We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for business stay in Nairobi !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for business stay in Nairobi !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Rooms are quite spacious, Restaurant serves delicious foods (especially indian's meals). what I liked much there was the heated swimming pool. Considering their current state, the bath rooms need serious renovation. Located in centre of nairobi, It's a ideal hotel for a business stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    32
    20
    20
See reviews for
10
11
14
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Due to our aircraft being delayed kenya airways where able to put us up over night here at the Laico. I must say that I was glad that it was only one night. Yes it was at short notice etc but credit where its due the check in staff and resturant staff did do an admirable job. the room however was a disaster. The door had obviously been kicked in at one point as the door panel had been broken off. the bathroom although large and was splatted with what looked like plaster and the shower door didn;t close which meant that the water just sprayed out in the bathroom itself. Check out was also a bit of a mare. You have to check out at the cashiers desk and seeing as there was a plan full of people trying to do this all at once it became very tiresome while they had to keep chasing house keeping to see if you had anything from the mini bar. All in all glad only had one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Latravelwestsussexuk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your stay with us and we are grateful.

Am glad that the check in and restaurant staff did a great job in ensuring that you were sorted out despite it being short notice. Our staff are always there to help you out and make your stay a memorable one.

Point to note is that you did not like the room you were in and am happy and pleased to let you know that we sorted out all those issues you raised and we would love to welcome you back again so that you can see for yourself the changes that we have done. At the time, we were in the process of upgrading our rooms and now that they are great I welcome you back.

For any queries or information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Kind Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pakistan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and very close to most shops. i was there for a conference so enjoyed it and went smoothly....dint like the food and breakfast very much though.

ok place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Taniaimran,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Nairobi; it was our pleasure to host you.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, giving you direct and quick access to most shops. Noted as well is that you enjoyed our conferencing facilities and that it was well synchronized and run smoothly.
As we did not meet your expectations in our food and breakfast, we would be glad to discuss your preferences on your return stay, to ensure that we make this home away from home.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was there for 10 days on a business trip, the rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms need refreshment, overall a good hotel. The restaurants are ok, nothing special to say. Service is very good and as helpful as can be. Always welcoming and with a smile. If you are in Nairobi for business this hotel is well located and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on Kenyatta Avenue, although the vue on the Park is nice the noise is present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ThierryC2962,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; it was our pleasure to host you.
We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel location for any business traveler and that our spacious and clean rooms met your expectations.
We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism in service delivery, with the team always executing their duties in a warm and friendly manner, and with a smile as is the Laico Regency way.
Noted are your remarks regarding the need to refresh the bathrooms and I wish to inform you that processes are already underway to upgrade our facility.
Nonetheless, we are delighted that during your 10 day stay with us, we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. Guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount to us.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would highly recommend anyone seriously looks to stay at another hotel in Nairobi. One had to wait for hot water in the room,. it felt like their was a helicopter in the bedroom with the air conditioning and the service was atrocious. On multiple occasions coffee ordered never turned up !! We ordered a hotel car to pick us up from the airport which ended up being a taxi which broke down. Terrible value for money.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel before you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Nick175863,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We have noted the areas in which we did not meet your expectations during this stay and have taken measures to prevent a repeat.
Plans are already underway to upgrade the facility and processes have also been put in place to improve on our service delivery.
I assure you that I have taken this feedback very seriously and shared it with all the heads of departments concerned. We are closely monitoring the areas of dissatisfaction raised, with an aim of constantly improving and ensuring guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good conference facilities with very nice and efficient service. The gym is good, even if perhaps a bit small. The room spacious, clean, all amenities you expect for the category. Very good breakfast, lunch buffet with yummy desert. Really, the only thing is the very slow internet wifi. All the rest is global 4-5* standard in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Claudia O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to note that we exceeded your expectations in our product and service delivery.
We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious and clean rooms, with good conferencing facilities. We have noted as well that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast and our daily themed buffet lunches, which our chefs endeavor to, tantalize individual taste buds.
We have taken to consideration your feedback on the size of our gym and speed of WI-FI connectivity. We are in the process of improving the facility and have scheduled these as part of the product upgrades. Nonetheless, we are glad that that you had the pleasure of experiencing Laico Regency Nairobi facilities and our professionalism in five star service delivery.
Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and not too noisy.

The hotel is now old and needs to be renovated ...especially now with all the new options in the city. The room has all amenities we needed. Food was good , we enjoyed the themed buffets and also ate at their Italian restaurant , cant complain on food but you can improve on your variety and display ...make better use of the space, and make sure the chefs around the buffet know what they are selling.

They have wireless internet and it worked well though out and was fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MsMaa,

Thank you for taking the time to sure your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased that our central and quiet location worked to your advantage, as well as our fast WI-FI connection.
Noted is your feedback on the need to improve the facility, and I am glad to say that plans are underway to upgrade the product. On the other hand we are happy that you enjoyed our themed buffet lunches and Roberto’s our Italian restaurant.
Thank you for the genuine feedback, as it assists in constant improvement, ensuring customer satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico
Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.