We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special offer from $150
Ranked #20 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at hotel the last part of holiday and it was lovely and relaxing with fantastic facilities. We booked in for some of the treatments such as a pedicure and massage and these were excellent value, staffed by friendly and professional staff. The food was great and breakfast had everything you could possibly want. Further, must not forget the cocktails, we've not been able to find a 'French Kiss' the same since! Definately would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your candid review.

We can think of no bigger compliment than being that hotel to specially help wind up your holiday. We’re extremely proud of our staff and the excellent service they provide. We know that great service makes a huge difference when traveling, and we can only hope that each visit brings new, happy memories to enjoy. It was also great that you had a chance to experience some of our Tulia Spa treatments and that we didn't let you down in offering value. We’re thrilled and honored that you did enjoy our renowned mixologist's cocktail and he's elated to know that his famous French Kiss is unmatchable. We look forward to having you at Sarova Panafric and be sure, your favourite cocktail awaits you.

Thank you once again!

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    172
    113
    19
    16
See reviews for
38
106
45
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here yet again and have to say the hotel just gets better every time. After a long journey it is so nice to be greeted by name on arrival and given a hot towel and fresh juice.
The room as usual was excellent and spotlessly clean thanks to the lovely Eunice and her great team. The towel decorations were a delight to see after a day out working. Thank you Rachael.
The staff at the business centre were excellent. So helpful and nothing was too much trouble, even though they had many conferences to deal with.
The team at the Tulia Spa are truly the best around. So caring and professional.
Stars of the excellent Flame Tree restaurant were Roy and Annrita. So attentive and great at their jobs.
From the minute I arrived until the minute I left, it was a pleasure to be there and look forward to coming back again to my '2nd home' very soon.
There are more expensive hotels in Nairobi but I can assure you won't find better service than at Sarova Panafric.

Room Tip: If you are booking executive rooms go for an odd numbered which overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continuous positive feedback regarding your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We are more than happy to note that you are part and parcel of the Sarova Panafric family and that we are your choice while staying in Nairobi. Its also great to read that you have experienced your stay getting better and be assured that we will continue to strive to make each and every stay exceptional.

We look forward to hosting you soon.

Warmest Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was the perfect base for us as a Volunteer group travelling to different locations each day. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean and the hotel felt very secure. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for sharing your Sarova Panafric experience with us.

We genuinely care about each guest’s experience, and we’re so pleased it shows through our guest rooms and services. We hope you had a chance to enjoy the Hotel’s amenities such as The Tulia Spa.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Sarova Panafrica hotel is just a classic example of a hotel with a "home" feeling

1 - The location is just the best; near the city centre and with easy access to the airport and other important sites yet away from city noise and commotion.

2 - The staff; I wish I could have a separate rating for this; simply excellent! Right from the conference hall, to the parking lot, always smiling, greeting you and assuring you how they can be of service. I felt like I was at home :-)

3 - The meals; we all know how tricky hotel meals can get but at Sarova, you might be convinced to eat there at every possible occasion. In one word, yum!

4 - Air; the hotel is well designed with top quality furnishing and a great environment of freshness; you truly feel ambient and get value-for-money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool side are what you surely would want to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review; we’re honored to have had you stay with us!

We’re pleased too that you found Sarova Panafric a homely haven. It is also great that you enjoyed our prime location, your guest room and the meals at the restaurant. We strive to have our guests enjoy every bit of their delicacy at the Flame Tree Restaurant and leave them with one word, Yum! Next time you're around, try our vast Spa treatments that are a guarantee of pure relaxation. Your comments about our decor are equally appreciated. Ambiance is something we’re always looking to enhance, and something we too have prioritized for the future, as we know how important it is to get it right.

It’s our goal to ensure our guests feel at home, welcome and looked after...always! We definitely look forward to having you again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
american in africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for a week and was pleased with all aspects of the experience. The hotel is centrally located, the rooms are nice and the staff was very accommodating. I utilized one of the hotel drivers each day for travel to meetings around town and found him consistently professional and punctual. The breakfast buffet was very good as well. All in all, quite satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Stacey,

Thank you for the positive review.

It’s a delight to know that you enjoyed our service, location, rooms and breakfast offerings. Hopefully a future visit will bring opportunities to enjoy lunch, dinner and cocktails as well; we recommend the famous Fillet Steak complimented by the Liquid Kaya, two can’t-miss favorites. Our hotel drivers likewise appreciate your feedback and will continue to strive to offer only the best to customers.

We do look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Sarova Panafric is a bit hit or miss.
The location is great - from a coming from the airport point of view; not really good at all if you need to be in Westlands or Gigiri.
The terrace restaurant is a nice breakfast spot.
The rooms are decent sized, and the bed is comfortable enough.
I stayed two nights on two different occasions. The first occasion the room was thrid floor, and although traffic side, it was relatively quiet, excusing noises from the restaurant staff cleaning up the pool area from an occasion the night before.
The second occasion, the room was second floor and horrendous. The bathroom was only casually clean. The noise AND fumes from the traffic were almost unbearable. The air conditioner didn't work, and mosquitoes were everywhere. There are no nets on the bed and no screen on the patio door, so once you open it, they're in!
The wireless is good; and the service is courteous, if a bit slow during "rush hour".
So... if you get the right room, Sarova Panafric is a good hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Try to avoid traffic side, especially on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’d like to thank you for your feedback; guest reviews are by far the most important reviews we receive.

We’re glad to note that this was your second visit and are grateful for your continued support. It’s also great that you enjoy our location; one of our greatest strengths as well as the rooms and breakfast at the Flame Tree Restaurant. We're absolutely saddened by your experience with the air conditioner, mosquitoes and your bathroom. We apologize profusely. Not only do we want each guest experience to be seamless, but we also take cleanliness with the utmost seriousness. We can assure you that this is very out of character and that our team does take the utmost care with all products, not the least of which being rooms: our bathrooms are cleaned every single day, unless requested by guest not to, with standard, stringent and uncompromisable procedures. The guest rooms are then inspected by the Executive Housekeeper to ensure everything is in order. With that being said, we're certainly not making excuses, and we assure you this will never happen again. We’d also like you to know that as a result of your feedback, we have taken measures to ensure the mosquitoes, especially during this short rains season, are not a bother.

We hope you can trust our sincerity, and we thank you again for sharing this feedback with us as it has prompted us to be more diligent than ever.

We hope this initial experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent several days at this hotel and enjoyed the pleasant staff and very comfortable room. The restaurant was fine although it flooded a bit with the rains. The location is very close to downtown. The Panafric makes a good stop off to or from a safari. Finally, I would highly recommend taxi driver Nicholas Muya at nicholasmuya98@yahoo.com for convenient transport around town.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarova Panafric. We’re so happy that you enjoyed each aspect of your stay – from the pleasant service to the comfortable room, and dining at The Flame Tree Restaurant. We greatly apologize about the flooding of the restaurant. Despite the heavy rains we’re experiencing, this is however not acceptable and be assure that our engineering team immediately sorted this issue out. We are glad you had a chance to explore the CBD and more than thrilled Nicholas ensured you had a wonderful experience while at it.

We most definitely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for a longer duration and hope that each visit is as wonderful as the first.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Panafric Hotel
Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.