We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than previous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 132 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than previous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The last time we were here, we thought it just about met expectations. Now with the renovations and the new rooms, things are looking up. This time we stayed on the mezzanine floor - the furnishings were clearly more modern and swankier. Large picture windows looked upon the nicely maintained grounds, the room itself was spacious - a standard business room, one would say. Small irritants included the small shower stall and the sliding bathroom door without a latch!
The restaurant downstairs continues to serve decent fare and a large, fairly sumptuous spread during breakfast.
The location is one of the positives, as close to Downtown as it is.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your review with us.

We are elated to hear that you got the chance to experience our guest rooms before and after the top to bottom renovations carried out. Indeed it pleases us to hear such positive feedback about the swank and modern look of the new rooms as this was the intended outcome we desire for our guests to experience while staying at Sarova Panafric. Our central location makes it quite easy for our guests to explore the city and it is great to hear you do appreciate this. Our full English breakfast is a favourite to many and we’re glad you enjoyed every bit of it. We strive to continuously improve it so as to exceed our guests’ expectations as we understand breakfast is the most important meal of the day.
We hope you’ll have the opportunity to return to experience all this again. Thank you again for such lovely feedback.

Warm Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    250
    141
    23
    18
See reviews for
55
137
67
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our entertainment company, Pied Pipers Services, used the hotel to host a couples' dinner and dance. They were very much accommodating of us, considering we did not manage to get the numbers we had initially agreed upon. They met all our requests despite our shortfall. The management was understanding of our circumstance and very helpful. The food was great and the ambiance lovely! On the night of the dinner, staff were very attentive, friendly and accommodating. I definitely would recommend it for anyone looking for quality and a good bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We can’t thank you enough for sharing such great feedback – it makes our team smile ear to ear. We can only hope that all our guests experience that same level of high service, not to mention wonderful dinner, while here. We do pride ourselves on our attentive, friendly and efficient staff, so it's great that you were greatly assisted.

Thank you once again for the kind recommendation and we do look forward to having you over soon.

Warm Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We only used this hotel for a nights stop before catching our flight back home!
The staff were very friendly and accomodating - there were eleven of us and they laid a table up in a small separate room for us to eat our meals which was fantastic.
The food was great - a little slow in the evening - but Breakfast superb.
Unfortunately our room was a let down! We were three which made it very cramped but they had no family rooms - the bathroom was dated and the shower area was mouldy in places. We overlooked the front of the hotel and as a result the traffic noise wwas very audible. I used ear plugs in the end. The air conditioning didin't work which wasn't too much of a problem as it wasn't too hot but not good if you want a really cool room.
The worst thing was the bed which was so hard it was painful!
I think they might be upgrading the hotel as the lobby aea was much better than the rooms so hopefully things will improve?

Room Tip: Please see above comments - maybe if you were at the back the noise would be less? One of our party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the positive review.

We’re pleased to know you were well taken care of by our associates and we trust you had the chance to take advantage of our exciting Flame Tree Restaurant offerings including Steak Friday; and if not, perhaps that can be on the agenda for your next stay. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the food and breakfast and apologize for the delay in service. This feedback has been passed on to the team and will be rectified. Apologies for the room experience but I’d like to inform you that we do have interconnecting rooms that we highly recommend to our guests so as to avoid any such inconveniences. We hope that the next time you come by you’ll have a chance to experience them if in the same capacity. We are also always happy to provide any changes to your guest room, if available so as to enhance your stay. In this regard, we have different orthopedic mattresses suitable to different guest need and during your next visit, please feel free to let us know of your special requests. We’re happy to also inform you of our long term plans for the property enhancement, which includes sound proofing our guest rooms facing the highway. We’re excited about this update, and we look forward to welcoming you back thereafter so that you can enjoy the “spiffy” results. We want to ensure that our product is always as wonderful as our service.
We truly look forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are travelling with your family then this is the best and safe place to stay. Hotel Rooms & Swimming pool is well maintained. Its a great place to stay. Entire Staff especially Ephantus-Duty Manager is helpful. Morning breakfast is superb !. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who is travelling for the 1st time to Nairobi. Its an expensive place to stay.

Room Tip: Main road facing rooms are bigger than pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review – and kudos. It’s a pleasure to read about the impeccable service you experienced, which is what we strive for each and every day. We’re so happy you had the chance to use our swimming pool facilities and we hope your family had a great time and had the chance to enjoy our other offerings. Above all, it’s wonderful to hear that our staff provided excellent service – just as they should. That’s the highest compliment we can receive, and what we hope for always.

Much thanks for your review and recommendation!

Kind Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

visiting nairobi on business and this hotel ticks all the boxes. the new rooms are fabulous and the food was amazing. i found the staff to be friendly and on the ball. the breakfast was great and covered everything one would want. its a great location if you want to be near town and yet out of town but near to everywhere one would need to go and if you know the back roads and have a good taxi driver you can miss the traffic on most occasions if you time it right

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the gardens as the early morning traffic can be quite noisy road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re thrilled you enjoyed your experience so much; thank you for your thoughtful review!

We’re so pleased that you found our new rooms fabulous and had a chance to enjoy the food and mostly breakfast at The Flame Tree Restaurant, which is called “The watering Hole” by locals. We’re also glad you enjoyed our location and got to explore the city. We like to think of our hotel as an oasis in the heart of bustling Nairobi, and we’re so happy you’ve experienced just that. We look forward to welcoming you back and trust your next visit will bring a chance to experience some additional amenities too.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We started our honeymoon by staying two nights in panafric.we slept in a starndard room.the hotel needs serious renovation new beds and beddings. Our room was quite old and rusty.what i enjoyed was food at the restaurant. And breakfast too.cleanliness is poor since its old.the staff are ok but they spend too much time talking rather than attending to the customers.water was luke warm apart frm that id go back there coz of the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been attending a course at the Panafric and during this period, the Valet parking services offered were exemplary especially by Martin of Valet parking he potrays a lot of professionalism and extremely friendly and helpful while discharging his duties.

Also worth nothing are the staff servicing the conference rooms (Buluma, Virginia, Ruth (waitress) and Monica.... they were just out of this world... great service guys you made training seem like child's play

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 132 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#29 of 132 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.