We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Nairobi !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Nairobi !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. The room was nice, quiet and clean. The hotel facilities seemed to be nice. Especially the staff was very friendly all the time. The area around the hotel seemed to be safe during daytime.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Dueber,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your great review.

Feedback from our guests mean a great deal to the whole team. We only wish you could have stayed longer. However, we are delighted that you will be returning soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    213
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
151
57
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howick, null, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A hotel well deserved of it's 5 stars, service was above and beyond what we expected, the staff just couldn't do enough for us, we felt extremely safe and very well looked after, each time we asked for assistance they were not only helpful but were HAPPY to help. The room was excellent, although they had issues with the air con at the time and were happy to move us to another room, of which ended up as an upgrade, we were most happy!, the hotel is very clean and vey well maintained, the food was excellent and the breakfast catered for all nationalities. One word of warning, if it happens to have been raining or still raining, make sure you allow several hours to get to the airport for your flight, the traffic wardens do not work in the rain and the traffic is absolute chaos!! (of course that has nothing to do with the Hotel apart from distance to the airport, in normal traffic conditions it's about half an hour travel), we would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Away from elevators and higher up to reduce road noise (earplugs work wonders though).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Michele S,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us feedback of your last stay with us.

We really appreciate your very kind words - A hotel well deserved of it's 5 stars - it is very humbling and are glad we created these memories. The ambience of the room, the food and breakfast to be specific and our housekeeping efforts exceeded your expectations and you rated them as excellent. On the air condition issue raised, we regret the inconvenience, however, it was rectified on the same day.

We hope that your travel plans will bring you back to Sarova Stanley in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The reception is excellent , very polite members of staff, you get all the information you need.
The rooms are very clean and well furnished.I dont want to single any staff because all the staff i interracted with them are very cooperative and assisted me in a great way.

The lovcation of the hotel is very at the heart of Nairobi and one can walk easily sampling the city.I was very impressed by the facility.

Room Tip: I will recommend the facility to all the travellers willing to spend some time in Nairobi.All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hillary K,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Sarova Stanley.

Our customers are paramount to us and we are heartened by your kind comments regarding the reception team and the service you received from them. We are also pleased that the convenient location made it easy for you to walk and sample the city. Thank you for your recommendation.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very well kept old colonial hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Excellent staff (managed a nice cake surprise for my wife's birthday). Room spacious and very well appointed, nice idea to include in the TV channel guide what channels at what time show children's programming. Bathroom will equipped. Breakfast with smoked salmon and free bubbly truly 5 star quality. Free internet country specific wonky, moving larger files impossible, but general email check works. I cannot say anything about the environs, as we arrived after dark and were strongly discouraged from leaving the hotel. Also not sure if the amount of security was Westgate related, but we had a guard on every floor. Despite security concerns, the sleep quality was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear caipirina,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your taking time to give us feedback on your last stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. Indeed, it is our main aim is to exceed our guests expectations and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our goal in terms of our excellent staff, spacious rooms, listing of children programming, bathroom amenities, breakfast of salmon and bubbly and the birthday surprise.

As always, we have passed on your lovely words to the team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

An outstanding stay from start to finish. Yes it's a little pricey but for the level or service and Luxury it's worth it. We stayed on the 1st night of our honeymoon and have re-booked for a further night when we return from safari. Massages were very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was outstanding from start to finish as we hosted you twice; during your honeymoon and after. We appreciate your kind comments on our value for money on the luxury offered, massage and breakfast choices.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

All the staff were incredibly polite, courteous, very nice and friendly.
Answered all our questions, offered service we did not even think about!
The Thai restaurant in the hotel is a MUST!! our server Elisabeth was simply the best!
Edgar at the room service was so pleasant and nice! went out of his way to ensure our satisfaction!
Room service made sure everything was more than asked for!!

the only downfall is the traffic and high pollution due to bad exhaust standard of the city.
But the hotel is truly amazing!
highly recommend and would return anytime!

Thank you all Stanley staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your last stay with us.

We appreciate the pictures that you have shared with us. They confirm your pleasant experience at the hotel. We also wish to appreciate your special mentions on our team members, Elisabeth and Edgar, who went out of their way to ensure you have a memorable meal experience.

On the traffic and pollution in the city, we understand your concern. However, just like any other busy town, we are working to manage the our challenges.

Once again, we appreciate your comment as a truly amazing hotel. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had chosen Sarova Stanley over other international chain of hotels, wherein I usually stay and I am quite happy to say that my decision was right.

Right from airport pick-up and check-in to check-out, my stay was smooth as silk. In first week of September, I was there for whole week from Monday to Saturday. Room given to me was quite comfortable and well appointed in all aspects including shower area.

Sarova Stanley is highly recommended being central location and convenient with super market and CBD nearby. It’s one of the oldest, but very well maintained hotel with rich history.

I am vegetarian and didn’t have much expectation but was surprised with good veg spread in breakfast and that also with changing menu every day.

I found the entire staff quite courteous, helpful and co-operative. Of course, everything starts from top management and I would like to especially mention and appreciate Mr. David Gachuru (GM), with whom I had wide ranging discussion and gained lot of information.

I will be coming back soon and would like to stay on same floor again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to have been selected out of the other hotels in the city. Your experience from the airport, check-in, your stay and check-out was smooth as silk. Thank you for the mentioning on your vegetarian preference that exceeded your expectation. I am glad to have met you, we did have a pleasant discussion and shared the hotel's history with you.

We look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Charming, Luxur...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#39 of 96 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.