We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Pakistan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Acceptable hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and very close to most shops. i was there for a conference so enjoyed it and went smoothly....dint like the food and breakfast very much though.

ok place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Taniaimran,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Nairobi; it was our pleasure to host you.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, giving you direct and quick access to most shops. Noted as well is that you enjoyed our conferencing facilities and that it was well synchronized and run smoothly.
As we did not meet your expectations in our food and breakfast, we would be glad to discuss your preferences on your return stay, to ensure that we make this home away from home.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    36
    21
    19
See reviews for
10
13
15
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was there for 10 days on a business trip, the rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms need refreshment, overall a good hotel. The restaurants are ok, nothing special to say. Service is very good and as helpful as can be. Always welcoming and with a smile. If you are in Nairobi for business this hotel is well located and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on Kenyatta Avenue, although the vue on the Park is nice the noise is present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear ThierryC2962,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; it was our pleasure to host you.
We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel location for any business traveler and that our spacious and clean rooms met your expectations.
We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism in service delivery, with the team always executing their duties in a warm and friendly manner, and with a smile as is the Laico Regency way.
Noted are your remarks regarding the need to refresh the bathrooms and I wish to inform you that processes are already underway to upgrade our facility.
Nonetheless, we are delighted that during your 10 day stay with us, we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. Guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount to us.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I would highly recommend anyone seriously looks to stay at another hotel in Nairobi. One had to wait for hot water in the room,. it felt like their was a helicopter in the bedroom with the air conditioning and the service was atrocious. On multiple occasions coffee ordered never turned up !! We ordered a hotel car to pick us up from the airport which ended up being a taxi which broke down. Terrible value for money.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel before you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Nick175863,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We have noted the areas in which we did not meet your expectations during this stay and have taken measures to prevent a repeat.
Plans are already underway to upgrade the facility and processes have also been put in place to improve on our service delivery.
I assure you that I have taken this feedback very seriously and shared it with all the heads of departments concerned. We are closely monitoring the areas of dissatisfaction raised, with an aim of constantly improving and ensuring guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good conference facilities with very nice and efficient service. The gym is good, even if perhaps a bit small. The room spacious, clean, all amenities you expect for the category. Very good breakfast, lunch buffet with yummy desert. Really, the only thing is the very slow internet wifi. All the rest is global 4-5* standard in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Claudia O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to note that we exceeded your expectations in our product and service delivery.
We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious and clean rooms, with good conferencing facilities. We have noted as well that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast and our daily themed buffet lunches, which our chefs endeavor to, tantalize individual taste buds.
We have taken to consideration your feedback on the size of our gym and speed of WI-FI connectivity. We are in the process of improving the facility and have scheduled these as part of the product upgrades. Nonetheless, we are glad that that you had the pleasure of experiencing Laico Regency Nairobi facilities and our professionalism in five star service delivery.
Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and not too noisy.

The hotel is now old and needs to be renovated ...especially now with all the new options in the city. The room has all amenities we needed. Food was good , we enjoyed the themed buffets and also ate at their Italian restaurant , cant complain on food but you can improve on your variety and display ...make better use of the space, and make sure the chefs around the buffet know what they are selling.

They have wireless internet and it worked well though out and was fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MsMaa,

Thank you for taking the time to sure your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased that our central and quiet location worked to your advantage, as well as our fast WI-FI connection.
Noted is your feedback on the need to improve the facility, and I am glad to say that plans are underway to upgrade the product. On the other hand we are happy that you enjoyed our themed buffet lunches and Roberto’s our Italian restaurant.
Thank you for the genuine feedback, as it assists in constant improvement, ensuring customer satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not much to say but the hotel needs renovation badly. Can use for the middle level managers but not for executives. Sorry for this but the investor needs to pump in money. The staff are good and friendly but the only problem is the with investor and the GM since he needs to drive the hotel towards being renovated.

Lunch is okay but more focus is needed on breakfast since this is a very important meal for the modern traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious but not modern. Beds are very old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear emulievi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the opportunity to sample our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed the service from the staff and the lunch. We noted that we did not meet your expectations as far as the breakfast provided and we have now made several positive improvements.

We have noted the areas of our facility which fell short of your expectation and would like to give my surety that we are in the process of improving the general condition of the hotel.
We do look forward to hosting you again soon and restoring your confidence in us.

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jevnaker, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed an excellent lunch at this beautiful hotel with a very kind and friendly staff! The variation and the quality of the food was wonderful.The hotel is situated very near the centre of Nairobi and near the Village Market. It is very special that the rooms are situated around the centre where the restaurant is. You can see the elevators going up to the various floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ynez W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at LAICO Regency Nairobi. We are delighted that all our services exceeded your expectations.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the variation and quality of food available in our restaurants and great service from our staff. Also noted is that our proximity to the Nairobi Central Business District was a value add.

We do look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;