We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I visited the hotel in the past to eat at but not for a stay which I did this time. Great and welcoming service from the minute you arrive. Very helpful staff. I was surprised when two hotel staff knocked at my door with a birthday cake and sang for me. Very nice touch. Rooms are very spacious and well maintained. Breakfast in the cafe on the street level is very sumptuous and offers a variety of food. Restaurant by the pool is ok, but nothing to write home about except for the excellent service. The Thai restaurant is really good. Excellent service all around and highly recommend for your Nairobi stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were humbled to have hosted you at Sarova Stanley on your birthday and we hope you enjoyed the cake. Thank you for pointing out some among our most outstanding areas and services; our welcome, spacious rooms, breakfast variety and Thai Chi dining experience. We appreciate your recommendation for all who wish to visit Nairobi.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    280
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
81
203
76
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Stanley again for the first time in a year or two and it's still excellent. The feel of the hotel is hard to beat with the wood panelling, pool area on the roof and the breakfast corner on the street under a thorn tree. The rooms are spacious and the service generally is very good. The wifi works well for the most part. Very convenient if you are having meetings in the city centre but traffic is always a challenge if you have to drive during peak times. Still one of Nairobi's best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to learn that this was your second stay with us while travelling on business.

Our history and heritage spanning over 111 years, is displayed by the fixtures, furniture and décor of the whole hotel. We were happy to have shared this piece of Nairobi’s history with you. We are also pleased to learn that our services were very good, WiFi was strong and stable and our location was convenient for your meetings in the city centre.

Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have been here several times and their service is top notch! The staff is amazing and very helpful :) The banqueting office was very helpful with what I was looking for. I cannot forget the rooftop poo, definitely a gem !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and for the high rating.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sarova Stanley and we are grateful for your comments on our Pool deck restaurant. Your sentiments on our team’s efforts have been shared to all as a source of motivation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've travelled to Nairobi quite a bit and tried all the mainstream hotels and for the first time stayed in a really memorable hotel.

I'll definitely go back to the Stanley due to the combination of the great service (a standout was waitron Everestus in the Thorn Tree eatery on the ground floor) and being in the thick of Nairobi's city life.

Food in general was great - the breakfast buffet was impressive.

The rooms are comfortable - everything works exactly as you'd expect it to.

The company I work for, along with a Kenyan bank, held a joint breakfast press conference on the hotel premises and it worked out really well, accommodating press/media personnel as well as the various stakeholders/dignitaries.

From the Stanley I was able to walk to meetings in the city and on the one occasion I needed to drive, the Stanley provided the most friendly, efficient driver (Eric).

The hotel is about 20 mins drive to/from the international airport during off-peak traffic.

Everything about the Stanley was easy and enjoyable.
The facilities meet one's needs.
Special mention must be made of the 1st floor bar/lounge area which is really peaceful, calm and comfortable - a great environment for discrete meetings.

I honestly can't think of a better Nairobi business hotel. The Stanley also seems to be well embraced by tourists judging from the organised tour groups I observed checking in/out and gathering for meals...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive a feedback.

The whole team thanks you for pointing out our "outstanding" standards of service throughout all the hotel. This is indeed our utmost reward.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Group of 12 stayed for one night before our next morning departure for Safari. Excellent location in heart of Nairobi with high security. Staff is very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are nice, neat and clean.

Breakfast was great and lots of variety and options. Checkout process was a bit lengthy and took some extra time then expected, we had 7 rooms perhaps that could be the reason.

Although slightly high on pocket but considering the limited options of high star hotels in Nairobi and being safety as a priority this is the best option

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your comments on our security measures which contributed in making you and your party feel very safe, the comments on the warmth and pleasant team, great breakfast variety and spacious guestrooms will also be shared with all the involved.

We have noted your remarks on the checkout process and we are thankful you understood the reasons.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed at Stanley's a few times when visiting Nairobi both privately and business. I have never been disappointed with the excellence, quality and service provided. It's probably one of the best choices you can make if staying in the heart of Nairobi with everything at your hand.
Great front terrace in the front direct to the busy streets and my best compliments to all the staff.
I can only recommend Sarova Stanley Hotel to anyone want a nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Best rooms are to the back with less noise, though front ones do not have much noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are extremely glad you found our hotel to be very consistent in the provision of excellent and professional service. Your words are of inspiration to all of us and stimulate us in keeping up the good work.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back during all your future visit so that the Sarova Stanley can become your “Home away from home”.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

As a Kenyan and a frequent traveler, i must say i was really impressed with this place. It has been a while since i left Kenya and having gone back and booked the hotel, i can say that i loved every single minute of it. Customer service was top notch, food was really good and its in central CBD of Nairobi-I can walk to any place i want.
Now let's talk about the breakfast-Someone please ship me the kenyan sausages-farmers choice as well as the mandazi....What a great treat to add to my daily breakfast. My room was cleaned everyday, the food was excellent.
I do agree with one of the reviewers-they need to sort out the billing issue-it is a mess and how they hold the money makes no sense. Also, avoid using the room phone. That line can cause serious bill spike.
Overall, i was thoroughly impressed with the customer service, security, friendliness and food of Sarova. This is my new place anytime i am back home in Kenya.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for rating us as top notch hotel.

We were glad that you had a memorable stay with us. Our hospitality and breakfast exceeded your expectation.

On the billing issue raised, we would like to have more details on your experience so assist us address the concern. Kindly reach us via email or telephone at your earliest opportunity.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Katungi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.