We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of LAICO Regency Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added LAICO Regency Hotel to your Saves list
LAICO Regency Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
1 review
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Problems with this hotel were:

1. Ugly furniture, worn out and painted over with one coat of white paint.

2. Outside window has no mechanism to regulate movement. It remains fully shut or fully open , nothing in between.

3. Worn out carpet which is discoloured.

4. No complimentary water for guests.

5. Air conditioning spewed out dusty air

6. Shower was a disaster, the device to transfer water to the shower head was malfunctional, thus impossible to take a shower.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaicoRegency, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Realtor K.
Kindly accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations as outlined in your review.
We have embarked on upgrading all rooms, from the carpet, linen, curtains, TV flat screens, painting to the adding of lights. So far we have upgraded four floors and we wish to assure you that the next visit will be of a different experience.
Regarding air conditioning, this surprised us. We have however directed our Maintenance team to look at it and ensure that this is addressed and that it does not occur in any other room.

We provide complementary mineral water 2 bottles per room, replenished daily as a standard procedure. We apologize should there have been an omission error in regards to your room. It could have been an oversight at our end and will address with the Housekeeper.
I encourage you to get in touch with me direct while planning your next visit. I will ensure we throw in a surprise for you as a demonstration of our apology for not meeting your expectation.

Thank you for staying with us, hoping that you will once again give us a chance to better your experience.

Regards
Gerard Boucheraeu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    35
    39
    21
    19
See reviews for
11
13
16
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed in many so-called 4 and 5 star hotels in Nairobi (Hilton, Safari Club, Panafric, and now the Laico Regency) that all receive the same comments from me-grossly overpriced for tired and worn hotels that may justify their star rating in terms of range of services offered, but certainly not in the quality of those services. My bed was warped (turned up in the corners!) and the bathroom had definitely seen better days. I arrived late and ordered a burger and fries from room service-when I put my knife through the burger blood shot out-it was dangerously undercooked. They did it again for me, but offering it on the house would have been a nice gesture. Next time I'm going straight back to the Tribe, which is the only Nairobi hotel I've stayed at where I feel the product and service justifies the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest (FrequentTravellerKV)

Kindly accept our apologies for not meeting your expectation as outlined in your review.

We are grateful for acknowledging the upgrade in public areas. We have embarked on upgrading all accommodation rooms, from the bed, carpet, linen, curtains, TV screens, wall decoration and painting to light enhancement. So far we have upgraded three floors and we assure you that the next visit will be of a better experience.

It is not in our standards or the ones of our Executive Chef to deliver food which is not cooked to our client’s preference. We took note of your comments regarding the undercooked Burger and have taken up the matter. A complementary burger awaits you on your next visit; kindly refer the bill to me once it’s delivered to you. As service delivery is paramount to us all at Laico, we are carrying out continuous training to all our staff with an aim of achieving speedy and professional service delivery.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us and we encourage you to give us another chance to demonstrate the difference to you.

Kind Regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

For conference though the tables were too small.otherwise I slept well food was well served with some live soft music piano playing in the background. Air port pick up was ok just a bit of waiting.
I am yet to experience other hotels in Nairobi for comperison. otherwise I would rate the services offered with a standard 4star experience.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Mutale P Kangwa
We are glad that you enjoyed the food and live piano music and this goes on every single day during our theme buffet lunches. The conference tables that we have are all standard tables, we are upgrading our conference facilities and are also looking into that. We strive to make our guests satisfied at all times delivering service that is beyond expectation.
Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking your valuable time to give us your feedback about our service, we look forward to hosting you again.
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy,
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just finished a 10-day stay at the Laico Regency with our two small children. We are VERY picky hotel guests and have to say this was a FANTASTIC experience. The staff was super friendly and remembered our names every day. The food was excellent and very high quality. The rooms were quiet, clean, spacious, and well maintained. Room service and laundry were very fast friendly and punctual.

Our only complaint was that it was a little on the expensive side, but it was an excellent place to stay and we would ABSOLUTELY stay there again! This hotel should carry a 4 out of 5 rating for sure as a standard.

We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr. Russ D.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to give us a detailed feedback on your experience here at LAICO.
First we are very encouraged and grateful that you had a FANTASTIC experience. We are also happy that our staffs were super friendly, and they gave you excellent service and this is the result of skilled people who strive each day to give you unrivaled service. Having enjoyed the kind of service, we would like to qualify our prices as competitive not expensive. You will also agree that the sustenance of standards comes with a price.
We would like to welcome you once again at the LAICO and have a more FANTASTIC experience.
Kind regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Reception and Cashier staff were very good. Security guards were very friendly. And so was the Hotel transport (including Airport pickup, drop and local trips) and Room Service. I must commend on the guidance and service provided by Mr Moses, Driver to explain to me various details of the Hotel and Nairobi which I was not aware.

I am a traveler with reasonable demands and do not expect much. However Laico needs to spruce up many on many fronts:

- bathroom shower was not up to the mark, the shower was leaking with water spraying from behind the shower; therefore pressure was low

- the room furniture looked like it had not been painted for ages

- TV program selection was drab. Some of the channels listed in the Hotel booklet were not available.

- Restaurants needed better service and I had to call for a waiter to take the order inspite of the Restaurant being almost vacant during dinner time. Quality of food was very poor and not cooked properly

- Internet/ WiFi was slow. Web pages took a long time to load

Laico was a very average experience. It is definitely not 5 star and tariff is high.

On the plus side, the room was clean with well stocked bar and an excellent view of the park.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the park was good. The other side faces the market and buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir (202Globetrotter )
Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us.

We did not meet your expectation in some areas as outlined in your review.
First and foremost we are grateful that reception, cashiers and security staff gave you exceptional service and also our Driver Moses. This is the service that we strive to give every day.
On the issue of rooms, we have embarked on upgrading and refurbishing all our rooms and we welcome you again to check out our rooms when you are coming to stay with us again.
We are addressing speed and efficiency of service provided whether at the front desk or at our restaurants. Our staffs strive to offer accurate and fast service to our guests while ensuring the highest level of integrity is maintained. We are working on a program to retrain each staff on professionalism and attentiveness so as to exceed customer expectation, whether on normal or busy days.
On the Wi-Fi during you visit, we were experiencing latencies from our ISP which they were addressing and got it fixed.
Thank you once again and we welcome you again giving us a chance to correct our mistakes.
Kind Regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I had not been to the regency since it was acquired by laico and the standards have pretty much gone down. Thought of grabbing a bite and a coffee while waiting for the Nairobi traffic to subside. The lobby staff are welcoming. At the restaurant, it took long before I was acknowledged by one of the staff who approached my table and asked what i wanted. I asked for the menu, which took ages to come or i guess i was to hungry but all together with waiting for the food, the time was so long. My friend had to go to the bar with the menu, inorder for the server to notice that she waited so long. The food item I received was quite different from the menu description. I will give credit to the guards, and their friendly gestures but the service and food at the terrace coffee shop was quite poor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Miss TN
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.
We highly appreciate your comprehensive feedback and have taken a keen interest on the issues raised.
The team regrets that your expectations were not met and noted your comments regarding not being acknowledged by our staff at the Royal Terrace restaurant, the slow and delayed service and the food served not being as per menu description.
We would like to assure you that it is our duty to provide speedy and excellent service to all our clients as per Laico Branded Hotels’ service standards. Please accept our sincere apologies with regard to the standard of service rendered. The matter is being addressed so that corrective standards and procedures are followed to prevent a similar occurrence.
Your kind compliments about our Front Office staffs who were welcoming, is highly appreciated.
We trust that in the future you will give us a chance to serve you once again and assure you that the above will not reoccur.
Kind regards
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This week I visited the hotel. We had various business meetings ranging from a dinner for clients to a conference with 300+ delegates. The arrangements were all on the number, from the airport pickups to the events themselves. All the staff at the hotel went out of their way to help and were extremely efficient and very friendly. We will be back at the Laico in future as our preferred venue for business functions.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have been completely renovated. Try and ensure you get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Njenga J, Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Pierre M
On behalf of the Laico Regency team in Nairobi, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit. I greatly appreciated you taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor.
As we are committed to extend best services to all our clients, it is wonderful to read that your event was a success and that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations.
I am pleased to hear that you found the staff to be extremely efficient and friendly and I will definitely pass your compliments to the team.
Once again, please let me express my gratitude and appreciation for your recommendation of Laico Regency Nairobi as your preferred venue for business functions and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best Regards,
Gerard Bouchereau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LAICO Regency Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.