We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“renovated and modernised but has not lost its charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meilen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“renovated and modernised but has not lost its charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After many years I visited The Stanley again. Was looking for the thorn tree in the courtyard restaurant. Its gone but replaced with boards which is a good idea. Good news is that a new thorn tree is planted and doing ok. The courtyard restaurant where the thorn tree was is no longer open to the road because of security. The hotel has obviously been renovated and modernised but the old tradition as there and one can feel history in these walls. Lobby decorated with old photographs that tell a lot about Kenya's past. The bar is great and ideal meeting point. Try it at tea time or for a cocktail. Room nice, quiet. Staff very friendly, smiley and out to please in the hotel. Security on every floor. My short stay was a "going down memory lane" and truly enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben K, Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review and high rating.

We appreciate your feedback and for visiting us again after many years. The Thorn Tree restaurant remains a historical monument in the city of Nairobi as the first post office. We hope you left your note on the board.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Warm regards,
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    253
    61
    16
    13
See reviews for
75
188
72
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Visiting this hotel make sure you are not in a room facing the main road - there is a disco across the street and the bass boom keeps on going until the early hours (3 am on my visit). Otherwise this is a hospitable hotel, very much in the old, European style. There are guards on each floor and security was most definitely not an issue. The restaurant is fine and the breakfast was excellent. Would stay there again just not on the same side.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side adjacent to the main road - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are encouraged by the kind words on our hospitality that met your expectations.

We appreciate our location and its challenges. We shall continue to work together with our neighbours to ensure guest comfort.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

During 18 days in Keyna I stayed at 5 x Sarova hotels. All are unique in their style but have consistent staff commitment and efficiency. Had a wonderful stay at this hotel: Arrived at 2.00am and was still able to get something to eat in the restaurant. Very 'Colonial' in style, traditional and sumptuous. Excellent rooftop pool. EVERY member of staff exuded genuine professionalism and excellent customer interaction and service. Thank-you to everyone!

Room Tip: It's a city centre hotel so if you're a light sleeper pack the earplugs! Rooms themselves ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback.

For your 18 days safari and for patronizing 5 Sarova properties, we say ‘Asante Sana’ – Thank you in English. We appreciate the high rating, sharing the picture of your room, comment on our menu and ambience at the Pool deck restaurant.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I really enjoyed my time at the Sarova Stanley. The staff were excellent, the rooms grand and clean, the food really nice. For a hotel of such great history maintaining such great services says a lot about their status as one of the finest in Africa.

It was a pleasure spending a week at the hotel though the policies on guests after 11:00 PM is very irritating.

Room Tip: If you enjoy hanging out with friends then you need to check with hotel policies for Visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that the hotel provided a good location and excellent service in your week-long stay with us.

Allow me to explain the visitors policy of the hotel. This policy is a guideline to safeguard the well being of our guests by ensuring their visitors are recognized and registered by the hotel. As you enjoy your stay in Nairobi, kindly let the hotel know in advance any changes in your booking details and we shall amend them immediately.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to your return visit.


Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

the hotel is very convenient located downtown within walking distance from many businesses and headquarters, however more and more businesses are moving out of downtown area...
staff is very helpful all around the hotel and security is tight... hotel staff advice is not to leave hotel at night walkig around unattended by one staff member...
check security warnings before moving around...

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you. We are proud of being in a great location accessible to many offices as you have mentioned. A few business are moving out of town, equally many great businesses are coming into town. We are happy that our staff, especially our security team, were helpful. Like many other cities in the world, we always put our customer security as a priority, not for negative reasons but as a precaution. The advise provided by the team was in check of the same.

We hope to host you again in your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It is extremely rare for us to book 5 star hotels, we normally feel more comfortable down the scale a bit, however we discovered The Stanley through a safari booking where we were not given a choice and just booked in for a couple of nights before going on safari. We have since stayed again for a second time and enjoyed it as much as the first. It is a beautiful reception and you can imagine how glamorous it must have been to be there when it was first built...off the lobby is the fantastic Thorn Tree Café...a must, and a shopping area. The rooms are very large and spacious, the decoration is a little tired, but not enough to bother us, and the room was clean with everything you could need. The rest of the hotel is charming, large wooden staircases, old photographs and lovely furnishings.
One of my favourite parts is the rooftop pool, its huge! plenty of seating/sun beds, a nice changing area and a bar. We really enjoyed spending time there.
Finally the staff were lovely, I really wish I could remember names because they deserved to be mentioned...as we looked at the pictures a female member of staff joined us and started to explain what we were looking at giving us a potted history, she was just finishing her shift so we left the hotel together, her going home, us for a wander she very kindly offered to show us a few of the sights...it was so lovely just having her for company and giving us an insight into life in this city, her kindness was reflected in many of the other staff we came into contact with. WE would absolutely stay at The Stanley again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front, there was a little noise from the street but unless you are a ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for the high rating.

From your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed the five star experience, twice during your visit to Kenya on safari. From the glamour of the hotel lobby to the charm from the wooden fittings and pictures, we are encouraged that your experience of our heritage and history was worthwhile and memorable.

We looks forward to welcoming you back to a even greater experience.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Everyone I dealt with- from the hotel taxi driver who picked me to the one who dropped me off at the airport- was friendly and helpful, made me feel at home. The rooms are spacious, neat, clean and not as noisy as one would expect from such a central location. Supermarkets, banks and restaurants are only a short walk away. The a la carte service in the restaurants could have been quicker, but restaurant staff were flexible even indulged me when I went off-menu one evening. The wi-fi in my room was intermittent, but the staff at the business centre promptly tried to resolve it and offered helpful tips. Overall, highly recommended if you're in central Nairobi for business.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted by your great comment on your experience at Sarova Stanley. We also appreciate the comments on our spacious and well kept guest rooms and the convenient location of the hotel to necessary services.

We have noted about the speed of service and intermittent nature of the wireless internet access. We promise to look into this to ensure high quality and consistent service.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.


Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.