us. We’re thrilled you enjoyed the fantastic food and service from our team and also took advantage of our Tulia services. Indeed Jane is a superb masseuse and I have shared your feedback with her. Our airport transfer service is an unusual offering among Nairobi City hotels and for a number of years it has proven to be tremendously well received and enjoyed by most guests. This is because of the importance in providing continuous convenience, and luxurious experience beyond the hotel for our guests. Of course, there are some who may wish to enjoy an ordinary taxi ride, as you did and in such cases, we request that you only let us know during your stay or in advance and one of our concierge or I would happily arrange the drop off for you. This also assures us that the guest is not inconvenienced in any way & safely arrives at their destination of choice.

We look forward to having you at Sarova Panafric in the near future.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We received first class service before and during our function at the hotel. The sales account manager (Joseph Kimondo) was very efficient and attended to us as should be. The staff at the hotel ensured all things went on smoothly and were very hospitable.

Room Tip: When you call the hotel , ask for Mr. KImondo. You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Loreen,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We're excited, not only because you chose Sarova Panafric, but also happy to read that we were able to offer first class service to you; as it should be and that our Sales Account Manager, Joseph was of tremendous help. I have shared your feedback with him.

We definitely look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel the last part of holiday and it was lovely and relaxing with fantastic facilities. We booked in for some of the treatments such as a pedicure and massage and these were excellent value, staffed by friendly and professional staff. The food was great and breakfast had everything you could possibly want. Further, must not forget the cocktails, we've not been able to find a 'French Kiss' the same since! Definately would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your candid review.

We can think of no bigger compliment than being that hotel to specially help wind up your holiday. We’re extremely proud of our staff and the excellent service they provide. We know that great service makes a huge difference when traveling, and we can only hope that each visit brings new, happy memories to enjoy. It was also great that you had a chance to experience some of our Tulia Spa treatments and that we didn't let you down in offering value. We’re thrilled and honored that you did enjoy our renowned mixologist's cocktail and he's elated to know that his famous French Kiss is unmatchable. We look forward to having you at Sarova Panafric and be sure, your favourite cocktail awaits you.

Thank you once again!

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here yet again and have to say the hotel just gets better every time. After a long journey it is so nice to be greeted by name on arrival and given a hot towel and fresh juice.
The room as usual was excellent and spotlessly clean thanks to the lovely Eunice and her great team. The towel decorations were a delight to see after a day out working. Thank you Rachael.
The staff at the business centre were excellent. So helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even though they had many conferences to deal with.
The team at the Tulia Spa are truly the best around. So caring and professional.
Stars of the excellent Flame Tree restaurant were Roy and Annrita. So attentive and great at their jobs.
From the minute I arrived until the minute I left, it was a pleasure to be there and look forward to coming back again to my '2nd home' very soon.
There are more expensive hotels in Nairobi but I can assure you won't find better service than at Sarova Panafric.

Room Tip: If you are booking executive rooms go for an odd numbered which overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous positive feedback regarding your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We are more than happy to note that you are part and parcel of the Sarova Panafric family and that we are your choice while staying in Nairobi. Its also great to read that you have experienced your stay getting better and be assured that we will continue to strive to make each and every stay exceptional.

We look forward to hosting you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the perfect base for us as a Volunteer group travelling to different locations each day. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean and the hotel felt very secure. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Hotel’s amenities such as The Tulia Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.