We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but needs refurbishment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Lund, Sverige
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel but needs refurbishment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The rooms are OK, but would need to be updated. Small ensuite bathrooms.
Receiption has been refurbished and looks much better than the rest.
Very good service though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    214
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
45
130
56
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night before heading on safari, very happy with everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sarova Panafric during your Nairobi visit.

We're very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay prior to your Safari! We understand that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant’s buffet breakfast that provides our guests with a variety to choose from. We hope your safari went well & look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Nairobi! Take care until then.

Warm Wishes,

Anthony Ngunga,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, in transit to and from our holiday destinations. In all cases, we were allocated "Club" rooms on the 6th floor. As you enter the hotel, the warmth & friendliness of the staff is quite overwhelming! The rooms are not so bad, but the bathrooms are tiny and really run down.
The restaurants were very good, as were the atentive staff. The food was great value for money, although a bit slow in coming!
It was because of the staff and since we never stayed for more than one night at a time that we didn't complain much. But given what we were paying, I would not have stayed 2-3 nights at a stretch and am sure that Nairobi would have better alternatives.

Room Tip: Don't be misled by "Club" designated rooms (at least on the 6th floor). Check out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Aziz,

Thank you for posting such a great review on Trip Advisor. On behalf of Sarova Panafric, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback

We are happy to know that you indeed appreciated the refreshing African hospitality delivered by our staff and enjoyed your night in our Club room that offer pure indulgence, with the warm colours of the room & décor characterizing this category of rooms. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant’s delicacies and attentiveness of staff. We pride ourselves in having unrivaled service in town and I shall personally pass on your kind remarks to the entire team. In regards to slow service, kindly accept my apologies as this is unacceptable in our service element. I am looking into this matter to make certain it doesn’t occur again.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to Nairobi.

Best wishes from the entire Sarova Panafric Team.

Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A really nice hotel, good food, friendly staff, nice rooms but unfortunately very noisy and despite rasing complaints this continued from 3am for 4 nights consecutively and even good foood and comfortable rooms don't make up for a disturbed slumber.

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor, East facing, the kitchen below works 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear James,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and taking time to review your stay at Sarova Panafric.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the room clean and comfortable, enjoyed the food from our Flame Tree Restaurant and that our friendly staff provided excellent service to you. I am however very disheartened to read about the noise around your room. We have looked into this and boiled down to the root cause of the matter. Kindly note that this has been resolved within so as to ensure our guests receive adequate rest each night without disturbance and I assure you that you shall not experience this the next time you visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Anthony Ngunga,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abeokuta, Nigeria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Was here for a two day conference nearby. Check in was very smooth. Very good security system. Breakfast is very rich. Dinner always a little bit slow in coming. Very welcoming and polite staff. Not much to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Fidelis,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am happy to note that you enjoyed the smooth check in; we strive to ensure that our guests are in their hotel room as fast as possible so as to ensure their stay begins well. It is also great that you enjoyed the rich breakfast from our Flame Tree Restaurant and are absolutely elated that you enjoyed exceptional service from our welcoming & polite staff, just as it should be! We ensure that all our guests feel like “royalty” from the moment they arrive at Sarova Panafric throughout their stay. Apologies for the delay you experienced at the restaurant. Just as you were offered speedy check in, so it should be in all our services. I have taken this up as it shouldn’t be the case and are working with the relevant teams to resolve this issue immediately.

We look forward to the chance to host you again in the future.

Regards,

Anthony Ngunga,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Arriving the hotel in their old shuttle bus from airport and entering through an incline via a petrol station makes one apprehensive of what to expect on arrival. Staff are however very naturally friendly, smiling and heartily welcome you allaying most fears when you get to the small lobby. A cold drink, hot towels and porters made you feel like a king, ushering you to modestly furnished very clean rooms. The beds were good, the in room facilities great and the restaurant has a good variety of fine cuisine. The rooms had good plasma flat screens but the TV/cable stations were quite limited. The rooms were poorly soundproof and you could hear people in adjacent rooms use their bathrooms or staff cleaning the corridors. Views from the rooms were good the eating areas and the pool were super. I surely would love to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony N, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Femorata,

Thank you for taking your time to write your review on your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback on our staff; we do pride them on their friendliness and attentiveness, so it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed their services and they were able to make your welcome experience comforting & exceptional. We also strive to ensure that all our guests feel like “royalty” from the moment they arrive at Sarova Panafric through subtle but impactful gestures such as the freshly squeezed juices & hotel towels through to the rest of their stay. We're glad you fully enjoyed your room and were able to take advantage of all the value adds. Thank you for the feedback on the sound proof limitation as it has aided me to take up a corrective action of the same. Here at Sarova Panafric, a guest’s peace & calmness is very important for us. It is great you enjoyed the view of the city from your room; it is indeed quite a remarkable view and as you mentioned, the Flame tree Restaurant & Pool Garden Restaurant are a super choice for those who wish to grab either a heavy meal or a quick and light bite respectively.

We're glad you would love to come back to Sarova Panafric and are definitely looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past. On this occasion - I arrive late, tired and stressed. I asked the reception staff what time the bar closed and got three different answers.

The rooms are satisfactory although a bit dated and towels are well past their best.

The internet generally worked well throughout the hotel and was free. However I continually got messages that too many people were currently subscribed and thus unable to logon. I suspect the locals also use it on their smartphones. It took 3 calls to reception to overcome this with the usual "I'll call you back" - not happening.

The restaurant is excellent. The food quality is good, excellent variety and the service is wonderful.

The spa/health club is in another block and first impressions are poor. But the options offered and good and reasonably priced.

On departing - I had a further problem in that I needed to get a taxi to go to the airport.
The doorman indicated that I needed to ask at reception. The receptionist tried to sell me their shuttle service at a charge of USD 50 - which I declined on the basis that a taxi is only USD 20 and I wanted to go now. The receptionist refused to call me a taxi and referred me to the duty manager - who also refused. No reason was offered and his attitude was disgraceful. I was forced to walk out of the hotel carrying my luggage, down the hill, through security and get a taxi at the street - which thankfully was easy. I have sent letters of complaint to the hotel who have responded but failed to address the discourtesy of the hotel manager.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear David,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Sarova Panafric.

We are happy to hear that you do opt to stay at Sarova Panafric once in a while and continuously welcome you as a member of the Sarova Panafric family. We’re also elated that you experienced wonderful service in our Restaurant & Bar and will definitely pass on your compliments to the respective teams.

In regards to the shuttle services, I feel fortunate that my team was able to meet with you during check out as well as reach you over the phone to further clarify the matter. I agree with you wholeheartedly that, as a Sarova Panafric guest, dragging your suit case outside the hotel to go fetch your own cab was uncalled for and we are very sorry about that experience. Our airport transfer service is an unusual offering among Nairobi City hotels and for a number of years it has proven to be tremendously well received and enjoyed by most guests. This is because of the importance in providing continuous convenience, and luxurious experience beyond the hotel for our guests. Of course, there are some who may wish to enjoy an ordinary taxi ride, as you did and in such cases, we request that you only let us know during your stay or in advance and one of our concierges or I would happily arrange the drop off for you. This also assures us that the guest is not inconvenienced in any way & safely arrives at their destination of choice.

I would very much like to meet you the next time you return and please feel free to contact me with details of your next visit on Anthony.Ngunga@sarovahotels.com. I am more than certain that we will definitely reach a point of understanding.

Once again, apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Yours Truly,

Anthony Ngunga,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.