We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best hotel service we've ever experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Possibly the best hotel service we've ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We loved our stay at the Sarova Stanley. All the staff were very polite and friendly from the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the moment we left. I'd be very surprised if Nairobi has a hotel that can deliver any better than what they do at Sarova Stanley. We were there during the terrorist attack on the Westgate Mall and the staff made sure we are always safe. Internet through the building was extremely handy as we were there on business. The only small let down for me was that the spa was not mixed but overall I would still give this hotel a rating of 5 because they truly deserve it We were sad to go has we had built some friendships with many of the staff over our 10 day stay. This hotel will definitely be our first choice of hotels when we return to Nairobi later this year.

Thank you for making our first trip in Nairobi such a great experience!

Matthew & Donniece

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear MatthewandDonniece,

Thank you for your review during your last stay with us in September last year.

We are glad that you rated Sarova Stanley as five star hotel and summarized your experience as the best hotel service ever experienced. It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you for making our hotel your first choice in Nairobi.

The whole team appreciates your comments and for sharing our awards on this media.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    227
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
70
163
61
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Juba
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed at the Sarova Stanley for an extended period. A very nice room on the 5th floor with excellent internet, bed and amenities. Am always very pleased when I find a desk so that I can use my laptop and also that there were power points available also to plug the laptop in (small detail, but welcome when it is there). Good stocked room bar and fridge.

The hotel is very elegant with a nice ambience and so forth, but what sets this hotel aside from many others for me was the staff, from the people greeting you outside the hotel, the reception staff, the people manning the business centre, the bar, the floor guards. Top notch, very lovely people and very service minded also.
The breakfast at the Stanley is also very very good, almost too many choices and everything on offer, fresh fresh. Pancakes, waffles and omelets made to order and as an extra bonus the same made to order service for the morning fruit platter. How good is that... And the salmon and champagne offer on xmas and NY was very wonderful also.

The Stanley is in the middle of town on Kenyatta Avenue which makes it possible to walk to Moi Avenue nearby for some shopping without having to use a taxi.

I had the feeling of being extremely well looked after and that made my stay most enjoyable.

What was bad then? Hmm, well, hmm, nothing really spring to mind. Maybe that a cappuccino costed 500 KSH (for me, a cappuccino lover, the bill can quickly go astronomical :-)

There was a machine also for squeezing the juice out of fresh cut sugarcane - lovely.

I felt very much at home at the Stanley. Now I have a fixed place in Nairobi too for the next trip.

Room Tip: Maybe a high floor to allow a great view out over Nairobi. The pool is located on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at the hotel.

We are humbled to have hosted you during the festive period on your extended stay in Nairobi. We are also glad that the hotel amenities were excellent and the service friendly yet professional. Your breakfast experience was extensive, fresh and good, while the location was convenient for shopping. It was our pleasure to host you. We have noted the issue of pricing for our action.

We look forward to welcoming you home again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sarova Stanley is a hotel of luxury taken to the next level with a Victorian façade and spoils to the details. Everyone is very friendly. From the moment of check in, getting to the room with personalized welcome letter from the manager and towels fold with art mastery, the dining experience at Thorn tree with Alice and Mary in waiting. The exchange bar is indeed a cozy place to replaced and catch up the moments. Not to forget the delicious salmon. Well done chef. You breakfast spread is just amazing.
Steve the head concierge is just amazing. He connects with all the souls easily and remembered my needs one year later. Isn’t this amazing?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear LetterFromDiani,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley. Thank you for sharing your special moments with us in pictures and the special mentions of our team members who surpassed your expectations.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is an old hotel in the centre of Nairobi close to where the business district used to be (until most of it moved to Upper Hill or Westlands). Its charm arises partly from its long history (the pictures on the wall show the "New Stanley" being built in the early 1900s). But more importantly the charm comes from the people who work there. In my experience (and I have stayed there many times over the years) the customer is made to feel as if they really care, with a genuine looking smile and a welcome in every part from the reception, restaurants, housekeeping, security and concierge.

Of course, the staff are paid and trained to behave in this way (and why should they actually care) but in the Stanley, this training is paying off.

The facilities are not really up to scratch. The restaurants are limited, the rooms are tired (and the electric plugs have always had a tendency to flash and stop working in a somewhat alarming manner) and the wardrobe is far too small if one is staying more than one night (and I was alone). But for me, none of this really matters, since the hotel as a whole gives me a sense of well being and relaxation that all the tiny failings fade into insignificance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review during your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you found our team charming and facilities up to scratch . Our team is greatly motivated by your kind words.

We have noted the concern raised on the rooms, electrical plugs and the size of the wardrobe for our action to improve.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Wonderful old colonial hotel in the centre of Nairobi. Felt like you were stepping back in time to a period of old world charm. The staff were exceptional as was the breakfast spread. Took and age just to choose. The rooms were very spacious with a mini bar and tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We love this aspect and it happened most of the way in Africa. USA wake up and provide same. Cable TV seemed extensive tho we hardly ever bother with it. Security was very evident and welcome. They were friendly and sensitive which was welcome. We felt safe even tho Nairobi is not particularly safe, tho if you use common sense you will be fine. The Exchange bar is a great way to finish the day and have a malt or two or a double G&T if you have daughters along. Would I stay again? you bet.

Room Tip: Any one is a goodie
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and the picture.

We were happy to share our history with you during your recent stay with us. We are also glad that our team customer service was exceptional. We have noted the comments on our spacious guestrooms, in-room tea-making facilities and the Exchange Bar experience.

For more updates, kindly follow us and be our fan.

Warm regards
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai--
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed at the Sarova Stanley in December 2013 for 9 days
A very classic hotel with a history. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the modern needed amenities.
The Thai speciality restaurant is worth a mention for its genuine thai cuisine. Delicious...
The staff are super efficient and courteous.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mumbaidee,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during the festive period for 9 days and sending a review of the stay on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that we surpassed your expectation by your five star rating of Sarova Stanley. In particular, you have mentioned our well preserved heritage, guestroom comfort, authentic Thai cuisine in Thai Chi restaurant and our team efficiencies.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I arrived at the hotel after my 30 day camping safari across Africa and was amazed by the service and beautiful architecture. The hotel staff were very accommodating and helpful. The room itself was very spacious and the bath was large enough for me to lie down in (I am 5'10"). The bed was very comfortable, resulting in me falling asleep very quickly. I would recommend getting a massage at their spa centre as they are reasonably priced and very relaxing.

I was unfortunate enough to arrive in Nairobi three days after the terrorist attack in the mall. Being a solo female traveller I was quite anxious about this part of my trip when I got news however the hotel's security was fantastic with metal detectors and security guards everywhere. Not once in the hotel did I feel unsafe.

The only complaint that I have, is that the water didn't really have a cold setting. This is a VERY small issue, but I was feeling quite dehydrated and dizzy when I arrived so I was hoping for a cold shower to feel better and it was quite warm.

I was lucky enough to get a very good deal on my tickets so the price for me is much lower than what it is now, so value wise it was great. Keep an eye out for good deals if you are planning to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Ms. Chloe-breanne,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience through pictures.

We appreciate your comments on our preserved heritage through the hotel's architecture. We have also noted your appreciation of our team's customer service efforts, room size, comfort of the bed, massage services and our secure location.

On the concern raised on cold water settings, we have resolved this and on your next stay you will be able to have a cold shower.

We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.