We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Panafric to your Saves list
Sarova Panafric
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011 via mobile

Welcome to 1975 - but the good, cool bits of it. I'm in an appartment that reminds me of Mediterranean seaside resorts of my holidaying youth. Bedroom - comfortable but a little basic, sitting room - again comfortable with a good old tv but a touch basic, fully fitted kitchen, a pantry and an old but completely usable bathroom. Everywhere is clean and everything works.

Great to have wireless, a good restaurant/bar and friendly staff.

Accommodation is ridiculously expensive in Nairobi so this seems good value and I'm comfortable here.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, May 30, 2011
Dear Brumtravel,

Greetings, we are delighted to note your positive experience as posted on Tripadvisor. On behalf of Sarova Hotels, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to give us your feedback. Your comments have been duly noted and shared with the team.

We always strive to maintain and deliver refreshing African hospitality as a standard and we are glad that we made your experience memorable. The recently carried out top-to-bottom renovation project has rewarded the hotel & guest rooms with a newly re-imagined grandeur of Sarova Panafric’s neo-African theme and facilities. Our apartments are no exception to this development & are currently undergoing renovations to compliment our five star amenities that define luxurious living. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & more so happy to receive constructive feedback that will aid us in making yours & others’ stay in the future exceptional.

We look forward to seeing and hosting you again at Sarova Panafric.

Warm Regards,

Anthony Ngunga
General Manager
Sarova Panafric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    218
    129
    22
    17
See reviews for
46
130
56
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel has nice rooms and probably as good a service as you will get in Kenya. I only have one tip - if you want to order something specific for room service - make it really clear to a point where you might have to repete yourself 4 times. Apart from that the quality of the food was very good.

Rooms were clean, reception was helpful and the breakfast was great.

If you are looking at the pictures of the pool in the hotels advertising and its a decider for you...know this, it looks like an oasis in the middle of Nairobi, but when you manage to see it, its really just a sad looking pool.

Overall, had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We stay here for 3 nights. The service and the people are nice and ready to help you. The pool is not new but clean and gave a good refreshment. At the bar you can have a nice drink. The restaurant is also nice with good food with a wide variation.
The rooms are clean and good. So it is for us a very good place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011 via mobile

When we stayed there they were updating the hotel. Still a very friendly place to sleep one night. Clean colonial rooms. Friendlynstaf.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennant Creek, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our Africa travels. Very happy with the room compared to other hotels in nairobi. Value also compared well to other hotels. We paid $150US per night ( incl buffet breakfast) and had a very clean, comfortable and visually appealing room.
The construction/renovations were noisy during the day...a bit annoying, but not horribly so.
Staff were excellent and very polite.
I thought the food was a bit overpriced/pretentious (but tasted good) Breakfast on the other hand was Spectacularly good...
Internet access was ridiculously overpriced (about 10 times the cost of cyber cafes in the city).
That said.... this is a good hotel.... good value in a city that is often overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Although currently undergoing significant renovations, our stay at the Panafric was relatively undisturbed by the construction work as they are closing off entire sections while the refurbishment takes place. The previously mentioned gift shop isn't there at the moment, but i suspect will return after work has completed.

As to our stay, as we were there 3 separate times within a 3 week duration as "stop-overs" between other events on our schedule. We stayed in both the old and the new refurbished rooms at various times.

The new rooms are very nicely redone, very elegant and cleanly put together with an extremely comfortable bed & relatively decent cable on a new flat-screen television. They include a mini-bar as well as a room safe too, Room wise my only issue was extremely minor, and that was that with the shower design it was entirely too easy to flood the bathroom floor, even when being careful while taking a shower. If anything this is just a minor "heads up" that you could get the floor wet, and the new tiling is extremely slippery when wet.

The non-refurbished rooms are almost as nice, with still very comfortable bedding. There is nothing negative to note about these rooms except that although others have complained about the level of noise that comes in from the street when staying at rooms with a balcony, i was barely able to notice the noise as both the double glazed glass door and the double layered curtains made short work of the street traffic, at least in the rooms we stayed in. At this point i will note that the only refurbished room we stayed in wasn't facing the street, so i am in no position to evaluate how the new rooms with a balcony would handle street noise.

Staff-wise we had only minor concerns on one of the three times we stayed there, with one of the staff members insisting on carrying our bags for us (despite having loaded ourselves up to carry them up ourselves) and then getting caught up elsewhere and only coming up with our bags after we called reception. This was quite likely just a once off.

The one thing that continually happened though, is issues with staff efficiency when checking in and checking out. When we checked in, one staff member would handle the booking and then refer us to the cashier to make payment. The cashier would then process the payment, and each time this happened, somehow calls had to be made to another office for a few details and the floor manager had to get involved to make sure everything was processed smoothly. Each time checking in went from what should have been a maximum of a 10 minute process (including confirming reservations, copying passports payment and me filling out forms with my details), to something which my wife referred to as "an event" which had everything over-complicated compared to what it should have been. Staff training, independence and responsibility in reception is something that needs a little polish for smoother operation in future.

Otherwise i cannot fault the staff at all, everyone from the doorman and security through to the waitstaff and managers were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. I would recommend staying here, but just be a little patient during check-in, it may take a little longer than you expect.

The in-house restaurant has superb food which was of extremely good quality, and was also quite good value, my personal favourite was the pork belly with apple sauce, absolutely divine at 1000ksh a serve.

The business centre was also well equipped with modern computers and a decent internet connection as well as a colour printer. at 10ksh/minute and 50ksh per page printed it was great value as well.

As to room cost, it is a little steep for what you get, with the minimum room cost when we tried making a booking in person being $220US per night. It was a little more than anticipated, but did include a full and extremely tasty buffet breakfast, so we were able to ensure we had full bellies when we walked out the door each morning.

Just remember that although the refurbishments are going on, i noticed minimal interference with the day to day running of the hotel, and at the rate the work is being done (7 days a week) i would guess that a full refit should be completed within very short order.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyNgunga, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, December 20, 2010
Thank you Mike-and Shell for your valuable feedback. Like you have aptly mentioned, Sarova Panafric is undergoing two major product update in guests’ rooms and the lobby. These projects are scheduled for completion by end of January 2011.
I am sure when you come back next; you will find an ultra-modern, spacious, guests-friendly and frankly-speaking, a refreshing Pan-African-themed Lobby. In addition, our re-furbished guests rooms are also expected to reflect the best that Sarova Panafric is synonymous with for over 4-decade. We have added an array of guests’ facilities and user-friendly features; I am definite that all these improvements will greatly enrich your whole guest experience.
I am happy to report that we have already addressed the glitch on our not-speedier check in by revisiting our procedures which has tremendously quickened the check-in time. May I also address the issue of bathroom design which you validly noted. Our resident engineer is looking at structural anomalies some of which you pointed out.
I am glad to note that you enjoyed our cuisines, services in our ultra-modern Business Centre and excellent hospitality from our award-winning staff members.
Sarova Panafric will always offer uncompromised, best services, and will constantly keep abreast with modern hospitality trends which the Sarova Brand is famous for.
Thank you for your helpful comments.

Anthony Ngunga,
General Manager-Sarova Panafric, Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Loved this hotel! Excellent rooms and very nice staff. The food in the restaurant was also very good. Some times it seemed like there was a disconnect between the staff (ie. one would say you could do something and the next would say no). I would however request a room not on the side of the main road if possible. It gets quite busy and if you're a light sleeper you may have difficulty sleeping. Also, their internet service in the business centre was very good in comparison with other connections. Nice and fast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 30486 - 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarova Panafric 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Panafric, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.