We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Seasonal Promotion $173
Ranked #20 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Staff friendly and helpful. Nice hotel, but rooms could do with an upgrade; they are a little dated and kind of average. Flame Tree Restaurant is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to hear your enjoyed our friendly staff and other positive features. I am also pleased to report that we are currently carrying out our phase II of the rigorous renovations that will address our guest rooms one at a time to upgrade them and this will resolve the dated issue. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our Flame Tree Restaurant and other features of your stay at Sarova Panafric. We have recently made improvements to the menu and am happy that you enjoyed it.

We hope to host you once again at Sarova Panafric.

Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    208
    127
    22
    16
See reviews for
44
128
54
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, Sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and they did all they could for me because I am semi-disabled. They all spoke excellent English. . The foyer has a considerable amount of seating, the sofas being arranged in groups and has been refurbished. The restaurants and are very enjoyable to use and even though the hotel was full with conferences running, we managed to have a quiet meal by the poolside with almost no-one around. The food is also enjoyable and there is quite a reasonable choice.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room with easy access and had 225 which is overlooking the pool with the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Sarova Panafric! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the friendly and helpful staff and good food. Our hotel staff works very hard to ensure that the guests are happy! As we are an internationally recognized hotel, we endeavor to meet the needs of our diverse guests so as to ensure their stay is most memorable. About the renovations, as a matter of fact, the hotel has begun remodeling and we are updating the three guestroom floors of the hotel. These updates are beginning this week and we hope to see you once they are completed.

Again, thank you for your important feedback.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

A nice hotel with a nice downtown location. The restuarant is very good. The situation of the hotel is very good in relation to the horrendous Nairobi traffic.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room, it is well woth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your positive feedback to us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us at Sarova Panafric.

Our location certainly is incomparable and our staff take tremendous pride in the guest service that they provide. We are thrilled to be able to offer upgrades whenever they are available and welcome guests into Sarova Panafric as if they were coming into our home, where anything you may need is only a request away.

We look forward to accommodating you should your travels bring you back to Boston.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We just booked in via booking.com. We made the right choice as it was in a good location, it was not hard to find and since it was our first time in Kenya, we didn't know much about the place.

However, there was a bad point since once of the receptionists was extremely rude and probably thinks she's a manager so she had to treat us in an ill mannered way. First she greeted us with the most disappointing face, then ignored us and made us wait for quite some time. Good thing that we were able to talk to the other receptionist who was the opposite..

The room was superb. It was very private and the people from bellboy, to the security guard to the peopel from the restaurant were friendly, helpful and accommodating. THe security guard really was concern for us since we tried taking pictures from outside the hotel at around 8pm, he said that we shouldn't go too far, we just need to stay inside the hotel's vicinity which was really kind of him. And we appreciate.

Next time we go to Nairobi, definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: our room is in the poolside which was very nice in the morning :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Angelle,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Sarova Panafric. I am certain your pointers will help future travelers wishing to stay here, especially the savvy tip on the poolside rooms.

I wanted to reach out to you personally as promptly as possible to let you know how sorry I am for the experience you encountered with the receptionist. I have sent you a personal message that I hope you will respond to so that we may properly rectify the situation for you as well as ensure our future guests are not thus disappointed. Thank you for taking time to let us know what you encountered. Please know that we are intent on resolving this and I assure you that it will not occur again. We are thrilled and delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay at Sarova Panafric, from the location, to the rooms right down to the service.

We do look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed there for 4 nights. My overall impression was that it was overpriced for what it offered. The front desk staff need to be better trained, the other staff, including the restaurant staff were very friendly and good but there was a long wait for the food. The internet was glacial in my room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Staying at sarova panafric.Excellent location. Unfortunately can't say that for the hotel.stayed in room 410 from 13 november. Staff at reception were great, but than it's there job.Room were rather old, bathroom and toilets were old. Hated the bath room. Infact my wife prefered using the reception area toilets.With three people in the room, it was cramped. choice of tv viewing was limited. Couldn't get any of the international channels CNN, BBC, etc. Its the norm to have a few international channels.Towels had large holes. All I got was symphathy from reception staff when I complained, and no changes were made. I asked my concerns to be raised with management, which I am assuming was never transmitted.Additional bed was hardboard..
We tried the restaurant once which is horribly overpriced for the quality of food and the dark underlighted restaurant.Lasagne tasted like a extra sweet dessert.
I hope the management takes notice as the staff have a loud early morning conversation on the floor. With an old hotel and unsuitable Walls , all can be heard inside the rooms.
Finally beware of the lifts, which close quickly if you don't rush out on your floor. My hands still hurt after the door closed with force as I was just leaving a lift.
It would take a lot of change before I am convinced to stay at Panafric during my regular business trips from January.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Stayed at room 125, very poor quality room, needs renovation to be up to standard for the money they are charging
Front desk staff not friendly nor helpful

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Apologies for the unfriendly service you encountered at the reception area. This is not common practice as Sarova Panafric strives to deliver excellent service to all our clients. Please be rest assured that we investigated this issue and we got to the bottom of it. We have taken up stringent measures on the same and this will not occur again. The recently carried out top-to-bottom renovation project has rewarded the hotel as a whole with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme and facilities. Our guest rooms are no exception to this development & majority have undergone renovations to compliment our five star amenities that define luxurious living while others are still undergoing this process. We hope we can welcome you back should you visit Nairobi again.


Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.