We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Business Hotel in downtown Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Mauritius
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Pleasant Business Hotel in downtown Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent a couple nights here in July during a business trip.

It's a friendly, clean hotel in a great downtown NBO location.

Service is good, rooms are clean, and overall amenities are good too.

Will came this my local NBO hotel going forward i think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

We were happy to have hosted you in July during your business trip to Nairobi. Thank you for your comments on our housekeeping efforts, convenient location of the hotel and in-room amenities.

Above all, we appreciate to be your preferred choice of hotel while in Nairobi. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    238
    59
    16
    13
See reviews for
72
169
65
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

One of my better if not the best experience with hotels is with Sarova Stanley. an excellent hotel with a history. spacious rooms, good food , friendly staff along with the fact that it is situated bang in the middle of city center makes it a unanimous choice for me. expensive yes and a full value for money an unforgettable experience worth spending some bucks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that one of your best experience was at Sarova Stanley. Our history, room space, food, team, location made us an excellent choice for your visit to Nairobi and value for money.

Once again thank you and looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for long business trip and Savora Stanley hotel made my trip very enjoyable. Would certainly recommend, if you are just flying before staring your safari or staying for three week, food is excellent and the Thai restuarant is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We were glad to have hosted you during your long business trip to Nairobi and getting such comments confirms what other guests have said about our hotel. Thank you for your comments on our excellent Thai food.

Looking forward to hosting you again and to hosting all the guests you shall recommend to.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very neat hotel with a long history in Nairobi – the Exchange Bar above the lobby actually being the first stock exchange in the country.

Breakfast can be expensive if you don’t get the breakfast option included, but provided decent options. The rooms themselves are very spacious and very well maintained by the attentive staff; security seems very good, with guards on every level in the evening and a metal scanner and guards at the front lobby area.

The location is also very good, close to the Mara Market and numerous downtown attractions; there is also a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away. There is an international ATM across the street as well – hotel staff will gladly accompany you to withdraw cash if you require.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate feedback from our guests. Sarova Stanley continues to make history since 1902 and we were glad to have shared the Exchange Bar history with you. Thank you for your comments on the size of our rooms, our team members attentiveness, convenient location and the courtesy by the team.

On our breakfast option, we understand your sentiments on the pricing. We have taken time to meet the tastes and preferences of all our guests during breakfast. This is why we have such a spread of options to choose from. We pride ourselves in being very competitively priced as compared to other restaurants in vicinity.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our Kenya sojourn started from the Sarova Stanley . We landed in Kenya and stayed here for a night here before the safari started. Would strongly recommend this hotel to all. Well maintained hotel with an old world charm ! We loved the place, very well trained staff who helped us with a our reservation at The Carnivore and the transport. If we do come back to Kenya would love to stay here!
Thumbs up Sarova Satnley!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Atjazz,

Greetings from Nairobi.

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review.

Sarova Stanley prides itself with its rich Victorian grandeur history and we are pleased that you enjoyed this experience.

We appreciate you making a special mention on the level of service from our staff and hope to host you again in future.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Awesome for our business event. Great service and hospitality. We stayed from Sunday 1 September to 4 September. The Sarova is highly recommended being central and convenient. Clients found it easily and we were able to host the entire event at the hotel ensuring a memorable experience. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Gavin O.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sarova Stanley is conveniently located in Nairobi’s city center which is the hub of all business therefore ideal for business events.

I am pleased to learn that you and your clients had a memorable experience with us and highly appreciate your commendation.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sarova Stanley for a night before going on Safari. It is a beautiful hotel with very pleasant staff. the room was very clean and the staff very obliging. We ate in the pool restaurant which was great. We were served by Eric who was very good, and very attentive. He was extremely pleasant and gave my grand daughter mint tea because she had an upset tummy. My grand daughter does not travel well but was looked after extremely well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Nairobi. The hotel is kept in the mode it was built in many years ago. The food was really good and we enjoyed our stay.
Thank you to all at the Stanley Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Carole P,

Thank you for your review.

We were glad to host you and your family before going on Safari in August. We have noted that the ambiance of the hotel, team members and cleanliness of the room surpassed your expectation. Thank you for the special mention of our team member, whose customer service was remarkable in the way he recommended mint tea to your daughter for her tummy ache. We shall encourage the team to do even better.

Once again, thank you for your recommendation of the hotel to all traveling to Nairobi as a preferred hotel with great food and memorable stays.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.