We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old world charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights while on my way to visit the worlds biggest refugee camp in Northern Kenya. Although this hotel has been around for about 100 years, it has constantly been updated and renovated, so even though it retains it's old world charm, it is thoroughly modern in the level of service, facilities and furnishings. Great restaurants and bar. Only complaint is that as is common in East Africa, the internet was very slow and spotty.

Room Tip: stayed in a corner room with more windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Prehensile,

Old World Charm indeed - thank you for your review.

Our history and heritage spanning our 100 years is our greatest treasure. We were glad to have shared the story of Sarova Stanley with you - the structure, the people and the emotions.

On our internet access, we regret the inconvenience caused. We have an ongoing planned maintenance schedules that assist us identify the flaws and as we continue to invest in solutions to remove the flaws. We know that during your next stay, the internet will have improved speeds and it will be more stable.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    216
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
152
58
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It deserves the star rating, basic rooms are spacious, clean and generally up together. Outdoor heated pool was bliss and can enjoy evening drink on the terrace before dining elsewhere or later on a drink in the Exchange bar. Staff are very friendly. Food is excellent (Thai restaurant is perhaps a little pricey and whilst the service is great, the food doesn't quite do it justice, but I am being a little picky here).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that your guest experience from the spacious rooms, outdoor heated pool, dining experience and staff friendliness exceeded your expectation and you rated us five star. We have noted your comments on Thai Chi restaurant and we shall re-look into our pricing and food offering.

We hope to host you again in your next business trip to Nairobi.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley en-route to safari in the Mara, the security was great given incidents with the west gate bombings we felt completely safe, our room was very comfortable from the beds the robes to the bathrooms all was perfect a truly 5 star hotel and experience.

the breakfast was also very lavish we had our fill sitting on the outside patio, the only thing i thing i would say needs improvement is the taxes imposed on the food bills which are not included on the menu in the rooms.

We had drinks at the bar on the 1st floor which also very nice and relaxing, the staff are well trained and friendly enough.

Would definitely stay there again and again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Gee K,

Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us en-route to the Mara. Our rooms and in-room amenities exceeded your expectation, offering you a truly 5 star hotel experience. You noted our breakfast as lavish and the drinks at the bar as relaxing.

We understand your concern on not having the taxes included in the menus. We assure you, that we are re-looking into this issue to improve in our customer service.

We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a great hotel, it has wonderful facilities like a lovely pool area with a heated pool and a gym with spa area where you can sit in the sauna or steamroom. It also has great restuarants and bar. I felt very safe at the hotel as there is a lot of security, there is a security guard on each floor and security checks are done when you enter the building. This hotel is in the CBD and it is safe enough to walk around in the day time, if you stay within a block or two of the hotel. But what I loved the most about this hotel is the friendly and helpful staff. Not many people leave a hotel and remember the staff names, but I do, Obed and Samuel who cleaned our rooms and Boaz the very helpful concierge. I would definately recommend this hotel to people who are planning on visiting Nairobi....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on floors 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear whatilikedabout u,

Thank you for posting your review.

We appreciate your 5 star rating; mentioning our wonderful facilities like the gym, swimming pool, great restaurants and bar. Our security efforts made you feel safe while in the hotel and location was convenient for all your requirements. The special mentions have been shared with the whole team as a source of motivation and inspiration.

Once again, thank you for your review and for recommending the hotel to people planning to visit Nairobi.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here prior to our safari holiday.
We chose this hotel as it had an airport shuttle transfer (additional cost) and with the Westgate Mall incident we wanted to make sure we didn't take any cost shortcuts. We needn't have worried as everything was fine.
The hotel was nice and comfortable. The staff friendly. Beds comfy. Shower amazing.
The food at the roof bar was very nice (exceeded my expectation).
Breakfast in the morning was good.....nothing too fancy but we were able to sit outside which was nice.

Overall a very good hotel and would stay again.

We didn't venture outside of the hotel so can't comment on its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you prior to your safari holiday. Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback.

We appreciate your consideration due to our airport transfer service. You have rates our hotel as good and comfortable, food at the Pool deck restaurant and breakfast from the Thorn Tree restaurant exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We chose to upgrade our hotel choice after the latest terrorist attack in Nairobi. This hotel is beautiful and charming. It's a lovely old building with fabulous rooms, a good restaurant and nice pool. Great location to go for a short safe walk in the heart of the city. They were kind enough to let us hang out and store our luggage while we waited around for our late flight home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Shirley R,

Thank you for your review.

We were humbled to be considered as a safe haven when you upgraded your hotel choice during the recent hostile situation in the Westlands area. We are also happy to read that our hotel's age-old structure, charming ambiance, restaurant choice, swimming pool and location exceeded your expectation. We have shared your sentiments with the team as a motivational tool.

We look forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The room was nice, quiet and clean. The hotel facilities seemed to be nice. Especially the staff was very friendly all the time. The area around the hotel seemed to be safe during daytime.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dueber,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your great review.

Feedback from our guests mean a great deal to the whole team. We only wish you could have stayed longer. However, we are delighted that you will be returning soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.