We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised by the Sarova Stanley, Nairobi and Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised by the Sarova Stanley, Nairobi and Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I was put up in the "The Stanley" while in Kenya for work for 7 days. Initially getting into Kenya at night through Jomo Kenyatta Airport, I thought oh dear, I have gone back in time...
But little did I realises that this olde feeling place would be more than enchanting. Its 3rd world in its own way. I never really felt unsafe at any time in Kenya and especially in the Stanley. I even walked the streets of bustling Nairobi without even an look in my direction, would not dare try that in any of the cites back home in South Africa…
The Stanley is an old hotel and not modern made to look antique, which adds to its charm. The hotel was clean the aircon worked great (Nairobi is much warmer than Johannesburg so it was a plus) and the room spacious with good fittings. The living area had a mini lounge/ dining area, desk, a separate loo and wash area, mini bar and a LCD TV. The bedroom has a double doors which separated the living space from the bedroom. Here again the room was spacious clean and had another LCD TV mounted on the wall. The Safe was digital for added security. The bathroom was a full spacious bathroom with a tub shower and granite finishes, once again very clean, there was even a note to tell me not to drink the tap water, but there was plenty of commentary bottle water so no problem there…

I really liked the Stanley, however the only complaint I would have is the pizza served in the hotel restaurant was rather tasteless. The ice cold Tusker awesome though. Will definitely stay in this hotel again on my leisure trip when I visit East Africa again for leisure on route to go check out Mombasa, DAR and Zanzibar…

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review from your last stay with us in May last year.

We are happy that our heritage was enchanting and you felt very safe in and outside the hotel. Our room amenities air condition, good interior fittings, digital safe, working desk, wash area, minibar and LCD TV met your expectation.

Our chef appreciated the candid feedback on the pizza served and has retrained the team on tasty pizza production. We hope that in your next visit, you shall give us your feedback on the same.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    242
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
72
171
68
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel is centrally located and very close to market place as well. It has airport pick up and drop fascilities. Around the hotel there are lot of shops, restaurents, money chhanfger banks. The hotel has good restaurent with Indian food as well.

Room Tip: Good all over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that the hotel offered you a convenient location to shops, restaurants and exchange bureaus that made your hotel experience wholesome. Our central location met your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Had heard a lot about their authentic flavours but sadly I think they should be renamed as the most unauthentic Thai restaurant in East Africa. The restaurant seems to lack knowledge of even basic ingredients used in Thai cuisine.

All in all an extremely bad gastronomic experience which leaves a large dent in ones wallet too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on the Thai Chi cuisine.

We would regret that the meal experience fell below expectation. This is a very unique comment that have taken time to understand and evaluate with tangible action plans. We would like to assure you that our ingredients are authentic from Thailand and our master chefs are also from Thailand.

During your return visit to Nairobi, kindly contact me directly so that we discuss this over dinner. We remain committed to offering you authentic Thai Cuisine at the Thai Chi Restaurant.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Sarova Stanley in November 2013 outbound after taking part in a three week Kenya Regiment Reunion. My Aunt who had returned home after being away 46 years wanted to spend a night in the "New Stanley" - had attended dances and drank coffee in the Thorn Tree Café during her youth but had never had the opportunity to stay at the hotel. It was all she had thought it would be - superb hospitality nothing was too much for the staff - the rooms were excellent - the level of service can be ranked superior to other hotels we have stayed at during our overseas travels. We hope to go back to Kenya in a couple of years and we will certainly be staying there again - the champagne breakfast on a Saturday morning comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you particularly chose us, to fulfill you Aunt's wish to stay with us. Thank you for giving us another opportunity to recreate the memories of her youth; dancing and drinking coffee at the Thorn Tree Cafe.

For your heartfelt recommendations on the level of service, excellent rooms and a superb team, we say thank you. We are glad the champagne breakfast was a great experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more amazing stays during your future reunions.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service.from the service at the entrance to the restaurant Excellent food at Thai chi restaurant at sarova Stanley ... what great service from Alex the waiter! However the costs are a bit high.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We were happy to have hosted you at our authentic Thai cuisine restaurant - Thai Chi Restaurant. We appreciate the special mention of one of our team members who exceeded your expectation in the restaurant service. Your comment has been shared with the larger team as a motivation in their service to guests.

At Thai Chi, we have positioned ourselves in line with other fine dining establishments within Kenya and the pricing reflects the same. All the same, please do contact me directly on your next visit and I will be more than happy to discuss this further with yourself over a glass of wine.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I was overwhelmed by the friendly service staff who offered me and my family the wonderful service i had ever received. The staff were friendly and could foresee what we wanted next before we could ask for an order.
Kudos service staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for rating our hotel and service as five star. It was our pleasure to host you and your family in February. We are also overwhelmed by your kind comments on the team's hospitality and look forward your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Originally checked into room 233. View of a 5 story wall. Yuk. Long story short transferred to 7th floor. Great room with a view and above the city noise. The staff of this hotel were the best feature although the rooms were excellent also. It is right downtown. Would go back again anytime. Note: I would recommend upper floor rooms. Beds are a little on the hard side.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your review.

We are glad that we were able to meet your need for a room with a view of the city above the city's buzz. We appreciate the kind words on our room comfort, team's customer service and the convenient location.

The hotel is in the process of soft refurbishment of our rooms; this includes changing to softer mattresses. We hope that in your next visit you shall feel the difference and give us your feedback.

Looking forward to hosting you.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.