We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything, except the airport-transferservice, was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #19 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything, except the airport-transferservice, was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfy, and the breakfast was excellent. The service was great, but be aware of their overpriced airportshuttle. It costs 40 USD per person, and the selling argument was "you get a wet towel to clean youself". They told us we couldn't get a regular taxi to take us to the airport, but we walked down to the petrolstation next door, and agreed on a price of 2000 KSH for the 4 of us (about 30 dollars... combined!), and saved A LOT of money (130 USD to be exact!).
We didn't try the swimmingpool, but it looked nice and clean. We had dinner in "The Flaming Tree"-restaurant, we really enjoyed the steak-friday -BIG steaks cooked to perfection!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    189
    117
    20
    16
See reviews for
38
118
50
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The Panafric in Nairobi was where we started and finished our Kenyan Safari. We arrived after a long flight to a very welcome cold drink and a hot towel and began our check in process which went well until we discovered that the hotel was overbooked and we had to wait 5 hours for a room to become available. By 8pm we had hit the roof and a room was found. It was a basic hotel room but quite comfortable. We overlooked the front of the hotel and it was a little noisy but it did not worry us. The restaurant in this hotel is brilliant. Very well priced and great food. We were a little apprehensive about our return trip at the end of our safari but I am pleased to report all went well. No Gym at this hotel which was missed by my hubby especially as we were advised not to go out running around Nairobi.

Room Tip: Maybe over look the pool or the side street it may be a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The standards offered at this hotel are first class. From the hot towel and fresh juice on arrival to the pleasant greetings from every member of staff, this is my favourite hotel in Africa.
The housekeeping crew, run by the Eunice keep a smile on your face every day. Special mention to the ever smiling Augustine and the lovely Rachael, who created some amazing towel creations every day (see the photos). The rooms were kept spotless and if you needed something extra, nothing was too much trouble.
My ongoing back problem was fixed expertly by the amazing Hellen in the Tulia Spa. She is without doubt the best masseuse I have come across. She reads your body like a book and knows exactly where the problems are and corrects them. She even gave me extra stretching exercises which really helped. She is a diamond. Very reasonable prices. Don't miss this if you visit.
The Flame Tree restaurant is amongst the best in Nairobi. Very nice décor and service and food, excellent. Would just like to see some new things added to the menu. It seems to have been the same since I started going there.
Overall it was a wonderful stay and look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Great location for town and only about 20 minutes to the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

1. We especially appreciate the quality and quantity of the food. Despite having a larger than expected crowd, there was more than enough for everyone. The hors d'oeuvres were lovely and the linguine bar was delicious. We were especially grateful that you made special accommodation for NETFUND staff to be able to enjoy the food.

2. The desserts were also delicious and beautiful.

3. The drinks were amazing. Everyone was very impressed with their quantity and greenness. We really appreciate your accommodating our request for "signature" cocktails. We look forward to doing this again in the future. The presentation of the bar was also wonderful.

4. I was very grateful for Sarova's willingness to help us with some additional table cloths for our registration table when our decor provider had a hiccup at the last minute. This was a very kind and very appreciated gesture.

5. Our award nominees truly enjoyed their stay at Panafric! We truly appreciated your willingness to work with our last-minute request.

6. The guests who won the prizes from Sarova are ecstatic. Thank you for providing such wonderful prizes. It really created excitement among the guests.

7. Throughout the whole process, we were impressed with Sarova's professionalism, kindness and commitment to the environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

i was only there because of a cancelled flight and i was shocked at how good it looks now.
the food was great, very friendly staff and fantastic pool area.
the room was wonderful even if it was just executive, am sure from the look of it the more expensive rooms were better looking. i would stay here again definately

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was better than I had hoped for. Though the rooms aren't huge or swish they are clean, well appointed with a huge no. Of plugs for re-charging - so necessary after a safari. Very safe and staff very helpful. Swimming pool area nice but not heated. Good bar, great food

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice in July between our visits to other locations. The second time we arrived at midnight and we were flying out the following day. The staff was extremely courteous and very helpful. We were allowed a late checkout at no charge. Good value for the money. We were very happy with the stay. Special thanks to Yula who helped us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking froward to hosting you at Sarova Panafric and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.