We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old skool” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“old skool”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

the hotel feels a bit jaded and outdated its quite old and has not received th required attention. the rooms are clean and have good view and the hotel itself has a great image. the locals love the hotel but its a tad too ancient for my liking.

Room Tip: take a room on the higher floors for a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Ranjeet5

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your feedback. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we take pleasure in anything that can make your stay better.
I am pleased that you liked the great image of the hotel, as well as our clean rooms, offering a good view.
I have noted the areas of concern that you have raised and we are in the process of upgrading the general condition of the hotel.

Kind Regards

Mr. SOBHI DAHAN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
10
13
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I lodged in the hotel while on transit; it’s close to Uhuru highway so accessibility to other parts of town wasn’t an issue. I had fun at the tourist market close by getting some real bargain trinkets and footwear.
Breakfast was very good with continental meals catering to all taste.
Didn't have time to check out the gym though-close to the pool.
The hotel is very clean with cool lovely artistic designs and landscaping.
Staffs were very professional and helpful and answered questions ranging from local customs to shopping tips.
Overall, it was a good experience i will stay there again when in town

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Aitee,
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Hotel and we are glad that your overall experience was good.
We have noted that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast, offering variety for all taste buds. We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism and received a lot of assistance from our knowledgeable staff members.
Your positive remarks on the hotel cleanliness and beautiful landscaping are highly appreciated. We do hope that on your return visit, you will be able to enjoy our fully fledged health club and our heated swimming pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed there for a conference. Good internet, overall good service. Check in & out was very efficient
The airport transfer could be better: no signage on arrival & to return they made it difficult to share with other passengers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the valuable feedback you have shared on your review of Laico Regency Hotel.
We are happy that you take away with you positive memories of the overall good service you received especially the internet connectivity and the efficient check-in and check-out.
Noted as well are the hiccups experienced with the airport transfers and we are putting measures in place to curb a repeat of the same.
We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A good choice especially when you are in long transit or when ur on business tour...its ideally located for all kinda business meetings...

Hotel as always neat and clean....the staffs are awesome, jus like they were in Mali....nice hospitality....

But no pick up n drop frm hotel to airport for free....its 50$ charge!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your stay with us on trip advisor.
We are glad to note that we did meet your expectations and that Laico Regency Hotel was a good location for your business meetings. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and will be pleased to share your feedback with the staff, on the professionalism they portrayed in service delivery.
We have noted your concern on the airport charges and I wish to mention that the $50 rate is very competitive in the area, as it is a Laico Regency Hotel branded limo.
Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked into this hotel less than 1 hour ago. If you make the mistake of booking this hotel, whatever you do don't ask them over the phone for an airport transfer or you will be charged extortionately ($50, I kid you not). Just get off the plane and go to the hotel's desk at the airport where they will charge you around half. Also, the car was in bad repair and uncomfortable. First appearance is good upon arrival, then everything slides downhill rather unceremoniously. Don't be deceived by all the polished brass!! If you don't mind being a few km outside city centre I highly recommend Boma which is on the way in from the airport - this hotel is setting a new standard of specification for Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for taking the time to share your feedback about our airport transfers; your feedback is valuable to us.
We sincerely apologize for your airport pick-up experience and would like to let you know that as a result of this, actions have been put in place to ensure our guest comfort.
We are certainly not making excuses, though wish to clarify that the vehicle used, though recommenced by our airport desk, was a regular taxi as our hotel vehicles may have had prior engagements. The $50 quoted for airport transfers, is applicable in our Laico Regency branded hotel limousines. The limousine rates are very competitive in the area.
We hope this initial experience will not deter you from staying with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to experience our hospitality.
Kind Regards
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was one of those days when the plane didn't turn up.
At aound 10PM we were bussed into town from the airport and dropped off a various hotels - we drew this one. In spite of having 20+ tired and fed-up people to deal with (including some who seemed to think it was the hotel staff's fault that the plane didn't turn up) we all got booked in in reasonable time. The room was excelent and the breakfast service was fine - we signed out with no problems and left early in the morning,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

If your work is based within the town centre then I would definetly recommend this hotel. If you have to use a car then this is the wrong place due to traffic. Otherwise the hotel its self is execellent. I would definetly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.