We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Jevnaker, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I enjoyed an excellent lunch at this beautiful hotel with a very kind and friendly staff! The variation and the quality of the food was wonderful.The hotel is situated very near the centre of Nairobi and near the Village Market. It is very special that the rooms are situated around the centre where the restaurant is. You can see the elevators going up to the various floors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Ynez W,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at LAICO Regency Nairobi. We are delighted that all our services exceeded your expectations.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the variation and quality of food available in our restaurants and great service from our staff. Also noted is that our proximity to the Nairobi Central Business District was a value add.

We do look forward to hosting you again soon.

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    36
    21
    19
See reviews for
10
13
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was very kind and thorough. Even as we gathered in the lobby in wait for our group they served us juice and hand wipes; often after a long day. The security is tight but all staff was friendly. I had to tell the housekeeping to take the tip I left in the room or they won't touch it!..amazing.! I left the hotel and my shoes with expensive inserts on Friday and returned the next wednesday, when asking the Hskpg Spvsr to recover my inserts, they were found and returned the next morning. I have traveled the world and I was impressed with the treatment we received by ALL workers here. We use this hotel each year for missions trip. Con-the breakfast spread was not so good. Advice- the Italian restaurant in the complex is excellent!-try the Bruschetta.

Room Tip: If The air conditioning isn't cool ask to switch rooms. The 7th floor was cooler than the 6th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Belinda W.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed the stay.

I am delighted that you were able to enjoy the warm welcome and thoroughness in service delivery, hotel security and honesty displayed by all our professional staff members. We take pride in guest satisfaction and I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

I have noted that you enjoyed our meals especially the excellent choices available at Robertos our Italian restaurant and also took note of the breakfast and have since increased the choices available.

I look forward to many more opportunities to host you again at the LAICO Regency Nairobi.
Thank you

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salam, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have checked into the hotel for a one night this morning, and has been most dissappointed with the hotel standard rooms. The rooms are very old, with warn out carpets which smells, and grundig television which is over 30 years old. The air conditions which do not work other than just blowing air. My efforts to get a better room from the reception staff who were not helpful as they said to get a better room I needed to upgrade from usd 150 dollars to 300 dollars room.
Even though the hotel location is good, it needs serious renovations every where specially the toilets, as the views from the outside do not reflect in the rooms. The staff have been pathetic and services has been poor including the restaurants. I would not come back to stay this hotel and certainly do not recommend to any prospective guests.

Room Tip: One should demand or reserve the rooms which are renovated if you must stay in this hotel, though th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mahad 1971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback response regarding your recent stay with us at the Laico Regency Hotel Nairobi.
I was very dismayed to read your review and to note that you experienced many unacceptable challenges and I would like to apologize for these issues. I have noted the areas of our facility which fell short of your expectation and would like to give my surety that we are in the process of improving the general condition of the hotel.
I have shared your feedback with the heads of departments concerned in each of the areas where we fell short of your expectations and assure you that these will be followed up accordingly.
I hope we will get another opportunity to host you and restore your confidence in us.

Thank you
Mr. Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok, this hotel was very old but I stayed there to get rid of the Marble Arch Hotel. Based on my low expectations this hotel was good. Very old, but centrally located in Nairobi. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was good!
The rooms have a good size and are very clean, while internet works fine!
Nothing to complain specially when comparing to the Marble Arch!
Ahh, a good thing about this hotel is the view you can see at a public square across the street! Its very interesting! Good value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Leandro_Ang,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your stay at Laico Regency Hotel.
I am glad we were able to meet your expectations in most of the areas, experiencing our central location with a perfect view, clean rooms, internet accessibility, our super friendly staff and good breakfast.
We are in the process of upgrading the facility and do hope that this will be done by your next visit.

Thank you
General Manager
Sobhi Dahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really love the location for its convenience and the good setting from which one can view Nairobi largely.Tasty food and good swim area though would wish for more showers in the changing rooms.Staff was likeable though part of it was not as efficient.Warm welcoming and generally a good family place

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Eiyshah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor, we appreciate the gesture as the feedback helps us improve our overall customer experience.
I am glad that you had warm welcoming experiences during your recent stay at Laico Regency Hotel, enjoying its idyllic view of Nairobi, tasty foods served, the swimming area, and that our convenient location worked perfectly for you, all these traits offering an ideal location for family as well.
I have also noted a few areas that did not meet your expectations, like the number of available changing rooms in the swimming area and assure you that plans are underway for an expansion. Training is also being done continuously for our staff, to ensure efficiency in service delivery at all times.
Thank you

General Manager
Mr. Sobhi Dahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Colney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the big hotels in Nairobi but the hotel needs a serious make over and probably a management by a reputable international brand. It is all browny every where you look. It is like it stuck in the seventies. Hotels on average refurbish every ten years but this hotel seemed like it never had one since day one. The rooms are not quality at all specially considering the price. Location is great.

Room Tip: Watch out for the windows in the room, they are very low and they open wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear DGAB,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us; it was our pleasure to host you. I am grateful that you liked the location of the hotel.
I have noted your comments with regards of the condition of our facility and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. I am Contented to say that we are in the process of upgrading our facility, this will see a complete make-over of the Hotel.

Mr. SOBHI DAHAN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the hotel feels a bit jaded and outdated its quite old and has not received th required attention. the rooms are clean and have good view and the hotel itself has a great image. the locals love the hotel but its a tad too ancient for my liking.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors for a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ranjeet5

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we take pleasure in anything that can make your stay better.
I am pleased that you liked the great image of the hotel, as well as our clean rooms, offering a good view.
I have noted the areas of concern that you have raised and we are in the process of upgrading the general condition of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mr. SOBHI DAHAN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.