We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Regency Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Not a bad hotel - staff is extremely friendly and responsive; rooms are average but clean. Good location, close to downtown and several shops and small restaurants/coffeeshops/nightclubs in walking distance. Felt safe walking the streets around the hotel at night. Hotel is quiet, not much going on in the lobby or at the bar at night. Breakfast is very good; didn't try the restaurants otherwise.
Ask for room away from Uhuru highway, otherwise it is loud if you open the window.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    40
    49
    28
    24
See reviews for
12
18
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

I enjoyed my stay, the staff was excellent, the food was very good and the room was cozy. I would recommend anyone, it is worth the price if you book with the hotel and not with Agents. I booked through the Agents who told me that breakfast was included in the price and the price I was told was less than what my card was charged. My account has not been credited as I was promised by the Agents.

Upon arrival at the hotel I was informed that breakfast was not included, therefore I was overcharged for services that I prepaid.

B. CHRISTIE - WASHINGTON, DC

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England Birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Having spent a unscheduled stop here for 7 nights due to the volcano incident. Below are my thoughts about the hotel (we didn't pay for our accommodation)

Whilst this is not 5 star more like a top end 3 or 4.
Food in the hotel is really good but rather pricey
Rooms need an uplift
Free WIFI in the hotel room was a God send

But most of all the hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and we received EXCELLENT service. They helped contact the airline, gave us updates, negotiated on our behalf. we couldn't have been in a better hotel in such a stressful time. They went that extra mile for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a week for a conference -- room was paid for by organizers. This is not a place you want to stay unless other hotels are full or you can get a rate below $100 a night. Do not pay $200 or more. Room was not clean, with blood stains on the carpet, curtains, walls and linens. Decor dated, dark and dreary. Ceiling air conditioning unit developed a leak and soaked the floor. Came in one evening to find staff rearranged the furniture and put bath towels all over the floor as the ceiling leak was dripping everywhere, including into my luggage.
Wireless Internet did not work. Staff did nothing to rectify. Tried to use the business center on more than one occasion and theirs didn't work either, so was told by staff to go use the business center in the Intercontinental Hotel. Really?
Was solicited by prostitutes in the pool area and in the elevators, and was also accosted in the elevator by a stranger wearing some odd credential demanding money and wanting to come to my room. Such shenanigans are apparently common in Nairobi but the security at the LAICO does not appear to have a grip.
My situation did improve. I talked to the night manager after the ceiling leak incident, who said he would move me to another room but never called back or followed through. The next day, upon further complaints from the conference organizers (and upon finding my key would no longer open my room when I returned one evening), I was moved to a suite on a higher floor, which was in much better condition, though the same basic room layout with a well-appointed entertaining room attached by a locking door. I held a party in there for all my colleagues who had similar unpleasant experiences with the hotel. Overall, once the move took place, the manager was apologetic and offered to do my laundry, but already had it done once at the LAICO and they managed to lose a pair of my pants, I declined the risk. Wireless worked somewhat better in the suite.
The hotel does have a couple of good points: Staff were friendly, though incompetent. The day I arrived the concierge made a trip to the drugstore on my behalf, very quickly, because I was ill from the 22-hr. flight and Virgin Atlantic lost my baggage at Heathrow.
The swimming pool and surrounding rooftop gardens are nice, though the pool has limited hours -- if you're coming back after a day of work you won't really have time.
I did have a couple of good meals from room service. Wouldn't have dreamt of eating in the restaurant, though some I know did and said breakfast was passable.
While in Nairobi I also stayed in the Hilton and the Sarova Stanley, both much better than this place and about the same price. There's no reason to stay at the LAICO.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The air conditioning is only turned on for about 190 hours a day and is off overnight Since the windows won't stay open and there's no fan, getting a decent night's sleep was very difficult. They claim it's to preserve electricity but their 'preservation' efforts sure were not reflected in the price!

The bathtub narrowed at the bottom so narrow that you had to stand sideways to take a shower and only the skinniest people could consider a bath.

The first (and only) night we went to the restaurant (a Sunday), there was only a single set-meal choice.

Using in-room Internet was a nightmare, it would allow access for about 15 seconds at a time before disconnecting.

Staff would say whatever they could to calm the guests but did not offer any real help and in some cases were misleading. Wake-up calls were missed, all the more crucial because of the difficulty of sleeping in the hot, stuffy room.

Other colleagues encountered prostitutes hanging around the pool area.

I couldn't recommend this place to anyone. Considering the steep price, this was absolutely the worst value for money I have ever encountered in decades of traveling. At the first opportunity I checked out and spent the rest of my stay at another Nairobi hotel (the Panafric). It also had no overnight A/C, but it was half the price -- and at least its rooms had fans!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

The hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel it's more like a 2 - 3 star.

The service was terrible, food was lousy and the air conditioning didn't work. Ladies of the night were everywhere because of the casino inside and the rooms vibrated with the traffic outside.

Overall it was horrendous and I advise you do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Internet WIFI doesnt' work.
Rooms are dirty and everything very old.
Food expensive and poor

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#62 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#44 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#30 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#30 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.