We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lobby, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Save Saved
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Seasonal Promotion $167
Ranked #20 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice lobby, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I'm sure there's better deals out there. We arrived late in Nairobi and were happy to just crash somewhere clean for 1 night. It was ok, but nothing more. No bathtub, old tube, everything smelled a bit of 1990's. Are there renovated rooms? Ask for it, bc the lobby looks much nicer and more up to date.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate your taking the time to give us your feedback.

The recently carried out top-to-bottom renovation project of majority of our guest rooms has rewarded them with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme. Others, including the mentioned, are still undergoing this process to compliment our five star amenities that define luxurious living. I am certain when you come back next time, this project will be complete. Apologies for the smell. I have shared your comments with our team, regarding the smell issue you experienced, and we are very sorry for this. As a result of your immediate feedback, our housekeeping team has rigorously worked on this & it has been resolved. We do not expect any further issues and I am certain that you will experience this during your next visit with us.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    197
    123
    21
    16
See reviews for
40
122
52
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

Overall this is a pretty inoffensive hotel. The room was adequate (air conditioning was noisy and water pressure was lacking, but this is Nairobi) and the dinners and breakfasts served up by the hotel were both good. We stayed here as the launching point for a group tour, so the charges were included. However when we inquired to both the hotel and the tour company about staying at the end of our trip, the price shocked us as even though they seem to be charging rates expected of hotels a tier or two above what we experienced. I'd stay here again, but only on discounted rates compared to what I was last notified of.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your post on trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed the meals at the Flame Tree Restaurant. It boasts as one of the top Nairobi Restaurants that strives to offer sensational gastronomic delights that’s topped up with excellent service. As for our room rates, we advertise them on our website for our guests to be well informed and so as to avoid any surprises. However, kindly send me an email next time your coming around on anthony.ngunga@sarovahotels.com and I assure you we will definitely agree on a suitable rate in good time.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at the Panafric for 4 nights over a period of 3 weeks. The quality of the rooms varied greatly. The 1st floor rooms (x2) were terrible, small, unclean, musty & with very little light. Then we stayed on the 4th floor in a superior room which was really good. The 4th night was on the 5th floor in a superior room which was at the front of the hotel & very noisy. The reception was very slow for any enquiries, the foyer staff quick & helpful. The breakfast & dining area were good, even if the restaurant service was at times slow. Not good value for the money spent!

Room Tip: Choose the 4th floor back wing of this hotel, worth paying for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Sarova Panafric.

Please accept my apologies on the slow service at both the restaurant & reception. This is definitely not in accordance to our excellent & speedy customer service. I have personally taken this up and assure you appropriate action has been executed to resolve each issue and further ensure efficient and top notch service to all our guests. I am happy to report that the intensive renovations carried out the better part of last & this year in most of our guest rooms, has given the hotel an ultra modern look & feel and improved guest experience. We greatly understand the importance of providing quality & an exclusive stay to our guests & therefore our guest rooms are still undergoing this renovation process. We always welcome guest feedback that in turn assists us to improve & perfect our guests' experiences.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel during my safari tour to kenya and tanzania with D.K.Grand Safaris. The hotel refubrished with decent look. The room provided to us is realy good having much space. There was TV in the room all though we were not in a mood to enjoy due to long journey and tiredness.Live music. Facility of hot water all the time. Maintance is extremly good.The lobby is designed with modern outlook with enough space for sitting arrangement. Quality of breakfast and meals served in diner is extremly price worthy. All of the above the sevice was fantastic.

Room Tip: I feel for staying in a shorter period all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you were happy with all aspects of your stay and appreciate your comments. We were happy to have you around & I will definitely pass on your feedback to the entire team. As Sarova Panafric, we strive to provide an exceptionally clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay for all our guests.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights before embarking on our safari. The lobby was very modern and the lobby staff were abundant and always looking to help guests. We also spent some time by the swimming pool, which was nice and offered pool-side food/drink service. The buffet breakfast spread had a nice variety and we really enjoyed the mocha doughnuts!

Other than that, I can't say too much else that's good about the hotel. We were put in a room that was extremely old and in need of refurbishment. The entire room only came with one bedside lamp... no main overhead light, not even two bedside lamps... so it was VERY dark and musty. The bedroom furniture was very old and basic. The bathroom was small, old (have I said that word too many times?) and did not even have a doorknob, so the first time I took a shower and closed the door, I could not even get out of the bathroom! Fortunately my husband was in the room and had to open the door from the outside. The main room door is only lockable by a latch, and that broke during our stay as well. We couldn't get out of our room and had to call hotel staff to help us!

Overall, this was the worst hotel room I had ever stayed in... so if you are planning a trip, make sure you get the renovated rooms!! The room we had did not look ANYTHING like the pictures on the hotel website. Our local tour operator had made all our hotel bookings for us, so I was not expecting this type of quality nor do I know what the room rate was.

We dined at the main restaurant four times, and while breakfast was a seamless process given that it is a buffet, dinner service was extremely slow. Quite ironic that the quality of service we experienced in a Nairobi hotel was the slowest and worst out of all the places we stayed during our safari! The first night we had dinner, I ordered the pork belly and apple main course, and my husband ordered pork chops. We literally did not receive our meal until more than 75 minutes later. The waiters showed no sense of urgency even though we checked in on the status of our order every 20-30 minutes. Finally, one of the waiters came out and said that something had gone wrong with one of our orders, so the cook was making it all over again. We didn't get an apology, or a complimentary bread basket or small appetizer, or even a free entree after making us wait over an hour. Needless to say, the next night we just ordered the simplest thing on the menu - pizza! This also took a long time to come out, might I add, but we did notice that other guests also had to wait typically 30-40 minutes for their entrees to come out.

Bottomline: If you are going to stay at the Sarova Panafric, make sure you get a new room and be prepared for very slow dinner service.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, get the newer rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

we regret to note your experience as posted on Tripadvisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. Your comments have been duly noted and shared with the team for corrective action.

We have been carrying out progressive top-to-bottom renovations that are increasingly rewarding the hotel as a whole with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme and five star facilities. Our guest rooms have experienced the greatest face lift in this development as majority have undergone renovations while others are still undergoing this process. I am deeply disappointed to read about the poor service you experienced at the restaurant and I assure you that this is not the norm at Sarova Panafric as we always strive to deliver quality & superior service to all our guests. I have immediately taken corrective action to ensure no other guests experience this.

We welcome the opportunity to offer corrective action of the events as you have outlined them. Kindly provide us with your contacts/email address on Anthony.ngunga@sarovahotels.com for the same reason. I look forward to hearing from you so that we can partner together to address the allegations in this review.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed here only one night but really loved the place. They have a great restaurant, good food, live music. More of a business than a holiday hotel. Service was fantastic.
The bathrooms are slighly funny, the shower water doesn't get managed very well but I guess thats not too much of a fuss.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

It was a pleasure to visit the Sarova Panafric hotel and I was delighted to see the upgrades to the main entrance and reception areas. Looks fabulous. The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms redone although I wish they had done somewith with the Swimming Pool area as this definately needs a fresher more modern look. The food at breakfast was fantastic and in general I was very impressed. The staff in general are great and look after you although if you are paying by master card be careful if you have a chip and pin card as it wont work and they are not very helpful when this happens ! I would certainly recommend it to people looking for a hotel that is near town but feels out of town and has a good ambiance.

Room Tip: the rooms with a verandah overlooking the road are great if you dont mind the early morning traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

It was indeed our pleasure to host you and we are glad that you enjoyed the rooms, food & recently renovated lobby. While most of the hotel has successfully undergone renovations, plans are underway to complete other areas and the pool is no exception. We take great precaution when it comes to our guests master cards so as to avoid any unwarranted situations.

Once again thank you for the kind words and we definitely look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi 72493, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes drive from the CBD and 18 Kms from Jomo Kenyatta Internationa Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 164 rooms in a range of standard, superior, club and suites- all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Named in honor of the Pan African movement, Sarova Panafric was inaugurated by the first president of Kenya H.E. Mzee Jomo Kenyatta on the 5th January 1965 and truly represents Neo Africa. Enjoy leisurely meals at the lively and warm Flame tree restaurant, once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents and named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens. Sarova Panafric offers state of the art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage – or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa’s rhythm Sarova Panafric is also located a short 0.5 Kms from Kenya's Landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)' , an events venue in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.