We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you are travelling with your family then this is the best and safe place to stay. Hotel Rooms & Swimming pool is well maintained. Its a great place to stay. Entire Staff especially Ephantus-Duty Manager is helpful. Morning breakfast is superb !. I would strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who is travelling for the 1st time to Nairobi. Its an expensive place to stay.

Room Tip: Main road facing rooms are bigger than pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review – and kudos. It’s a pleasure to read about the impeccable service you experienced, which is what we strive for each and every day. We’re so happy you had the chance to use our swimming pool facilities and we hope your family had a great time and had the chance to enjoy our other offerings. Above all, it’s wonderful to hear that our staff provided excellent service – just as they should. That’s the highest compliment we can receive, and what we hope for always.

Much thanks for your review and recommendation!

Kind Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    237
    135
    23
    17
See reviews for
51
135
64
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

visiting nairobi on business and this hotel ticks all the boxes. the new rooms are fabulous and the food was amazing. i found the staff to be friendly and on the ball. the breakfast was great and covered everything one would want. its a great location if you want to be near town and yet out of town but near to everywhere one would need to go and if you know the back roads and have a good taxi driver you can miss the traffic on most occasions if you time it right

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the gardens as the early morning traffic can be quite noisy road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

We’re thrilled you enjoyed your experience so much; thank you for your thoughtful review!

We’re so pleased that you found our new rooms fabulous and had a chance to enjoy the food and mostly breakfast at The Flame Tree Restaurant, which is called “The watering Hole” by locals. We’re also glad you enjoyed our location and got to explore the city. We like to think of our hotel as an oasis in the heart of bustling Nairobi, and we’re so happy you’ve experienced just that. We look forward to welcoming you back and trust your next visit will bring a chance to experience some additional amenities too.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We started our honeymoon by staying two nights in panafric.we slept in a starndard room.the hotel needs serious renovation new beds and beddings. Our room was quite old and rusty.what i enjoyed was food at the restaurant. And breakfast too.cleanliness is poor since its old.the staff are ok but they spend too much time talking rather than attending to the customers.water was luke warm apart frm that id go back there coz of the restaurant

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been attending a course at the Panafric and during this period, the Valet parking services offered were exemplary especially by Martin of Valet parking he potrays a lot of professionalism and extremely friendly and helpful while discharging his duties.

Also worth nothing are the staff servicing the conference rooms (Buluma, Virginia, Ruth (waitress) and Monica.... they were just out of this world... great service guys you made training seem like child's play

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfy, and the breakfast was excellent. The service was great, but be aware of their overpriced airportshuttle. It costs 40 USD per person, and the selling argument was "you get a wet towel to clean youself". They told us we couldn't get a regular taxi to take us to the airport, but we walked down to the petrolstation next door, and agreed on a price of 2000 KSH for the 4 of us (about 30 dollars... combined!), and saved A LOT of money (130 USD to be exact!).
We didn't try the swimmingpool, but it looked nice and clean. We had dinner in "The Flaming Tree"-restaurant, we really enjoyed the steak-friday -BIG steaks cooked to perfection!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Panafric in Nairobi was where we started and finished our Kenyan Safari. We arrived after a long flight to a very welcome cold drink and a hot towel and began our check in process which went well until we discovered that the hotel was overbooked and we had to wait 5 hours for a room to become available. By 8pm we had hit the roof and a room was found. It was a basic hotel room but quite comfortable. We overlooked the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy but it did not worry us. The restaurant in this hotel is brilliant. Very well priced and great food. We were a little apprehensive about our return trip at the end of our safari but I am pleased to report all went well. No Gym at this hotel which was missed by my hubby especially as we were advised not to go out running around Nairobi.

Room Tip: Maybe over look the pool or the side street it may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The standards offered at this hotel are first class. From the hot towel and fresh juice on arrival to the pleasant greetings from every member of staff, this is my favourite hotel in Africa.
The housekeeping crew, run by the Eunice keep a smile on your face every day. Special mention to the ever smiling Augustine and the lovely Rachael, who created some amazing towel creations every day (see the photos). The rooms were kept spotless and if you needed something extra, nothing was too much trouble.
My ongoing back problem was fixed expertly by the amazing Hellen in the Tulia Spa. She is without doubt the best masseuse I have come across. She reads your body like a book and knows exactly where the problems are and corrects them. She even gave me extra stretching exercises which really helped. She is a diamond. Very reasonable prices. Don't miss this if you visit.
The Flame Tree restaurant is amongst the best in Nairobi. Very nice décor and service and food, excellent. Would just like to see some new things added to the menu. It seems to have been the same since I started going there.
Overall it was a wonderful stay and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Great location for town and only about 20 minutes to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.