We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Backup plan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“My Backup plan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Ok, this hotel was very old but I stayed there to get rid of the Marble Arch Hotel. Based on my low expectations this hotel was good. Very old, but centrally located in Nairobi. The staff is super friendly and the breakfast was good!
The rooms have a good size and are very clean, while internet works fine!
Nothing to complain specially when comparing to the Marble Arch!
Ahh, a good thing about this hotel is the view you can see at a public square across the street! Its very interesting! Good value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Leandro_Ang,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback about your stay at Laico Regency Hotel.
I am glad we were able to meet your expectations in most of the areas, experiencing our central location with a perfect view, clean rooms, internet accessibility, our super friendly staff and good breakfast.
We are in the process of upgrading the facility and do hope that this will be done by your next visit.

Thank you
General Manager
Sobhi Dahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
10
13
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really love the location for its convenience and the good setting from which one can view Nairobi largely.Tasty food and good swim area though would wish for more showers in the changing rooms.Staff was likeable though part of it was not as efficient.Warm welcoming and generally a good family place

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Eiyshah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor, we appreciate the gesture as the feedback helps us improve our overall customer experience.
I am glad that you had warm welcoming experiences during your recent stay at Laico Regency Hotel, enjoying its idyllic view of Nairobi, tasty foods served, the swimming area, and that our convenient location worked perfectly for you, all these traits offering an ideal location for family as well.
I have also noted a few areas that did not meet your expectations, like the number of available changing rooms in the swimming area and assure you that plans are underway for an expansion. Training is also being done continuously for our staff, to ensure efficiency in service delivery at all times.
Thank you

General Manager
Mr. Sobhi Dahan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London Colney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is one of the big hotels in Nairobi but the hotel needs a serious make over and probably a management by a reputable international brand. It is all browny every where you look. It is like it stuck in the seventies. Hotels on average refurbish every ten years but this hotel seemed like it never had one since day one. The rooms are not quality at all specially considering the price. Location is great.

Room Tip: Watch out for the windows in the room, they are very low and they open wide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear DGAB,

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us; it was our pleasure to host you. I am grateful that you liked the location of the hotel.
I have noted your comments with regards of the condition of our facility and I am sorry we were not able to meet your expectation during your recent stay with us. I am Contented to say that we are in the process of upgrading our facility, this will see a complete make-over of the Hotel.

Mr. SOBHI DAHAN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the hotel feels a bit jaded and outdated its quite old and has not received th required attention. the rooms are clean and have good view and the hotel itself has a great image. the locals love the hotel but its a tad too ancient for my liking.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors for a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ranjeet5

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we take pleasure in anything that can make your stay better.
I am pleased that you liked the great image of the hotel, as well as our clean rooms, offering a good view.
I have noted the areas of concern that you have raised and we are in the process of upgrading the general condition of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mr. SOBHI DAHAN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I lodged in the hotel while on transit; it’s close to Uhuru highway so accessibility to other parts of town wasn’t an issue. I had fun at the tourist market close by getting some real bargain trinkets and footwear.
Breakfast was very good with continental meals catering to all taste.
Didn't have time to check out the gym though-close to the pool.
The hotel is very clean with cool lovely artistic designs and landscaping.
Staffs were very professional and helpful and answered questions ranging from local customs to shopping tips.
Overall, it was a good experience i will stay there again when in town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Aitee,
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Hotel and we are glad that your overall experience was good.
We have noted that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast, offering variety for all taste buds. We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism and received a lot of assistance from our knowledgeable staff members.
Your positive remarks on the hotel cleanliness and beautiful landscaping are highly appreciated. We do hope that on your return visit, you will be able to enjoy our fully fledged health club and our heated swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed there for a conference. Good internet, overall good service. Check in & out was very efficient
The airport transfer could be better: no signage on arrival & to return they made it difficult to share with other passengers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the valuable feedback you have shared on your review of Laico Regency Hotel.
We are happy that you take away with you positive memories of the overall good service you received especially the internet connectivity and the efficient check-in and check-out.
Noted as well are the hiccups experienced with the airport transfers and we are putting measures in place to curb a repeat of the same.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A good choice especially when you are in long transit or when ur on business tour...its ideally located for all kinda business meetings...

Hotel as always neat and clean....the staffs are awesome, jus like they were in Mali....nice hospitality....

But no pick up n drop frm hotel to airport for free....its 50$ charge!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your stay with us on trip advisor.
We are glad to note that we did meet your expectations and that Laico Regency Hotel was a good location for your business meetings. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and will be pleased to share your feedback with the staff, on the professionalism they portrayed in service delivery.
We have noted your concern on the airport charges and I wish to mention that the $50 rate is very competitive in the area, as it is a Laico Regency Hotel branded limo.
Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.