We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Comfortable and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We started our Kenya Safari with two nights in Nairobi. Our agent suggested the Stanley and her choice was very good. The hotel is large, the room was big and clean, the staff were very friendly. The area around the hotel is somewhat rough so we were advised not to walk around after dark and when we did visit a local store the guards offered to walk with us. There were only two small concerns - there was a lot of road noise (nothing the hotel can do) and the first morning when the room was cleaned, wash clothes and coffee were not replaced (small stuff). It is an historic hotel worth the visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    272
    64
    16
    13
See reviews for
77
199
76
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I was stranded by air travel disruption at Nairobi, Kenya. Thus, I was not in very good mood when I was transported from the airport to the hotel. I stayed there two nights. The stay was more than enough to turn my mood from the negative side to the positive side. The staffs there were very courteous and hospitable. The place was beautiful, filled with variety of old days memories. The room was clean and up to the standard. The security there was a bit tight, but it was also understandable in the light of the tragedy happened in that country last year. Thank you all at the hotel for making my stay there perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad to read that your stay at Sarova Stanley pleasantly transformed an inconvenience into an enriching and calming experience. We are delighted you took home pleasant memory from the experience.

We were glad to have hosted you and look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Beautiful old world charm. Hiccup on arrival as they couldn't find our booking but quickly rectified ( thankfully as the cab ride from the airport took two hours) . A truly beautiful place to stay and I wish we had stayed another night. The Exchange bar was probably the nicest I have been in - lots of leather and friendly staff. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were happy to have shared our heritage and refreshing hospitality, and since you mentioned the Exchange bar, I would also like to share with you that this venue is not only part of our history, it is also part of Nairobi heritage; it was in fact this bar the venue of the first Stock Exchange Market of the city and this is only one of the historical curiosities attached to this venue.

We are looking forward to hosting you again and share more snippets of the hotel history and heritage.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had a lovely two night stay at this hotel before we set off on Safari. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating.
One experience to share was that we put all our valuables in the room safe. Somehow we then managed to leave the safe open during the day. On our return a letter from the security staff told us of our indiscretion but much to our relief the maid had called security who then made everything safe and ensured on our return that all our items (money, tickets, credit cards and cash) were present and accounted for. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is not very inspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read about your experience with our safety measures and we thank you for appreciating the integrity of our team members. Your review has been shared with the team which was truly motivated by your comments.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I have traveled extensively in Kenya and this hotel is by far the best place I have stayed. Great customer service, wonderful food, relaxing ambiance, heated outdoor pool, and spa/gym area. An excellent value for the price. Very luxurious compared to how much you pay, especially compared to other hotels. The hotel is also in close walking proximity to a number of downtown Nairobi attractions. This place is definitely worth your stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were humbled by your kind words and thank you for pointing out some among our most outstanding areas and services; the team’s hospitality, food, relaxing ambiance, heated swimming pool and fitness facilities.

We appreciate your sentiments and we are looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived in Nairobi for a safari that was due to start the next day. We'd been booked into the Safari Park Hotel but our driver informed us of a last minute upgrade to downtown Nairobi at the Sarova Stanley. Looking at our surroundings I was somehow not convinced this would be an upgrade but we were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived and checked in. The staff was exceptionally nice and the concierge went above and beyond to help us find the kind of plug adaptor we needed, offering to go get it himself. He also tracked down the camera case my granddaughter left in the car we'd arrived in and we got it back that night. It is an historic hotel which we found very interesting. The beds and bedding were very comfortable, the room immaculate. My granddaughter loved the pool which was on the 5th floor and open to the outside! Breakfast the next morning was loaded with options and once again, very friendly service. We were totally charmed by this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your high rating.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley. We were glad to read about your feedback on our hospitality and heritage which has charmed you.

We look forward to welcoming you back at your next visit.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The Stanley would always be my first choice when visiting Nairobi. It is a charming hotel located right in the centre of town. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are nicely appointed, clean and comfortable. The rooftop pool is definitely one of the highlights. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Sarova Stanley.

I am delighted to read you were well taken care of and that we will always be your first choice in Nairobi. Your review has been shared with the team which was truly motivated by your comments.

It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to hosting you again in future.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.