We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My New Hotel In Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My New Hotel In Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Tried it first time after being disappointed in another International brand. The experience was really good. The hotel has rich heritage and history. The rooms whilst small are very elegant and the team in general very switched on. I enjoyed the Thai restaurant and the terrace restaurant for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear BudowTravels:

Thank you for your review.

We are happy that our hotel is now your preferred hotel in Nairobi. This was after your first stay with us. We were very excited to have shared our history with you, the team ensured that you have a memorable stay and the dining options exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    260
    62
    16
    14
See reviews for
76
194
73
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I only had one night here, but the experience was fabulous. We were a small group and arrived late to the hotel. The front desk was very quick in getting our group checked in and on to our rooms, which was very much appreciated after long travel hours. Each floor had it's own attendant/security guard, which was always very pleasant with greetings and retrieving the elevator when needed. The room was beautiful with dark wood and very spacious. We had a room with 2 twin beds. Although the beds were rather hard for our liking, they were still cozy. The next morning our group checked out early and staff were waiting for us in the lobby. They attended to us individually and I didn't even have to approach the front desk to complete the check out process. We had the buffet breakfast before we left and it was delicious with many choices, including omelet and pancake and waffle stations. The attentiveness and hospitality of the staff was excellent which made our quick stay perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear scorpqueen,

Greetings from Nairobi. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure to host you.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that your experience was fabulous. From the quick group check-in, attentive and friendly security presence on the guest room floors to the spacious rooms, breakfast choice and variety and check-out process.

We have also taken note that the beds were too hard for your liking for our corrective action.

We were humbled to have hosted you and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was bit reticent regarding my trip to Kenya due to uncertainty of getting a safe accommodation. But the great services and warm hospitality available at Sarova Stanley fulfilled my expectation of having a secured accommodation. From the moment I got in contact with the pickup cab driver of the hotel at the airport till the check out time, I had a great experience with their exceptional 5-star services.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Saloni,

Thank you for your review.

We are very happy that you confirmed the great services and warm hospitality provided at the hotel, which fulfilled your expectation of having a secured accommodation at our hotel. It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel, offering truly refreshing African hospitality that you rated 5-star.

We look forward to hosting you again with higher expectations.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Whenever am in Nairobi, I ensure i have a meal here. The food is good. Had both lunch and dinner here and it is well done. Food doesn't delay that much like in most hotels.

It is found in the middle of town and after shopping, one can just walk in. The ambiance at the hotel is perfect for one to relax.

The customer service is equally good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for taking time to post a review of experience with us.

As outlined in your feedback, our convenient location, relaxing ambiance, food variety and speed of service keeps you coming back. We are glad to be at your service.

Once again thank you for your continued patronage in our restaurants.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Have stayed in the Stanley 4 times during the past 3 months and I have enjoyed every stay tremendously. Will again stay there next week and I am already looking forward to the trip. Love to relax at the Exchange Bar, in the evening after a long days work in Nairobi, and just appreciate the professionalism, smiles and total commitment of 2 of the guys there – Thanks to Sammy and Robert for their great work! You 2 make my day a complete success even though every day has it’s challenges. Looking forward to see you the next time.

Room Tip: I am a smoker so the 5th floor is perfect for me, but in case you are not a smoker, choose any other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Tribis,

It was our pleasure to host you. Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the special mention of our team members, who have made your stay more memorable and relaxing. We are glad to be considered as a hotel of choice whenever you are in the city and we hope that your future stays will be fulfilling and successful.

Welcome back.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Attentive services.House keeping is top of the note.
Excellent location, right in the center of CBD
Old fashion hotel but in a good stage of maintenance.
Delicious breakfast menu.
Highly recommended to anyone who stopover in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear RachelChee,

Thank you for the feedback of your last stay with us.

Our attentive service, excellent location and delicious breakfast made it worthwhile your visit. We appreciate your recommendation to all who will be stopping over in Nairobi.

We hope to host you again in the near future. Kindly follow us on Twitter and be our fan on Facebook to get updates on all our hotel stories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Have been staying at the Stanley for over 20 years. Service is wonderful and they really look out for their guests to ensure their safety - Nairobi is not safe to walk around and they will advise you and organise safe transport for wherever you are going - you can rest assured that you will be safe when staying there. Since their latest renovation a few years ago the rooms and restaurant and very modern, also very clean. Very good food in the legendary meeting place, the Thorn Tree restaurant, and even a Thai restaurant on site now. Nice pool for sunny days, we also really enjoy eating up at the pool. Breakfast is amazing, cooked to order omelettes, pretty much whatever you want. Nice gym and massages available too. They are very efficient at organizing airport pickups and drop offs for people going to / from safari.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Belgian Traveller,

Thank you for your review.

We are humbled by your continued support throughout the 20 years of your patronage. We appreciate the way you have walked with us, encouraged and corrected us through time. It is because of your encouragement, that our doors have remained open.

We are very happy to hear that our security efforts, modern rooms, restaurants and food variety, breakfast, pool, gym and massage continue to meet your expectation. On the efficiency of airport transfers and safaris, we have have shared this comment with our concierge team to keep up the good work.

Looking forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.