We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarova Stanley- Pro & Cons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sarova Stanley- Pro & Cons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Pros:
Stayed in Sarova Stanley when i was on my Kenyan holiday. The hotel is located at a convenient location, close to supermarkets and other stores. The check in was very smooth and the staff that helped me were respectful. The rooms are spacious and nice. The guards are in every floor which makes the place safe; these guards were always courteous, in helping guests to open elevators. They always said hello, to me which was very amazing. The security guards at the hotel restaurant especially the ones on day shift, are great. They always ensured that i am comfortable and are very respectful. These guards make you feel so much at home more than anybody else- kudos to them.

The pool is very nice too with clean water. There is also a well equiped gym near the pool area. The place is very clean even the smoking room area. Would like to stay here again. One more cool thing is that the 1st floor bar, has almost every newspaper from every country.


Cons:
It was unpleasant to find people, who hang out in the smoking room area and apparently, they are not hotel guests. I mean the twilight girls, who pretend they are there for a "beer" and yet they are on their mission. Not sure, if they have always been there unnoticed, but they are a bad reputation to this hotel. In many nice hotels, there are areas that non-guest are not allowed. I think they can be a nuisance especially, if you just need your own peace. I know clients are very important to Sarova Stanley hotel, and i hope they can stop this type of disturbance.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    242
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
72
171
68
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed in the New Stanley for one night on our way to the Masai Mara and went back for another night when continuing our trip to Zanzibar.

We arrived from Amsterdam early in the morning. Our room was already available so we could take a little rest after the flight at night. Our luggage was brought to our room in no time. The room we had was spacious and clean. AC was working OK. Later that day we asked for a citytour, it was arranged within half an hour. The pooldeck restaurant was good, but we had to wait quite a time for our dinner. Staff was friendly, but not in a hurry ...
Checkout the next day was no problem and quickly done. We could leave part of our luggage (which we needed on Zanzibar but not on our safari to the Masai Mara) in the hotel for a week. That was no problem at all.

A week later we arrived for the second time and again our room was instantly available, which was nice because my wife was feeling ill. The next day we were leaving very early, but we were given the opportunity to have a little breakfast before the restaurant officially opened. Again, checkout was easily arranged.

A good place to stay over for a night, when travelling to other places in Kenya.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Had to visit Nairobi on Business and was put up in this Hotel right in the centre of Nairobi. A bit of an Oasis. Was there for a week and found staff to be friendly and helpful, rooms large, spacious, clean. Security guard on every floor. Food in "coffee shop" Ok and in Thai Restaurant - good. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We've just returned from 3 nights at the Sarova Stanley, as we were interested in learning a bit about Nairobi before heading on to the game parks. The common areas of the hotel are lovely, especially the oak panelled Exchange Bar on the first floor. The Thorn Tree Cafe is exactly what it states: It is a 'cafe'. The website makes it look as if it's an elegant multipurpose dining space but it's really just a venue for breakfast or a quick lunch.

The locatiuon of Sarova Stanley is fantastic. It's in the middle of the CBD and an ideal platform to explore the capital. What really lets the hotel down is it's obsession with security. They have a metal detector on the door and security guards (and in some cases multiple ones) on every floor. This is totally unnecessary.

The rooms at Sarova Stanley are big, spacious, air conditioned, but a bit tired and dated. Think pastel and static on the old fashioned TV. The level of service mentioned elsewhere on these reviews is valid, the service is a bit slow but no more so than other hotels in Africa.

Nairobi is fascinating for a few days. Don't be put off by people writing that it's dangerous and should be avoided. The people are lovely and you'll get very little hassle.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

I stayed here whilst on a conference in Nairobi. This was my first African experience and I enjoyed it very much. The hotel was classed as a 5 star, which I'm not quite sure it was but the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent. Serivce was very, very slow, annoyingly so in some cases when were in a rush to get back to our work. I'm told this is just the African way though and if I were on holiday, it wouldn't have been a problem. The hotel itself is well situated and the guards took a great deal of care over us, making sure we were safely looked after whenever we travelled anywhere. The hotel pool was lovely, really warm, almost like a bath and we had full access to the gym and sauna facilities, which was great. I would say though, it was quite noisy and the streets outside got very noisy at night, which could be heard from the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KamauSusan, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to give us your earnest review of the hotel.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay with us as you attended your conference in the heart of Nairobi's central business district. We have noted your concern on our speed of service and we are addressing this unlikely event. We would like to get in touch with you to update you on progress. Kindly reach us on telephone 254 20 2757000 or email us at thestanley@sarovahotels.com.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to host you again.

Yours Sincerely,
David Gachuru,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

initial check in was good, but our trip back from mara made us sit in lounge for over an hour where as the desk knew we had left our luggage in holding and were going to return on the appointed time and date. rest every thing was excellent.i will recomend it to my friends.i wanted to advise the reception, please keep RO water machines in hotel and supply asians with enuf water to drink, also a counter near the lifts would be a boon, if it had hot tea/coffee and water. there was this arrangement at nakuru, why not nairobi we wundered. i loved the whole experience, dont get me wrong. since my return iv drunk ltrs of water yet am not rehyderated, hats off to the africans who live without water, i envy them. some day i hope to be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We started our family safari with a stay at The Stanley as my husband had talked about the famous Thorn Tree he had seen there 30 years ago. Alas it is gone! It has been replaced by a small sapling and there are bulletin boards surrounding it. Sadly the mystique was gone.

However, the rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and the swimming pool was a hit with the children.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.