We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Torino
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good conference facilities with very nice and efficient service. The gym is good, even if perhaps a bit small. The room spacious, clean, all amenities you expect for the category. Very good breakfast, lunch buffet with yummy desert. Really, the only thing is the very slow internet wifi. All the rest is global 4-5* standard in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Claudia O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to note that we exceeded your expectations in our product and service delivery.
We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious and clean rooms, with good conferencing facilities. We have noted as well that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast and our daily themed buffet lunches, which our chefs endeavor to, tantalize individual taste buds.
We have taken to consideration your feedback on the size of our gym and speed of WI-FI connectivity. We are in the process of improving the facility and have scheduled these as part of the product upgrades. Nonetheless, we are glad that that you had the pleasure of experiencing Laico Regency Nairobi facilities and our professionalism in five star service delivery.
Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
10
13
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NAIROB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and not too noisy.

The hotel is now old and needs to be renovated ...especially now with all the new options in the city. The room has all amenities we needed. Food was good , we enjoyed the themed buffets and also ate at their Italian restaurant , cant complain on food but you can improve on your variety and display ...make better use of the space, and make sure the chefs around the buffet know what they are selling.

They have wireless internet and it worked well though out and was fast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear MsMaa,

Thank you for taking the time to sure your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased that our central and quiet location worked to your advantage, as well as our fast WI-FI connection.
Noted is your feedback on the need to improve the facility, and I am glad to say that plans are underway to upgrade the product. On the other hand we are happy that you enjoyed our themed buffet lunches and Roberto’s our Italian restaurant.
Thank you for the genuine feedback, as it assists in constant improvement, ensuring customer satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Not much to say but the hotel needs renovation badly. Can use for the middle level managers but not for executives. Sorry for this but the investor needs to pump in money. The staff are good and friendly but the only problem is the with investor and the GM since he needs to drive the hotel towards being renovated.

Lunch is okay but more focus is needed on breakfast since this is a very important meal for the modern traveller.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious but not modern. Beds are very old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear emulievi,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the opportunity to sample our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed the service from the staff and the lunch. We noted that we did not meet your expectations as far as the breakfast provided and we have now made several positive improvements.

We have noted the areas of our facility which fell short of your expectation and would like to give my surety that we are in the process of improving the general condition of the hotel.
We do look forward to hosting you again soon and restoring your confidence in us.

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jevnaker, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed an excellent lunch at this beautiful hotel with a very kind and friendly staff! The variation and the quality of the food was wonderful.The hotel is situated very near the centre of Nairobi and near the Village Market. It is very special that the rooms are situated around the centre where the restaurant is. You can see the elevators going up to the various floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ynez W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at LAICO Regency Nairobi. We are delighted that all our services exceeded your expectations.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the variation and quality of food available in our restaurants and great service from our staff. Also noted is that our proximity to the Nairobi Central Business District was a value add.

We do look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was very kind and thorough. Even as we gathered in the lobby in wait for our group they served us juice and hand wipes; often after a long day. The security is tight but all staff was friendly. I had to tell the housekeeping to take the tip I left in the room or they won't touch it!..amazing.! I left the hotel and my shoes with expensive inserts on Friday and returned the next wednesday, when asking the Hskpg Spvsr to recover my inserts, they were found and returned the next morning. I have traveled the world and I was impressed with the treatment we received by ALL workers here. We use this hotel each year for missions trip. Con-the breakfast spread was not so good. Advice- the Italian restaurant in the complex is excellent!-try the Bruschetta.

Room Tip: If The air conditioning isn't cool ask to switch rooms. The 7th floor was cooler than the 6th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Belinda W.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay.

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the warm welcome and thoroughness in service delivery, hotel security and honesty displayed by all our professional staff members. We take pride in guest satisfaction and I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I have noted that you enjoyed our meals especially the excellent choices available at Robertos our Italian restaurant and also took note of the breakfast and have since increased the choices available.

I look forward to many more opportunities to host you again at the LAICO Regency Nairobi.
Thank you

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have checked into the hotel for a one night this morning, and has been most dissappointed with the hotel standard rooms. The rooms are very old, with warn out carpets which smells, and grundig television which is over 30 years old. The air conditions which do not work other than just blowing air. My efforts to get a better room from the reception staff who were not helpful as they said to get a better room I needed to upgrade from usd 150 dollars to 300 dollars room.
Even though the hotel location is good, it needs serious renovations every where specially the toilets, as the views from the outside do not reflect in the rooms. The staff have been pathetic and services has been poor including the restaurants. I would not come back to stay this hotel and certainly do not recommend to any prospective guests.

Room Tip: One should demand or reserve the rooms which are renovated if you must stay in this hotel, though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mahad 1971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback response regarding your recent stay with us at the Laico Regency Hotel Nairobi.
I was very dismayed to read your review and to note that you experienced many unacceptable challenges and I would like to apologize for these issues. I have noted the areas of our facility which fell short of your expectation and would like to give my surety that we are in the process of improving the general condition of the hotel.
I have shared your feedback with the heads of departments concerned in each of the areas where we fell short of your expectations and assure you that these will be followed up accordingly.
I hope we will get another opportunity to host you and restore your confidence in us.

Thank you
Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok, this hotel was very old but I stayed there to get rid of the Marble Arch Hotel. Based on my low expectations this hotel was good. Very old, but centrally located in Nairobi. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was good!
The rooms have a good size and are very clean, while internet works fine!
Nothing to complain specially when comparing to the Marble Arch!
Ahh, a good thing about this hotel is the view you can see at a public square across the street! Its very interesting! Good value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Leandro_Ang,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your stay at Laico Regency Hotel.
I am glad we were able to meet your expectations in most of the areas, experiencing our central location with a perfect view, clean rooms, internet accessibility, our super friendly staff and good breakfast.
We are in the process of upgrading the facility and do hope that this will be done by your next visit.

Thank you
General Manager
Sobhi Dahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.