We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We, a family of 3, travelled along with two other families with young children and stayed at the Sarova Stanley for 2 nights in Nairobi. The hotel was great with comfortable beds, the child's bed was large enough to accomodate a fully grown up adult, room service was efficient and friendly, laundry was fast and great, bathrooms were spacious too. The Thorn Tree Cafe was a lovely place to have a beer and a bite. We are vegetarians and always had plenty of choice. Fresh sugarcane juice at the breakfast buffet was a winner!
The airport transfers were efficient but the air conditioning did not work-much needed as that was one of their hottest days. Check in and check out were slow and so are the restaurant staff.
The overall style of the hotel, though newly refurbished, is still largely colonial and we loved the cozy atmosphere. It was very reassuring to have security on all floors. House keeping staff were excellent too. The pool was lovely and heated. Gym is a bit crowded but is well equipped.
Will stay there if we ever go to Nairobi again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    211
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
151
57
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I loved this hotel. It is just the place to begin and end a safari.
We were upgraded to a club room which was very comfortable and luxurious - king sized bed, lots of toiletries, free wifi, big room, lovely bathroom. Our room was easy five star standard with everything a discerning traveller could ask for. Outside the windows Nairobi hummed with African big city energy while inside all was calm.
We ate in the Thorn Tree cafe for dinner which wasOK and again for breakfast,included in the room rate, which was topnotch. The roof top bar seemed a bit quiet when we checked it out but we were there early. The Thorn Tree was pretty lively with a (not too loud) band playing in the outdoors area.
There was security on every floor which was reassuring but at the same time they also managed to keep quite inconspicuous.
But the number one feature of this hotel was the character, the atmosphere, the ambience. The traditional period decor and furnishings, the friendly professional staff and the exotic location combined to make for a magical stay.
The photos of colonial times lining most of the walls enhanced greatly this feeling.
You can sit in the lobby, or the bar, and just imagine tea planters, big game hunters and any number of colonial nabobs strolling in from up-country for a bit of a break in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed overnight at the Stanley on our arrival night of a 14 day safari.
The Stanley , we were told, is a wellknown and historic hotel in the centre of Nairobi. Although functional and clean the historic feeling is somewhat gone. In comparison to the African hospitality we were to experience in the days to come, the staff at the Stanley was rather rigid.
Rooms were functional but offer no frills.
The breakfast was a bit hectic and we found the quality of the food a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We arrived the Hotel at 9.00 am and they immediatly gave us one room without charging any extra. This was great after 18 hours travelling.
The location is amazing. The rooms are good even for European standards. The staff is very nice. Just didn´t like the bathroom.
This was the beggining of a 14 days journey in Kenya and we just loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was a great hotel for a short stopover in nairobi.The pool is great and the in room room service is really good too. We had a bit of a problem getting interconnecting rooms but when that was sorted out everything was fine! The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel after our Masai Mara Reserve game experience - just for one night before flying out of Nairobi. The Stanley was chosen for its historical aspect. The hotel promotes and provides a complimentary historic hotel tour and we were delighted to discover that, although our flight was 3 hrs late out of the Mara Reserve, we could still enjoy this personalised tour at a time convenient to ourselves. The history and decor of the hotel is engaging; the rooms are large and extremely comfortable. And always pleased when hotels have pillow menus. However, disappointing to see mould in the bathroom and extra pillow delivered that was bloodstained under its pillow cover. The Exchange Lounge/Bar was just the place to be for pre-dinner drinks and great to see how they have retained some of the authenticity of its establishment and operation. Their Thai restaurant is also authentic - decor and food - with Thai chefs. However, would have been enhanced if waitpersons understood some basic Thai greetings. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of everywhere one might wish to go during the day - and the hotel security is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We only stopped here the one night prior to a safari so it wasn’t really a good test of the hotel but we could find nothing to fault. All staff very friendly although it was a little strange having security staff on each floor next to the stairs/lifts.

The only downside is where the hotel is located. We didn’t have chance to explore the area but on the drive in and out it looked a bit dodgy especially in the evening.

The evening meal was at the pool bar and I must say the best meal I had on the whole trip. The breakfast was good to and they obviously realised most people where away early so it was up and running before the allotted time.

All the staff very friendly, unusual for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Jovago.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.