We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reception and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“reception and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The reception is excellent , very polite members of staff, you get all the information you need.
The rooms are very clean and well furnished.I dont want to single any staff because all the staff i interracted with them are very cooperative and assisted me in a great way.

The lovcation of the hotel is very at the heart of Nairobi and one can walk easily sampling the city.I was very impressed by the facility.

Room Tip: I will recommend the facility to all the travellers willing to spend some time in Nairobi.All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Hillary K,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Sarova Stanley.

Our customers are paramount to us and we are heartened by your kind comments regarding the reception team and the service you received from them. We are also pleased that the convenient location made it easy for you to walk and sample the city. Thank you for your recommendation.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    254
    61
    16
    13
See reviews for
75
189
72
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very well kept old colonial hotel in the heart of Nairobi. Excellent staff (managed a nice cake surprise for my wife's birthday). Room spacious and very well appointed, nice idea to include in the TV channel guide what channels at what time show children's programming. Bathroom will equipped. Breakfast with smoked salmon and free bubbly truly 5 star quality. Free internet country specific wonky, moving larger files impossible, but general email check works. I cannot say anything about the environs, as we arrived after dark and were strongly discouraged from leaving the hotel. Also not sure if the amount of security was Westgate related, but we had a guard on every floor. Despite security concerns, the sleep quality was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear caipirina,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your taking time to give us feedback on your last stay with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all the smaller details we take pride in offering our guests. Indeed, it is our main aim is to exceed our guests expectations and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our goal in terms of our excellent staff, spacious rooms, listing of children programming, bathroom amenities, breakfast of salmon and bubbly and the birthday surprise.

As always, we have passed on your lovely words to the team who take so much pride in ensuring that all of our guests only receive the very best in service.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

An outstanding stay from start to finish. Yes it's a little pricey but for the level or service and Luxury it's worth it. We stayed on the 1st night of our honeymoon and have re-booked for a further night when we return from safari. Massages were very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your stay was outstanding from start to finish as we hosted you twice; during your honeymoon and after. We appreciate your kind comments on our value for money on the luxury offered, massage and breakfast choices.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

All the staff were incredibly polite, courteous, very nice and friendly.
Answered all our questions, offered service we did not even think about!
The Thai restaurant in the hotel is a MUST!! our server Elisabeth was simply the best!
Edgar at the room service was so pleasant and nice! went out of his way to ensure our satisfaction!
Room service made sure everything was more than asked for!!

the only downfall is the traffic and high pollution due to bad exhaust standard of the city.
But the hotel is truly amazing!
highly recommend and would return anytime!

Thank you all Stanley staff!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your last stay with us.

We appreciate the pictures that you have shared with us. They confirm your pleasant experience at the hotel. We also wish to appreciate your special mentions on our team members, Elisabeth and Edgar, who went out of their way to ensure you have a memorable meal experience.

On the traffic and pollution in the city, we understand your concern. However, just like any other busy town, we are working to manage the our challenges.

Once again, we appreciate your comment as a truly amazing hotel. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had chosen Sarova Stanley over other international chain of hotels, wherein I usually stay and I am quite happy to say that my decision was right.

Right from airport pick-up and check-in to check-out, my stay was smooth as silk. In first week of September, I was there for whole week from Monday to Saturday. Room given to me was quite comfortable and well appointed in all aspects including shower area.

Sarova Stanley is highly recommended being central location and convenient with super market and CBD nearby. It’s one of the oldest, but very well maintained hotel with rich history.

I am vegetarian and didn’t have much expectation but was surprised with good veg spread in breakfast and that also with changing menu every day.

I found the entire staff quite courteous, helpful and co-operative. Of course, everything starts from top management and I would like to especially mention and appreciate Mr. David Gachuru (GM), with whom I had wide ranging discussion and gained lot of information.

I will be coming back soon and would like to stay on same floor again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to have been selected out of the other hotels in the city. Your experience from the airport, check-in, your stay and check-out was smooth as silk. Thank you for the mentioning on your vegetarian preference that exceeded your expectation. I am glad to have met you, we did have a pleasant discussion and shared the hotel's history with you.

We look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Well, staying in downtown Nairobi is not necessarily the obvious choice for holiday makers, but in terms of convenience for an early morning dash to the airport it is pretty good. There are now many modern hotels in the outskirts of Nairobi, but the Stanley certainly has its merits. To start with it is still a very comfortable, well-run hotel with good service. Then, it has history on its side, with being in this place for a long time - and the touch of class that comes with it. The first floor bar is unbeatable with the views onto the hustle and bustle of downtown from very comfortable armchairs, and the Thai restaurant is a somewhat unexpected but nice touch (reviewed separately). So, if you are looking for a convenient city hotel for business or for an overnight with an early departure to the airport (before traffic gets clogged up) it is definitely a good choice !

Room Tip: The higher the better, but the windows are well insulated for noise, and all rooms are air-condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Mr. VolkerHuls,

We would like to thank you for your review.

Thank you for your comments on a comfortable, well-run hotel with good service, unbeatable bar with view of the city on the 1st floor and the Thai restaurant. Also we appreciate your recommendation to all wishing to stay in the city because of our convenient location.

We appreciate your feedback and room tips. looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel was better than expected. We were treated like royalty , felt extremely safe with security at the doors and on every floor. The food was delicious, rooms cleaned thoroughly every day, and the staff were extremely nice. It's located in the heart of Nairobi, so the perfect location for shopping. The only downfall to being in the center of the city is the travel time to remote areas like safaris & visiting the Masaii. The city traffic is extremely busy and you can sit for 1-2 hours only moving a kilometre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear kimstreep,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are proud to be a safe haven in Nairobi's central business district. Our location was also convenient for your shopping requirements. We were happy to host you are royalty.

Being the in the city centre, the town has grown around us attracting various business and leisure activities. This is one of the reasons, the city is busy. However, we proudly stand in the middle of it as a secure and calm location.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.