We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good hotel, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I liked this hotel, especially the friendly attitude of the staff. I got a warm smile and welcome greeting from Ivy at the check in desk and again at the bar that evening.
One of the hotel drivers (Ben) even returned some change to me via the helpful concierge desk as I only had 1000 shilling notes. Very good service.
It's an old hotel in central Nairobi with colonial charm. My room was large and comfy. The shower was a bit dated but all was fine.
Breakfast was good. The fifth floor swimming pool/ restaurant looked nice, though I didn't use either.
I recommend the first floor bar.
All in all a good hotel - and much better value than some of the other large chains in Nairobi. Other hotels could learn from this one about the difference a friendly welcome on arrival makes after a draining long haul flight.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Sarova Stanley hotel. We appreciate and value your feedback.

We thank you for making a special mention on the warm, friendly and efficient staff. We take pride in them. Sarova Stanley also prides itself with its rich historical heritage. The bar on the 1st floor is especially fascinating as it once served as the site of Nairobi’s first stock exchange.

Please visit the 5th floor facilities on your next visit. The pool is heated and the restaurant offers a relaxing open air atmosphere .

Thank you again for your review, we hope that you will stay with us again should you return to Nairobi.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    272
    64
    16
    13
See reviews for
77
199
76
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sarova Stanley before and after our safari. The reservations were made by an online booking site. Shortly after making the reservations, I contacted the hotel by email to ask about making arrangements for airport pick up and drop off. I received an immediate response and confirmation of the transportation. The airport pick up and drop off went smoothly. The rooms were clean and spacious and the food was delicious. The slippers and robe came in handy and the free internet access is a plus. We were very impressed by the staff. Every person greeted us with a smile and were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel and will be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear pugmum,

Greetings from Sarova Stanley.

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Kenya with your family. I hope you had a pleasant safari.

Thank you for taking note of our responsive and friendly service. The hotels staff is indeed one our most valued element.

We appreciate your wonderful review on our property and are pleased that the rooms, food and amenities offered in the hotel met your expectations.

Your commendation is highly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a couple nights here in July during a business trip.

It's a friendly, clean hotel in a great downtown NBO location.

Service is good, rooms are clean, and overall amenities are good too.

Will came this my local NBO hotel going forward i think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

We were happy to have hosted you in July during your business trip to Nairobi. Thank you for your comments on our housekeeping efforts, convenient location of the hotel and in-room amenities.

Above all, we appreciate to be your preferred choice of hotel while in Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of my better if not the best experience with hotels is with Sarova Stanley. an excellent hotel with a history. spacious rooms, good food , friendly staff along with the fact that it is situated bang in the middle of city center makes it a unanimous choice for me. expensive yes and a full value for money an unforgettable experience worth spending some bucks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that one of your best experience was at Sarova Stanley. Our history, room space, food, team, location made us an excellent choice for your visit to Nairobi and value for money.

Once again thank you and looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for long business trip and Savora Stanley hotel made my trip very enjoyable. Would certainly recommend, if you are just flying before staring your safari or staying for three week, food is excellent and the Thai restuarant is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were glad to have hosted you during your long business trip to Nairobi and getting such comments confirms what other guests have said about our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our excellent Thai food.

Looking forward to hosting you again and to hosting all the guests you shall recommend to.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very neat hotel with a long history in Nairobi – the Exchange Bar above the lobby actually being the first stock exchange in the country.

Breakfast can be expensive if you don’t get the breakfast option included, but provided decent options. The rooms themselves are very spacious and very well maintained by the attentive staff; security seems very good, with guards on every level in the evening and a metal scanner and guards at the front lobby area.

The location is also very good, close to the Mara Market and numerous downtown attractions; there is also a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away. There is an international ATM across the street as well – hotel staff will gladly accompany you to withdraw cash if you require.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate feedback from our guests. Sarova Stanley continues to make history since 1902 and we were glad to have shared the Exchange Bar history with you. Thank you for your comments on the size of our rooms, our team members attentiveness, convenient location and the courtesy by the team.

On our breakfast option, we understand your sentiments on the pricing. We have taken time to meet the tastes and preferences of all our guests during breakfast. This is why we have such a spread of options to choose from. We pride ourselves in being very competitively priced as compared to other restaurants in vicinity.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our Kenya sojourn started from the Sarova Stanley . We landed in Kenya and stayed here for a night here before the safari started. Would strongly recommend this hotel to all. Well maintained hotel with an old world charm ! We loved the place, very well trained staff who helped us with a our reservation at The Carnivore and the transport. If we do come back to Kenya would love to stay here!
Thumbs up Sarova Satnley!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Atjazz,

Greetings from Nairobi.

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review.

Sarova Stanley prides itself with its rich Victorian grandeur history and we are pleased that you enjoyed this experience.

We appreciate you making a special mention on the level of service from our staff and hope to host you again in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 128 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 128 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.