We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice for a breif stop-over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Solid choice for a breif stop-over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We found ourselves in the Panafric in October for an overnight stop-over in Nairobi.

The hotel was well presented, we were well looked after and always felt safe. We arrived very late from our flight and where told catering had closed, we were however offered room service, we didn't expect much for gone midnight in Nairobi however we accepted. The food was fantastic and some of the fastest room service i have ever seen.

We also had to leave early for our further transfer and thought we might miss the best of breakfast but they had that all set up ready and waiting for us. For a similar very brief stay I would have no problems recommending the Panafric.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

It’s wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed Sarova Panafric, and we can’t thank you enough for sharing your feedback with us. We’re thrilled you received exceptional food and service from our team and also took advantage of our 24hr room service. For guests departing form the hotel early, we're always ready to prepare an early morning breakfast for them to carry. We hope in your next visit you'll have a chance to visit The Flame Tree Restaurant to enjoy leisurely some of our favorite offerings.

Thank you for recommending us to others.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    203
    126
    22
    16
See reviews for
42
126
53
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been staying many times at various hotels of the Sarovo Group (Panafric, New Stanley, Whitesands and Salt Lick Lodge).
It is always a relaxing pleasure to stay at those hotels. The staff are very friendly and professional, the service is almost perfect, the rooms are clean and comfy.
As i have been visiting various Sarova Hotels over the last few years, i am actually impressed that they are upkeeping and improving their standards whilst other Hotels are not.
Mostly i have been staying at the Panafric, which for me as a businessman is located at the ideal area of Nairobi to easily and fast reach the City Centre, but yet away from the major traffic.
in view of the worldwide problems regarding security issues, i am impressed, that Panafric has installed an electronic system which is even scanning the underneath of cars. Metal Detectors and scanners at the entrance to the hotel complete their security meassurements. I always feel safe there.
the menu at their Flametree restaurant isn't the largest on the market, but be assured whatever is on there is of finest taste and quality ...... and i have tried almost all of it.
during my last trip i gave myself a treat by visiting and experiencing the warm and friendly and very professional services at the Tulia Spa.
I also had several conference meetings at Sarova and i muts say that the conference facilities there are very good. There are many rooms with different sizes available, all in proximity of the Business centre.
I definetly recommend the Sarova Panafric for Business Travellers or Transit Travellers.
Good Value for Money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for continuously supporting Sarova Panafric through your visits.

We are indeed elated to know that this is your hotel of choice over the couple of years and are more than grateful to have such loyal clients as you. With the notable ever-changing client needs, we continue to strive in providing exceptional service not only through our highly skilled and trained associates but also through improvements in the physical evidence of the hotels via renovations. We're glad that you appreciate these ongoing developments. Our flagship restaurant, Flame Tree continues to serve culinary masterpieces and also enhance its menu through re-engineering it occasionally in order to provide refreshing dining experiences for our guests. We are happy that you find the conferencing facilities very good and glad they continue to meet your needs.

Once again, thank you for being a Sarova Panafric fan and we're looking forward to having you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We treated this hotel as our base for two nights when we did the various tourist activities around Nairobi. We didn't leave the hotel on foot. There is a huge amount of security in and around the hotel and we always felt very safe.
The hotel is very nice, the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. It is a very busy hotel which is positive to see.
The most notable thing about this hotel for me was the food, it was really delicious. The flavours and freshness was such a surprise for me as I didn't expect this quality of food.
No issues with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid review.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be friendly and rooms clean. It is also notable that you appreciated the security offered at the hotel. We pride ourselves with exceptional security systems and measures in place so as to ensure our guests' safety is the least of worries while staying here. I have shared the feedback with our kitchen team and they are excited to know that the food is the most memorable of your experiences here. Our highly trained chefs understand the importance of providing an exceptional dining experience to our guests through quality, variety and artisan in the menu items at both the Flame Tree and Pool Garden restaurants.

We truly look forward to hosting you again. Do let me know when you so do happen to as I would personally like to welcome you.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I found all the staff I dealt with professional, courteous, helpful,
efficient and friendly. I was met with a smile at the door as well as at
the reception desk. The check in was done efficiently and the room was
clean and comfortable.

The staff at the conference facilities were helpful and attentive and
more than one asked me if they could assist me when I walked outside the
room looking for something. The projector was set up each morning and I
did not need to ask anybody to to it.

The staff at the lunch venue as well as in the restaurant were also
friendly, helpful and efficient. The guards on the various floors were
just as friendly and courteous and the people at the service centre
assisted me with internet connection with efficiency and understanding.

Sometimes one finds good staff in a hotel, but there always seems to be
one or two people who do not live up to the quality of service one is
striving for. The staff at the Sarova were however without exception
were very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Ben,

Your feedback is highly appreciated.

We’re delighted that you found our associates professional, courteous, helpful,
efficient and friendly. We do delight ourselves in providing exceptional service to our guests. It is also great to note that you found the check in process efficient and your rooms clean and comfortable. We’ve shared your kudos with our staff, which they will be delighted to know that their passion for providing exceptional service was noticed.

We hope you’ll have the opportunity to return in the future, whether for business or pleasure.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LJUBLJANA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in Sarova Panafric in September. The hotel is nice, especially the entrance, lobby and the garden. The staff welcomed us very nicely and we were given a nice and quite room as requested. The food was good and the staff were nice. We felt very save beacuse there is a lot of security in the hotel. The city center is quite near, it was approx. 15-20 min walk from the hotel. We had time to visit a local market and then we took a trip to giraffe center with a local agency guide, which was also nice.
Everything was very pleasing untill the moment we should meet our safari representative.
Before arriving to the hotel we wanted to make reservation for the safari in Masai Mara in advance, because we were very limited with time. We wrote an email to the hotel and asked them if they can arrange a safari for us and also train tickets to Mombasa. They gave as a contact for Marble travel agency, which later contacted us and we have made a reservation and also payed some money in advance. When we were supposed to meet the lady, we asked the staff at the reception that we are waiting the lady at the restaurant. (we gave the staff the name of that lady and also the name of the agency). Since the lady was late, we went to the reception asking if she has maybe arrived and asked for us and if they can call the agency to check if somebody is coming. Although they have suggested this agency via email, they told us that they don't know this Marble travel agency and that we should go to conference center to make a call by ourselves. We did go there, but the call was apparently 1500 kenyan shilings - 15 €, I had to ask twice if this is the rate for local call and if they are sure, so we decided to wait a litter longer. In the meantime the lady arrived in the lobby asking for us and the staff told her that we are not hotel guests and when she insisted we had a meeting they told her to go another wrong way to look for us. We actually managed to meet, but only beacuse we were both persistent. So we did take the safari with this agency and it was just great!! We later asked at the reception what is the cost for the local call from the room and were told only 30 shilings - 3 eur? So obviously, the hotel or some hotel staff does not want you to provide anything on your own and we were very dissapointed with this attitude, beacuse we almost stayed without money and without safari. That is really not a good way to treat a customer!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for our final night in Kenya on our way back from Masai mara It was a great location in proximity to the airport. The hotel is a great deal if you are looking for a well located and friendly place to stay. The club rooms were quite impressive, and they match the price charged. Most of the staff was really Nice and thoughtful. I would stay there again if staying longer in the city. Loved the restaurant and the bar since we were on our last night my hubby and i had lovely cocktails to toast away the last day of our trip..Totally loved it. Would go back

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jen,

We're happy to read your review.

It’s a joy to know that you experienced exceptional service and took pleasure in our location and guest rooms and we made your stay with your hubby worth it. It's great that you also had the chance to enjoy our Flame Tree restaurant and bar and got to toast to our expertly prepared cocktails with you hubby. We're happy to hear that we made your last night in Kenya a memorable one and that you'll return for another stay and we'd like you to know that we have many exceptional sister properties around Kenya including the Mara that we hope you may have the opportunity to experience them as well.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a good hotel when we finally got to stay there. Our first impression was not good as we had been traveling for 24hrs from Australia and found that either Octopus or the hotel had messed up our booking and the hotel was full. At first the person on the desk said that they couldn't help us with another hotel which we were not impressed with. Then Benson was called by another staff member (not the desk staff) and he quickly found us a room at the Silver Springs Hotel and organised a taxi to get us there. Much appreciated.
Our booking for a week later had been recorded and we came back as arranged previously and enjoyed the hotel then. The staff then were most apologetic about the first mix up and were very helpful.
The restaurant was clued into gluten free cooking, even cross contamination. Many thanks to Chef George for his understanding and patience, the food was wonderful! He even waited back to ensure that the next chef knew about the gluten free cooking which saved another potentially embarrassing conversation. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sarova panafric on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant's flexibility to catering to your needs. We are more than happy to provide a special diet for our guests with special needs so as to enhance their stay and we're pleased you let us know of your requirements. We are also relieved to hear that our team, most importantly Benson, was able to be of assistance during the whole arrival mix-match. About the overbooking, apologies for the long wait. However, we always advice our guests to ensure they book their stay directly with us in good time so as to avoid any inconveniences such as lack of no rooms due to bookings. You can do this via our Sarova Panafric website to ensure that the next time you come, you have a smooth check in. Over and above, we are very pleased that you have no regrets on staying with us and that we were able to specially enhance your stay with us despite the initial misunderstanding.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.