We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stayed here in February and as much as it's a five star hotel, services were below average, the Lady at the swimming pool office was full of herself and very reluctant to us, she must have been a hurry to go home since it was around 9pm. However the front office staff were very friendly and promptly responded accurately on all our enquiries.

The meals are standard and the room service was ok, but the rooms were very small and old furniture (or maybe old fashioned furniture) this could not give a compete ambience. The beds and linen were ok and comfortable.
The hotel is in a good location and management can work out on the staff performance to improve the general service delivery.

I could stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, Public Relations Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear GipsyTraveller_12,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on your experience at Laico Regency Nairobi.
We are pleased that our good location worked to your advantage and that our front office team handled all your enquiries professionally and with efficiency.
We thank you for bringing to our attention the areas that we fell short of your expectations. I sincerely apologize for your experience with our staff at the swimming pool and have taken measures to correct this behavior as I assure you that it is not our standard. We are also in the process of upgrading all the resources within the facility.
We do look forward to hosting you once again.
Please feel free to contact me for any other queries or feedback through guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Kind Regards

SOBHI DAHAN
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    34
    21
    19
See reviews for
10
13
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monrovia, Liberia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Great stay at clean, central location in town. Food was excellent, I had evening and morning Buffett. Only thing that needs update was tv in room. I had almost forgot about those old type TV sets. Lots of security.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Taildragger_1

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback on Laico Regency Hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed our central location, cleanliness and excellent food; we strive to make Laico a home away from home for all our guests.
You will be glad to know that we have already commenced upgrading our TV sets and have covered a number of floors.

We look forward to hosting you again anytime you are in Nairobi.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilla
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

It has excellent services; breakfast was good. I was in this hotel on transit travel. The has beautiful design with varieties of shops and restaurants, a swimming pool at the atrium level, nice view of the city and the park along Uhuru highway. The location is in a calm place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khataw,

Thank you for staying at Laico Regency Hotel and taking time to share your experience with us.
We value your feedback, as this ensures our standards are maintained, ensuring our guests always feel at home.

We look forward to hosting you again anytime you are in Nairobi.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, but serious issues with AC. Tried two rooms and both had air conditioners that were not working well. Carpets look old and dirty. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Thevi P,

Thank you for staying at Laico Regency Hotel and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We are delighted that our friendly staff, breakfast array and relaxed atmosphere were an added advantage to your stay. However we are disappointed to note that we fell short of your expectations in some areas.
You will be glad to note that we have embarked on upgrading all our rooms, which will encompass the AC and the Carpets.

We would love to host you again, giving you the opportunity to sample our new product.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stay is fine provided you would like be in the CBD .There is consistency in the food quality . .Scope for improvement in room service .My stay was about 5 years back and hope service level has been raised

Room Tip: Rooms of the upper floors are perferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Anand,

Thank you for your staying with us and sharing the feedback on your experience.

We are glad that the consistency in our food quality keeps you coming back. You will be glad to note that our service standards have immensely improved since you were last here.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I used to stay at this hotel since 2004, when it offered excellent amenities and services for a good rate. Soon after, the quality deteriorated when most of the hotel rooms were occupied (on long lease contracts) by foreign governments' representatives. In addition, the hotel was catering to airline transit passengers. Hosting of the two groups left much wear and tear in the hotel rooms and affected the quality of services. So I switched to alternative hotels. About 15 months ago, an agent at the airport persuaded me to re-try Laico under its new management; and since then I stayed at this hotel three times while in business trips to Nairobi. I must admit the quality of the renovated rooms is much better now, 4-star quality; and the services have improved tremendously in all hotel facilities (atrium bar services need more improvement). In general, the hotel has an excellent architectural design and was built to be a 5-star hotel; and I believe under the new management and after completion of renovation will soon become a 5-star hotel. The hotel is centrally located in Nairobi's business district and offers many good amenities, including variety of restaurants and cafe's, casino, good size atrium level swimming pool, excellent park or city view, very good breakfast buffet (missing smoked salmon), variety of shops, etc. The personnel are very friendly, especially the hotel manager, who is very frequently is in contact with hotel residents soliciting their opinions about the hotel services. Next time you visit Nairobi, look for or negotiate a good room rate at the Laico. Try it. It offers an excellent deal for the money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Mohdriad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback with us.

It was our pleasure to host you and we are glad that your return stay to Laico Regency Nairobi was met by positive ongoing improvements. We have also noted the areas of concern raised and I sure you that we are working on them.

We look forward to hosting you again on your return trip.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi at 12:30am and then at the Laico Hotel one hour later. I and my wife were very tired and just wanted a room that had the basic necessaries that worked. From the outside the hotel is very impressive and inside there was a large beautiful atrium the looked up to the roof. The utilities were absolutely poor. It got all my three strikes:
1. The Air-Conditioning would just not cool the room. We had a very uncomfortable sleep.
2. The WC was broken and also cracked and rocked sideways.
3. The shower did not have hot water. The water was just luke warm.

Usually when I write for Trip Advisor I am forgiving and give the hotel management the benefit of the doubt if other things work out well. But, in this case the hotel management and maintenance got a rock solid three strikes....which in my book is OUT! Very disappointing stay. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Unfortunately I had not booked this hotel but was booked by my travel agency Ketty Tours.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Khataw,

Thank for your feedback on your stay with us.

We value all guest feedback on our product and services as it is the only way we are able to improve. Noted are the areas that we fell short of your expectations and we are already working on improving the same.

We have given upgrade of the facility top priority, this has already been scheduled to commence and we are currently in the final stages of planning.
I do hope you will give us an opportunity to host you again.

For any queries or Information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.