We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laico Regency Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Laico Regency Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A good choice especially when you are in long transit or when ur on business tour...its ideally located for all kinda business meetings...

Hotel as always neat and clean....the staffs are awesome, jus like they were in Mali....nice hospitality....

But no pick up n drop frm hotel to airport for free....its 50$ charge!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback about your stay with us on trip advisor.
We are glad to note that we did meet your expectations and that Laico Regency Hotel was a good location for your business meetings. We are glad you enjoyed our hospitality and will be pleased to share your feedback with the staff, on the professionalism they portrayed in service delivery.
We have noted your concern on the airport charges and I wish to mention that the $50 rate is very competitive in the area, as it is a Laico Regency Hotel branded limo.
Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again.
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    33
    21
    19
See reviews for
10
13
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tunis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I booked into this hotel less than 1 hour ago. If you make the mistake of booking this hotel, whatever you do don't ask them over the phone for an airport transfer or you will be charged extortionately ($50, I kid you not). Just get off the plane and go to the hotel's desk at the airport where they will charge you around half. Also, the car was in bad repair and uncomfortable. First appearance is good upon arrival, then everything slides downhill rather unceremoniously. Don't be deceived by all the polished brass!! If you don't mind being a few km outside city centre I highly recommend Boma which is on the way in from the airport - this hotel is setting a new standard of specification for Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are grateful for taking the time to share your feedback about our airport transfers; your feedback is valuable to us.
We sincerely apologize for your airport pick-up experience and would like to let you know that as a result of this, actions have been put in place to ensure our guest comfort.
We are certainly not making excuses, though wish to clarify that the vehicle used, though recommenced by our airport desk, was a regular taxi as our hotel vehicles may have had prior engagements. The $50 quoted for airport transfers, is applicable in our Laico Regency branded hotel limousines. The limousine rates are very competitive in the area.
We hope this initial experience will not deter you from staying with us and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to experience our hospitality.
Kind Regards
Sobhi Dahan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It was one of those days when the plane didn't turn up.
At aound 10PM we were bussed into town from the airport and dropped off a various hotels - we drew this one. In spite of having 20+ tired and fed-up people to deal with (including some who seemed to think it was the hotel staff's fault that the plane didn't turn up) we all got booked in in reasonable time. The room was excelent and the breakfast service was fine - we signed out with no problems and left early in the morning,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

If your work is based within the town centre then I would definetly recommend this hotel. If you have to use a car then this is the wrong place due to traffic. Otherwise the hotel its self is execellent. I would definetly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mombaa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed in this hotel on numerous occassions from the good old days when it was Grand Regency until they started charging full rates for early check-ins. Surely, how do you charge for a previous night's stay when I check-in in the morning. Well, they have lost one dedicated client. I now go to the Fairmont Norfolk where they welcomed me with open arms. I would check-in at 7.00 in the morning and they would start charging for the night of that day, not the previous night.

Shame on Laico! Front desk staff also not very friendly. When I mentioned to one of them that other hotels don't charge early check-ins, this is the reply I got, "other hotels are other hotels and Laico is Laico", which in other words means take it or leave it. Well I have left it!

Room Tip: No tip worth giving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel rather frequently for the past three years. It has changed ownership during this period and going downhill since then. Food is mediocre at best. Staff try to be friendly but lack the experience and skills. When approached the day managers are generally useless. During last visit in August, renovation work was beeing done in adjacent rooms creating noise, had a leaking faucet, television did not work, There are many better and cheaper options in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a great find! I originally was in the Intercontinental Hotel for 3 days, but decided to move to the Laico Regency. It was a wonderful choice. In fact, I extended my stay for 2 weeks.

Staff was excellent! They were all very friendly and helpful. The room was bright, very clean and large. Plenty of hot water. Room service quick and very few mistakes in the orders. Good pillows and nice linens/towels.

Internet WIFI was included in the room cost and was very strong and reliable. Housekeeping did a great job of making sure the room remained clean and complimentary coffee and water was kept filled up.

The hotel has several restaurants: Italian, cafe, poolside bar and grill, Main Terrace. The food was always good. Breakfast was served on the Main Terrace, but I only had breakfast twice. It was fine. At the Italian restaurant, stay away from the "Italian Nachos". Otherwise the food was very good.

Within the Hotel complex there is a casino and small shopping complex. A foreign currency exchange/Western Union location in the hotel allows you to change money at a great rate.

It is hard to find fault with this hotel. The only things I can mention are: Carpet in my room was rather worn; Food item preparation and presentation were never consistent if you ordered the same thing on different days. Each time they were a little different, but still very good!

Next time I have to be in Nairobi, I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side are quieter: off the main road and away from the Park (the Park gets very lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.