We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A scent from the past?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Ramlose - North Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A scent from the past?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

The Stanley as it stands to day - no doubt it is different and renewed in all regards - i believe
that the atmosphere is still the same as it was back in the beginning of 20'th century.

I have stayed at the Stanley twice - both times after a week of safari in Masai Mara - it is a pleasure
to come here and relax after 6-7 hours driving on rough roads. Take a dip in the pool at the top of th hotel and have a massage before your sundowners at the terasse bar.
Centrally located and acceptable distance to Kenyatta International Airport.
The service is top grade in every aspect.

A classic hotel which has maintained the standards of an era long time gone ....

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    216
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
152
58
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We stayed at the Stanley twice - each time for one night.

On the first occasion, checkin took 45 minutes! The excuse was that the room "had to be prepared". This in spite of the fact that it was booked 10 months earlier! Then the bags took a further 1 hour to be brought to the room - in spite of us twice following up with the concierge.

On our second stay, checkin took 30 minutes, again because "the room is being prepared". Then, because we were leaving on a 7:30 am international flight next morning (requiring a 4:30am checkout), we decided on a quick snack in the1st. floor Exchange Bar. It took more than 35 minutes after ordering to produce 2 club sandwiches. I signed the bill, charging it to my room. A moment later the waitreass was back, objecting because the room was in two names (mine and my wife's). She wanted to know how two people with different names could share a room! Why should I have to explain to a waitress that my wife, for professional reasons, did not change her name when we married?

She carried on her morals campaign although I produced our passports, and I was in the act of getting out a copy of our marriage certificate before she relented. In over 40 years of international travel in over 50 countries, staying in many hundreds of hotels I have never been so insulted by hotel staff!

Other promises (wake up calls, early breakfast) made at checkin were not kept. At checkout, a staff member said he would investigate why and let us know. He disappeared and was never seen again.

My recommendation is - find somewhere else to stay in Nairobi!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

A quiet refuge from the hussle and bussle of Nairobi

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Really enjoyable weeklong stay at the Stanley. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Security of a very high level and indeed present on every floor. Serving a really good and varied breakfast in the Thorn tree restaurant and enjoyed an evening meal there too. Recommend the mango juice and especially the banana bread at breakfast. Could almost visit just for that!. Thai restaurant is worth a visit too. Health club is an added bonus for hotel guests to enjoy. Steve at the concierge desk is a master at his trade and will probably find you a needle in a haystack if requested.

Rooms are well equipped and service level of a high standard. Appears as though all rooms have double sliding windows, which does eliminate most sounds from the outside. Good city centre position and if travelling alone the service offered by the hotel to take guests to meeting venues and collecting them is a welcome service. Price for this service is very reasonable and reliable.

Just need to be aware that international landline call remain expensive in Nairobi

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stanley is situated in the heart of Nairobi, which is very convenient if you are travelling on business as I was. It’s a nice hotel with friendly service but not necessarily worth the money. The decor is nice but not amazing as the hotel would claim.
The rooms are of very good size and classic decor for this type of hotel. A nice touch was the bowl of fruit waiting on the table and tea and coffee facilities. I had a room looking out to the main street and the windows did not open. The bed was comfy, the bathroom clean. However I found 2 big bugs (possibly cockroaches), one climbing on the wall in the room and one hiding behind toiletries in the bathroom.
Be warned: you will not get a good night sleep here as the hotel is surrounded by clubs and the loud music will carry high to all floors late into the night.
The breakfast area is nice but basic and there is nothing left of the thorn tree that once famed this pavement cafe. As the name suggest this is situated right on the pavement with a small enclosure so pedestrians don’t necessarily see what you have on your plate, but none the less with the air pollution in Nairobi and the noise of the city, having your breakfast there is not the most calming experience. They serve food in this cafe at dinnertime as well with live band plying old time covers – gain creating more noise to drown out the hustle and bustle of the main street outside.
The Exchange Bar on the first floor is nice with colonial style and low lighting. Good for informal business discussion or a romantic chat before dinner at the next door Thai restaurant.
The hotel has a small open air swimming pool on the 5th floor, but due to its size it is more for dipping rather than any real swimming. It is surrounded by a poolside cafe which is frequented by the hotel guests and I didn’t feel comfortable swimming while all these fully clothed people had their lunch within meters of me.
There is a small health club, with massage treatments (price of Swedish massage was around 3000 Kenyan shilling).
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The taxi outside the hotel is overpriced and you will normally pay 20% less to what the price as quoted by the hotel is. The taxi drivers pay a cut to the hotel, so try to befriend a driver and negotiate a lower price with him by booking directly with the driver and not through the hotel.
There is a cash machine not far from the hotel and a range of small shops in the hotel itself.
For a great alternative try the Fairview Hotel – less the price and much better facilities and fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

I honestly think it would be very difficult to find a better hotel in Nairobi. The rooms are spacious, spotless and equipped with everything that you need during the stay. The hotel is located in the city centre, has got a pool, a gym, sauna and three restaurants (one of them serves Thai food - and good Thai food that is, which is not exactly very common in hotels...).
And most of all, the service is flawless.

All in all, a highly recommended choice especially for business travellers.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Had a fantastic stay at the Sarova Stanley before starting our Safari. This was our second stay here and it more than lived up to our first .Excellent service from very friendly and well trained staff nothing was to much bother we were made to fell like VIPs

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;