We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Nice hotel, central to everything. We were met on time by the airport shuttle in the middle of the night. Driver was helpful with recommendations for our first visit to Nairobi, same with all the staff. Very friendly service. Great buffet breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Alanna D from Australia,

Thank you for your feedback, it was our pleasure to host you.

From your review, we have noted that our location was central to all you needs. We appreciate the special mention of our driver who met you at the airport as helpful. The same with all our team members whom you interacted with. We are glad that you rates breakfast as great.

We look forward to hosting you all again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    280
    69
    17
    14
See reviews for
81
203
76
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from 25th Dec to 31st Dec. The rooms were immaculately clean,beds very comfortable, heated swimming pool, very good security and excellent buffet breakfast. I would recommend this hotel for both leisure and business travellers

Room Tip: The rooms facing Kenyatta Avenue give you a great view of Nairobi's skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear AshmanSA,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that you chose to stay with us during the festive period. Thank you for the kind remarks on our housekeeping efforts, comfortable beds, heated swimming pool and excellent buffet breakfast. We are glad that you have recommended us to all guests who will be reading your review.

We are happy the room gave you a great view of the city worth mentioning.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had business meetings there and loved the service. They really made me feel at home and enjoyed my whole day there. The food was a bit average but their service was able to hide that all together. This hotel is old butstill nice and locate in the middle of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear ThuleN,

We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for hosting the business meeting in our convenient location in the middle of town. We are glad that it felt like home albeit the food being average. Our Chef has noted the comment for his immediate action. It was our pleasure to host you in our heritage hotel.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel arranged an airport pick up. I was met in an old but comfortable Mercedes, and importantly in Nairobi, a cold towel and a bottle of water. The welcome at the hotel was warm. The hotel is in a great location in town, within walking distance of a few sights if you have time between meetings. The rooms are great for a comfortable stay and the work station is ideal. When you have a spare moment, the pool set up is great as is the gym facility. The almost in house shopping strip is ideal to buy a gift for the loved ones back home - as I did. I only stayed overnight, but I'd gladly return when I visit Nairobi again. I enjoyed the restaurant for dinner and was pleasantly surprised that it was open for breakfast at 5am so that I could have breakfast before I left for the airport. The only negative. The check out process was a bit slow at 05:30, but that was really it. Oh, and there was no separate shower. Only one of those showers inside the bathtub which I don't enjoy.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Brent B,

Thank you for your review.

We were happy to have hosted you during your overnight stay, as you traveled on business. Our location made it convenient for you to see the sights and sounds of Nairobi. We are glad that the room was comfortable, the work station enabled you to work, the restaurant dinner was enjoyable and early opening of the restaurant ensure you didn't miss your breakfast.

We apologize for the slow check-out process. It is not our norm, however, we have put measures in place to ensure non-occurrence of the same in the future. In order to provide comfort and space in the rooms, our bathrooms are built with both tub and shower in the same place. On your next visit, try our suites which have a separate bathtub and shower.

On again thank you for your review and we await your return in 2014.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This historic hotel has a wonderful character that other 'business' hotels lack. Each time we have stayed we found our rooms always clean. The service very attentive (excellent) and there is security on each floor with free wifi in the rooms. The drawback is the location. There was a time downtown Nairobi was the place to be but no longer. Now downtown Nairobi is congested, ugly, blighted and not safe at night. I recognize that the hotel can't change it's location but it could do much better with the mediocre breakfast buffet (a $30 charge). Summary: In Nairobi I have stayed at “The Boma” (very nice but sterile 4.5 stars) and “The Sankara” 5 stars (the best hotel in Nairobi) if you can deal with the location and breakfast the Sarova Stanley is a good hotel, often available a very good price for Nairobi. Caveat: Take with a grain of salt the reviews of websites like 'Agoda' (they rated the Sarova Stanley as #1 in Nairobi) Commercial booking websites serve themselves first and will overrate a hotel just to get you to book. Over the years I found that you can trust “TripAdvisor” before any other site (trust the reviews from reviewers that have over a dozen postings) … just a side note.

Room Tip: Consider the Club room over the deluxe room ... a worthwhile step up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear fdoamerica,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that our history and heritage give our hotel character; not found elsewhere in Nairobi. It was our pleasure to share this history with you. As mentioned in your review, our service and team were attentive and excellent.

As a hotel built in 1902, the city of Nairobi has grown and expanded around us with increase in business and developments. The central business district is the major hub of business and hosts many people during both the day and night. We are a convenient location for all who wish to conduct business in Nairobi. We are not blind to the fact that increase in business also attracts some negative characters, as a hotel, we endeavor to advise all our guests on how to ensure safety.

Thank you for adding your voice on this site for Sarova Stanley. Such candid reviews cannot go unnoticed.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights after completing a 40 day overlanding trip through southern and eastern Africa. The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are modest but still very good. The most outstanding thing is the service we received from the staff - very helpful and polite. Restaurants are very good, especially the Thai restaurant and the bars are a good place to chill out (although the drinks are quite expensive!). Wifi was very slow in our room - but no biggie it was very fast in the general areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Prash87,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We were humbled to have hosted you during your stay in Nairobi. We truly appreciate the accolades given to our team as the most outstanding part of your experience. We have also noted the Thai restaurant and all the bars met your expectation as good places to chill out.

On the WiFi speed, the hotel continually invests in new technology to meet the needs of our guests and we are sure you will notice the difference on your next visit.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Africa.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Was there 2nd week of December. Forgot my laptop at reception upon checkout. Realised four hours later at airport...panicked! Called the hotel concierge Steve promised to look into it. Receive call within minutes, laptop found can I describe it? voila! Thanks to management and great security, customer service team.
Kept in safe custody till my return from Tanzania two days later.
What is not to love about this hotel?
Awesome!

Room Tip: Avoid anything facing the main road - tip for every city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Ebonymoto,

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We as a team of Sarova Stanley, strive to meet and exceed guest expectation by being true to ourselves and to our customers. This is one of the work tenets that we hold very dearly.

Looking forward to hosting you in 2014 with renewed expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.