We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remains a Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Remains a Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Stanley again for the first time in a year or two and it's still excellent. The feel of the hotel is hard to beat with the wood panelling, pool area on the roof and the breakfast corner on the street under a thorn tree. The rooms are spacious and the service generally is very good. The wifi works well for the most part. Very convenient if you are having meetings in the city centre but traffic is always a challenge if you have to drive during peak times. Still one of Nairobi's best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to learn that this was your second stay with us while travelling on business.

Our history and heritage spanning over 111 years, is displayed by the fixtures, furniture and décor of the whole hotel. We were happy to have shared this piece of Nairobi’s history with you. We are also pleased to learn that our services were very good, WiFi was strong and stable and our location was convenient for your meetings in the city centre.

Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    255
    61
    16
    13
See reviews for
75
190
72
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have been here several times and their service is top notch! The staff is amazing and very helpful :) The banqueting office was very helpful with what I was looking for. I cannot forget the rooftop poo, definitely a gem !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and for the high rating.

We appreciate your loyalty to Sarova Stanley and we are grateful for your comments on our Pool deck restaurant. Your sentiments on our team’s efforts have been shared to all as a source of motivation.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

I've travelled to Nairobi quite a bit and tried all the mainstream hotels and for the first time stayed in a really memorable hotel.

I'll definitely go back to the Stanley due to the combination of the great service (a standout was waitron Everestus in the Thorn Tree eatery on the ground floor) and being in the thick of Nairobi's city life.

Food in general was great - the breakfast buffet was impressive.

The rooms are comfortable - everything works exactly as you'd expect it to.

The company I work for, along with a Kenyan bank, held a joint breakfast press conference on the hotel premises and it worked out really well, accommodating press/media personnel as well as the various stakeholders/dignitaries.

From the Stanley I was able to walk to meetings in the city and on the one occasion I needed to drive, the Stanley provided the most friendly, efficient driver (Eric).

The hotel is about 20 mins drive to/from the international airport during off-peak traffic.

Everything about the Stanley was easy and enjoyable.
The facilities meet one's needs.
Special mention must be made of the 1st floor bar/lounge area which is really peaceful, calm and comfortable - a great environment for discrete meetings.

I honestly can't think of a better Nairobi business hotel. The Stanley also seems to be well embraced by tourists judging from the organised tour groups I observed checking in/out and gathering for meals...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive a feedback.

The whole team thanks you for pointing out our "outstanding" standards of service throughout all the hotel. This is indeed our utmost reward.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Group of 12 stayed for one night before our next morning departure for Safari. Excellent location in heart of Nairobi with high security. Staff is very pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are nice, neat and clean.

Breakfast was great and lots of variety and options. Checkout process was a bit lengthy and took some extra time then expected, we had 7 rooms perhaps that could be the reason.

Although slightly high on pocket but considering the limited options of high star hotels in Nairobi and being safety as a priority this is the best option

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your comments on our security measures which contributed in making you and your party feel very safe, the comments on the warmth and pleasant team, great breakfast variety and spacious guestrooms will also be shared with all the involved.

We have noted your remarks on the checkout process and we are thankful you understood the reasons.

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have stayed at Stanley's a few times when visiting Nairobi both privately and business. I have never been disappointed with the excellence, quality and service provided. It's probably one of the best choices you can make if staying in the heart of Nairobi with everything at your hand.
Great front terrace in the front direct to the busy streets and my best compliments to all the staff.
I can only recommend Sarova Stanley Hotel to anyone want a nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi.

Room Tip: Best rooms are to the back with less noise, though front ones do not have much noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are extremely glad you found our hotel to be very consistent in the provision of excellent and professional service. Your words are of inspiration to all of us and stimulate us in keeping up the good work.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back during all your future visit so that the Sarova Stanley can become your “Home away from home”.

Warm regards,
Paolo Marro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

As a Kenyan and a frequent traveler, i must say i was really impressed with this place. It has been a while since i left Kenya and having gone back and booked the hotel, i can say that i loved every single minute of it. Customer service was top notch, food was really good and its in central CBD of Nairobi-I can walk to any place i want.
Now let's talk about the breakfast-Someone please ship me the kenyan sausages-farmers choice as well as the mandazi....What a great treat to add to my daily breakfast. My room was cleaned everyday, the food was excellent.
I do agree with one of the reviewers-they need to sort out the billing issue-it is a mess and how they hold the money makes no sense. Also, avoid using the room phone. That line can cause serious bill spike.
Overall, i was thoroughly impressed with the customer service, security, friendliness and food of Sarova. This is my new place anytime i am back home in Kenya.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for rating us as top notch hotel.

We were glad that you had a memorable stay with us. Our hospitality and breakfast exceeded your expectation.

On the billing issue raised, we would like to have more details on your experience so assist us address the concern. Kindly reach us via email or telephone at your earliest opportunity.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
Ben Katungi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I liked this hotel, and I thought it was a good value for a business class hotel. The staff is very professional, and they were very welcoming to a large group of guests traveling on business. Security is a serious business at the Stanley (or the New Stanley as locals refer to it.) My room was a comfortable retreat, and room service was prompt. The hotel has a lot of history, and it's especially reflected in its comfortable bar and lounge that easily brings one back to another time. The breakfast was very nice and had some surprises (mimosa on Saturday, roast duck another day). The lunch buffet was very good, and far superior to a comparable hotel that I dined at. Unfortunately, I did not have hot water for a few days, and the a la carte menu was not the same quality as the buffet breakfasts and luncheons. This will be my first choice for a business class hotel in the concrete jungle of Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback.

During your stay with us, we are glad that Sarova Stanley was good value for a business traveler. Our team was professional and welcoming, the room was comfortable and the dining experience was superior. We are always happy to share in our history and heritage.

We have noted the areas in which we regrettably did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback has been share to the entire team to address the concerns raised.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
Ben Katungi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.