We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

This was a great hotel for a short stopover in nairobi.The pool is great and the in room room service is really good too. We had a bit of a problem getting interconnecting rooms but when that was sorted out everything was fine! The staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    234
    59
    15
    13
See reviews for
71
169
66
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed in this hotel after our Masai Mara Reserve game experience - just for one night before flying out of Nairobi. The Stanley was chosen for its historical aspect. The hotel promotes and provides a complimentary historic hotel tour and we were delighted to discover that, although our flight was 3 hrs late out of the Mara Reserve, we could still enjoy this personalised tour at a time convenient to ourselves. The history and decor of the hotel is engaging; the rooms are large and extremely comfortable. And always pleased when hotels have pillow menus. However, disappointing to see mould in the bathroom and extra pillow delivered that was bloodstained under its pillow cover. The Exchange Lounge/Bar was just the place to be for pre-dinner drinks and great to see how they have retained some of the authenticity of its establishment and operation. Their Thai restaurant is also authentic - decor and food - with Thai chefs. However, would have been enhanced if waitpersons understood some basic Thai greetings. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of everywhere one might wish to go during the day - and the hotel security is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We only stopped here the one night prior to a safari so it wasn’t really a good test of the hotel but we could find nothing to fault. All staff very friendly although it was a little strange having security staff on each floor next to the stairs/lifts.

The only downside is where the hotel is located. We didn’t have chance to explore the area but on the drive in and out it looked a bit dodgy especially in the evening.

The evening meal was at the pool bar and I must say the best meal I had on the whole trip. The breakfast was good to and they obviously realised most people where away early so it was up and running before the allotted time.

All the staff very friendly, unusual for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

I Stayed in the Hotel for 2 weeks. The hotel Claims to be a 5 Star but i dont think it should be more than a 3 star. The Checkin procedure was a bit slow. I was given a room overlooking the main road. I and my collegue experienced that our room's Door Swipe Key Card would malfunction very often. Same goes for the Swipe Card used for the IN ROOM SAFE.

Once my room door did not open. I had to wait out of my room for 30 mins before the hotel decided to allot me a new room.

The Gym on the 5th Floor is good but a bit crowed during early mornings. However i injured my finger once and asked for first aid at the counter but to my horror, they had no idea where the first aid box was...

The swiming pool is very nice and heated. Perfect for the weather during that month.

All in all i had a resonably comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

A lovely hotel, an oasis of calm in a fascinating, very busy city. The hotel staff were all extremely helpful, especially the Concierge and his team.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Very comfortable hotel. We stayed here prior to a 6 day safari trip, and also from return from safari. We upgraded to a club room which we found very spaceous and comfortable indeed. Used room service for dinner on our first night and food was excellent and presented very nicely. Delivered to our room in 20minutes. Found all staff very courteous and friendly and a special mention to Boaz at concierge desk who was a very pleasant and helpful man. They even stored our luggage whilst we went on safari until our return. Breakfast is taken in the Thorn Tree Cafe and has a good selection of breakfast food. Meals in the pool deck are very nice as is the food at the Thorn Tree Cafe with coffee to die for. There are security guards on every floor who are very courteous and helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel prior to or following a safari.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have stayed here three times before ,and it has been just fantastic hospitality from all the staff every time nothing is to much bother they make it fell as if it is our second home .The food and service all round is excellent,we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.