We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Excellent Hotel in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel through internet.The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi. The hotel building is old but it is very well maintained. The building is a clasique British style with a lot of high quality wood in its interior. The hotel staffs are helpful and friendly. The room is very clean and well equipped. The breakfast was well served with variety of food choices. We checked out very early at 5 AM to catch our flight. The hotel prepared us a take away breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear HDI2013,

Thank you for your review.

We have noted your kind comments on our convenient location, our landmark heritage, the team, in-room service and breakfast.

We appreciate your booking via the internet and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    215
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
151
57
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Like last time, my check in was swift, data on the printed sheet all in order and in no time I was on the 7th floor and ushered into my room by a Brand Ambassador, Sarova's name for their guest relations staff, who are so much more than just that by the way - they truly are ambassadors for their employers.
A quick check that everything was working, desk set up with laptop open and connected to a socket nearby - no struggle finding any here - the free internet catching instantly and then I was on my way to the first meeting, walking as the Stanley is right in the centre of the CBD and rather than taking a cab, a brisk walk is a better solution, healthier too. Security in Nairobi was visible and not once did a walk invoke that feeling of having to look over my shoulder, a great improvement compared to several years ago. I had most of my meals at the Stanley, a perfectly cooked medium steak at the pool terrace restaurant, fish and chicken dishes at the Thorn Tree and a delicious supper at the Thai restaurant which I remember from my old Nairobi days as the 'Tate Room' ... service was swift on all occasions, breakfast included where empty plates were promptly cleared making space for more of their pastry goodies to find their way through my mouth into my stomach.
For housekeeping too full marks, they replenished creamer and sweetener by the fistful, on my request as I work much of the night when I have to file my articles and asking for the towels to be kept and the bed only made but the sheets not changed too was done as requested.
With a history of over 111 years now under the belt, the Stanley remains a favourite and while admittedly the bathrooms are on the small side they lack nothing in terms of equipment or toiletries. The biggest bonus however is the staff, who offer hearty greetings to familiar faces and as observed, to new ones too, even if it is clear that THAT particular group of tourists was only staying for the night on arrival before heading out on safari. They, like myself, were all accorded 'most valued guest' status. A big thank you to the entire staff, they are a true asset to the Sarova Stanley Hotel. Looking forward to a return way earlier than another year and a half.

Room Tip: See to it that you get a room on the upper floors, a superior room at least and of course, nothing b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your previous stay with us.

From the swift check-in, being ushered to the room, complimentary internet access, perfectly cooked meals at both Thorn Tree and Pool deck restaurants and in-room service; you have rated us highly. We have shared your review with the entire team to motivate us to continually improve to surpass our guest expectation.

We look forward to hosting you again and in case of future reservations, do not hesitate to contact us.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Grand Old Lady of Nairobi! I enjoyed the old world charm and the friendly service. The security was uppermost in my mind (as a solo traveler and so soon after the terrorist attack at Westgate Mall), and the Stanley did not disappoint me! Friendly, professional security officers screening at the door and officers placed strategically yet unobtrusively within the building. The room was large, comfortable and clean with all the amenities you would expect in a hotel of this caliber. Oh, and a scrumptious meal or 2 at the Thorn Tree Cafe has to be on every travelers list! The Prawn Salad was simply delicious!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments as you experienced the culture and heritage preserved in the hotel. The professional and friendly security measures put in place met your expectation. Thank you also, for endorsing the Thorn Tree cafe to be a place to visit for every travelers list, especially for Prawn Salad.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here 1night, before heading to the Masai Mara. It's a very nice and calm and chique hotel to come to when you've just landed in Nairobi. It took away a lot of the plane fatigue and the stress of Nairobi city. The pool is very nice (even at night) and the rooms were very fancy. The beds were super soft, just what we needed after a 10hour flight!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Louis,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarova Stanley.

We are pleased that you found it a serene oasis in the midst of the hustle and bustle of the city
.
Please patron with us again, we would be delighted to host you.

Warm regards

David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I was booked into the Stanly to speak at a conference. Travelling alone and female I was nervous about visiting Nairobi but the staff at the Stanley were all so welcoming and friendly they soon put me at ease. Their security staff were very chatty and with one on each floor I felt very secure in the hotel. The conference facilities, bar and restaurants were great and again it was the friendliness of the staff that made it special. It was my birthday and the hotel put flowers and a piece of cake in my room with the birthday message. That made my day. Then I inadvertently gave a US 50 note in a tip and the room service waiter returned to advise me of what he thought was a mistake. Such honesty. I needed that note for a national park tour later. Great hotel well located.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view mine overlooked a dinghy inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Jillhenry,

Greetings from Nairobi,

I hope my response finds you in good health and take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Sarova Stanley as your preferred hospitality partner while in Nairobi.

Following your evaluation, it is notable that the overall service extended by the hotel staff was friendly, personalized and most important the room service waiter displayed integrity which is one of our core operational values.

We value our guests and endeavor not to miss out on celebrating any special events with them therefore appreciate you letting us know that your birthday surprise made your day a little more special despite being a long way from home.

We hope that you patron with us again and on request we will indeed allocate “a room with a view”

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a nice comfortable colonial hotel downtown in Nairobi. We had two nights here before and after a tour. It is a long way in from the airport. The food in the Lounge Bar was good, the rooms were quiet and double glazed and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Breakfast was what you would expect from this chain.

I suppose the guards and security are inevitable, but it did not detract from the visit to a great extent.

If I were to return to Nairobi, I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Anecessaryevil,

Greetings from Sarova Stanley.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel.

We appreciate you rating our amenities and services favorably and do indeed hope to host you again should you return to Nairobi. Sarova Stanley prides itself with the colonial era heritage allowing our guests to experience a mix of classic Victorian elegance and contemporary modern-day amenities.

The hotel is located 18Kms from the airport however, the journey may appear long should you commute on traffic peak hours.

Finally, allow me to thank you for taking note of the security detail deployed at the hotel. Guest safety is a paramount consideration at Sarova Stanley.

We hope that you patron with us again.
.
Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was in Kenya with friends for a safari and we booked a night at the Sarova after our safari and before taking off for Naivasha for the weekend music festival. That night was wonderful and exactly what we needed after a week out in the savanna. Though downtown Nairobi is just as chaotic and stressful, the inside of the hotel was a haven. The Sarova is pretty decadent and the facilities very luxurious. Though it's a historic institution, the gym was very new, as was the exercise room, where a friend and I were able to grab mats and do some yoga. The outdoor pool is cute and a great place to lounge and have a drink.
I need to give special praise to the breakfast buffet, which was one of the best I have had. The selection was great and the fresh fruit was abundant -- though a bit over the top since a person is there to cut it for you on demand.
The staff in the lobby was extremely nice and helpful to get us a taxi etc.
One hitch we had was that a friend I was traveling with was a US citizen and grad student who was in Kenya for her research. She was staying in a different city and only brought a copy of her passport with her on the safari. She was not able to check into the hotel without the original passport. It took several conversations even with the manager and they still were not able to let her check in, despite showing all her other forms of ID. In the end, she had to swap rooms with a friend who was staying at a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were humbled to have hosted you before and after your safari, offering a haven in the hustle and bustle of the city.

On the hitch mentioned, we understand and regret the inconvenience caused to you and your friend in particular. In line with government regulation, original identification documents are the only valid and acceptable credentials in hotels.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.