We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks really nice .... at first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Save Saved
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Looks really nice .... at first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile



This hotel used to b Regency. So the structure and building r nice looking. 
Then it was purchased by Laico chain. The room is nice and large, decorated really nice with African touch. The bed, sheets, towels r new and nice. No mosquitos, Staff r nice and helpful , I really liked this hotel !!
Ok , only bad thing was bathroom. 
The sink area looked ok. 
But bath tub area is old. I guess they didn't get around to renovate the bath and wall and the floor in the bathroom.  And the water coming out of the faucet  is yellow.  Weak hot water. I hope they will renovate the bathroom soon. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sophia moon,

Thank you for staying at LAICO Regency and for your feedback.

We noted your appreciation for the African touch in our upgraded rooms. The upgrade is being implemented in phases and the next phase will be upgrade of bathroom facilities. Hopefully the phase will be complete by your next visit.

We look forward to hosting you once again at LAICO Regency hotel.

Regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    33
    20
    19
See reviews for
10
13
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pristina, Kosovo
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After spending more than $1500 staying at this hotel, I was presented on checkout with a minibar bill of around $40 for items I never saw or consumed. Normal business practice for most hotels is to write these off as an error, or at least give the customer benefit of the doubt. What ensued was a heated discussion at the reception desk, involving the staff member who checked the mini bar, the cashier, and finally the manager. All were absolutely recalcitrant and unable to adjust the small amount. I paid for those items even though I had only ever consumed items that I had purchased outside and put in the fridge to save expenses. Laico's bizarre management style is: the customer is always wrong.

They have lost one customer, and I understand now why the hotel was almost empty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was at this hotel for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed my stay...I was surprised by some of the negative comments I read on tripadvisor - my experience was positive. The room was spacious and comfortable, staff friendly and the hotel really sought to accommodate me as a vegetarian - some options were really tasty (and it is not easy to find decent vegetarian food in Nairobi)...hotel managed conference aspects well and all worked seemlessly...there is a pool and gym for exercising and position of the hotel is in the heart of the city...security was also good which is important currently in Kenya...all in all, an excellent hotel for business, conferencing and leisure

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear David and Jeff,

Thank you for staying at LAICO Regency and moreover for taking the time to post your positive feedback. This encourages us to keep upgrading our facilities and services.

We are glad that you had a great experience from the rooms to the friendly staff, meals and conference facilities. Your satisfaction is our reward.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Problems with this hotel were:

1. Ugly furniture, worn out and painted over with one coat of white paint.

2. Outside window has no mechanism to regulate movement. It remains fully shut or fully open , nothing in between.

3. Worn out carpet which is discoloured.

4. No complimentary water for guests.

5. Air conditioning spewed out dusty air

6. Shower was a disaster, the device to transfer water to the shower head was malfunctional, thus impossible to take a shower.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Realtor K.
Kindly accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations as outlined in your review.
We have embarked on upgrading all rooms, from the carpet, linen, curtains, TV flat screens, painting to the adding of lights. So far we have upgraded four floors and we wish to assure you that the next visit will be of a different experience.
Regarding air conditioning, this surprised us. We have however directed our Maintenance team to look at it and ensure that this is addressed and that it does not occur in any other room.

We provide complementary mineral water 2 bottles per room, replenished daily as a standard procedure. We apologize should there have been an omission error in regards to your room. It could have been an oversight at our end and will address with the Housekeeper.
I encourage you to get in touch with me direct while planning your next visit. I will ensure we throw in a surprise for you as a demonstration of our apology for not meeting your expectation.

Thank you for staying with us, hoping that you will once again give us a chance to better your experience.

Regards
Gerard Boucheraeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many so-called 4 and 5 star hotels in Nairobi (Hilton, Safari Club, Panafric, and now the Laico Regency) that all receive the same comments from me-grossly overpriced for tired and worn hotels that may justify their star rating in terms of range of services offered, but certainly not in the quality of those services. My bed was warped (turned up in the corners!) and the bathroom had definitely seen better days. I arrived late and ordered a burger and fries from room service-when I put my knife through the burger blood shot out-it was dangerously undercooked. They did it again for me, but offering it on the house would have been a nice gesture. Next time I'm going straight back to the Tribe, which is the only Nairobi hotel I've stayed at where I feel the product and service justifies the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest (FrequentTravellerKV)

Kindly accept our apologies for not meeting your expectation as outlined in your review.

We are grateful for acknowledging the upgrade in public areas. We have embarked on upgrading all accommodation rooms, from the bed, carpet, linen, curtains, TV screens, wall decoration and painting to light enhancement. So far we have upgraded three floors and we assure you that the next visit will be of a better experience.

It is not in our standards or the ones of our Executive Chef to deliver food which is not cooked to our client’s preference. We took note of your comments regarding the undercooked Burger and have taken up the matter. A complementary burger awaits you on your next visit; kindly refer the bill to me once it’s delivered to you. As service delivery is paramount to us all at Laico, we are carrying out continuous training to all our staff with an aim of achieving speedy and professional service delivery.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we encourage you to give us another chance to demonstrate the difference to you.

Kind Regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

For conference though the tables were too small.otherwise I slept well food was well served with some live soft music piano playing in the background. Air port pick up was ok just a bit of waiting.
I am yet to experience other hotels in Nairobi for comperison. otherwise I would rate the services offered with a standard 4star experience.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Mutale P Kangwa
We are glad that you enjoyed the food and live piano music and this goes on every single day during our theme buffet lunches. The conference tables that we have are all standard tables, we are upgrading our conference facilities and are also looking into that. We strive to make our guests satisfied at all times delivering service that is beyond expectation.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your valuable time to give us your feedback about our service, we look forward to hosting you again.
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy,
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just finished a 10-day stay at the Laico Regency with our two small children. We are VERY picky hotel guests and have to say this was a FANTASTIC experience. The staff was super friendly and remembered our names every day. The food was excellent and very high quality. The rooms were quiet, clean, spacious, and well maintained. Room service and laundry were very fast friendly and punctual.

Our only complaint was that it was a little on the expensive side, but it was an excellent place to stay and we would ABSOLUTELY stay there again! This hotel should carry a 4 out of 5 rating for sure as a standard.

We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Russ D.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to give us a detailed feedback on your experience here at LAICO.
First we are very encouraged and grateful that you had a FANTASTIC experience. We are also happy that our staffs were super friendly, and they gave you excellent service and this is the result of skilled people who strive each day to give you unrivaled service. Having enjoyed the kind of service, we would like to qualify our prices as competitive not expensive. You will also agree that the sustenance of standards comes with a price.
We would like to welcome you once again at the LAICO and have a more FANTASTIC experience.
Kind regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.