We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, with some services challenges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient, with some services challenges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights for a conference in July. The staff was exceptionally friendly and very attentive. Since most of my meals were buffet style it is hard to comment on the individual service, but the food was good all days. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and well kept. The gym is small but very nice with free weights and machines (elliptical, running, bike). We had no security issues at all. One domolaint was the lack of flexibility. We arrived fur hours before official check in and they noted they had rooms for us to take. After giving us the key they told us we would be charged and additional 75% for the extra hours. When we Declined they took the room keys back and made us wait. This seemed very poor judgment given we were staying there for six nights AND it was clear the rooms we free.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Tillman B,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy that you liked the buffet dishes, the room and the team's friendliness and attentiveness.

We have noted the concern on inflexibility of our check-in and check-out time. Allow us to explain; we raise an early arrival fee to guarantee that the room will be ready before our official check-in time. In turn, this guarantee gives our team enough time to prepare for guest arrival. This policy has been communicated to our customers and partners. Unfortunately, this concern was not properly communicated and it affected you. We have since addressed this issue with the team.

Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    262
    63
    16
    14
See reviews for
76
194
74
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Over 400 nights in Nairobi hotels in past 20 years. Thought I would give the formerly New Stanley a try. I arrived just before midnight for a one night stay. The place is spotless. Everywhere! I asked what time check out was and they said 10:00 a.m. I requested a few extra hours and was immediately denied and advised ANYTHING past 10:00 and I would be charged 75% of the daily rate. In the morning (after sleeping on the hardest mattress ever) I requested again thinking maybe it was an ornery night clerk. Boy was I wrong. That is our policy and that is it. Well, my policy is not to stay at such rigid hotels. Nairobi is EZ. Either the Norfolk or the Serena. Both outstanding and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you your review.

We are very excited that you chose to stay at Sarova Stanley on one of the 400 nights you are in Nairobi. We appreciate your candid comment and comparison with other hotels in the city.

Thank you for your kind comments on our housekeeping efforts.

We have noted the issue of inflexibility in our system with regards to late check-out. It is unfortunate that we did not take time to understand your need and therefore we did not address it adequately. We have gone through this comment with the team to ensure our communication is sincere and beneficial to our guest need. We have noted your comment on our mattress.

We look forward to hosting you again to experience a renewed team.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff really try to make you feel welcome. The rooms are quite nice and very clean. The location is both good and bad - at the centre of Nairobi - which also means the traffic jams can be really bad getting in and out. The swimming pool is heated and really quite nice. If breakfast is not included in your room price it is $30 per person. This seems very pricey to me given that main courses for dinner cost around $12 at the same restaurant. For people used to continental European breakfasts there isn't much selection of cheese or anything like that. Internet is very slow and patchy but free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear moominoid,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your kind comments on our team welcome, the guest rooms, location in Nairobi's central business district and swimming pool. We have also noted the price of breakfast for continental breakfast lovers and the internet connectivity.

Once again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Service is bad, staff is everywhere and looks helpful but is utterly inefficient. Checking in took over 20mins, Internet didn't work in my room, so I had to move. Breakfast is lousy at best. Food is overpriced. Check out time is 10am, after your key doesn't work. They did extend to 12 noon after I complained, though.
I'll avoid this hotel next time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Pablo,

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.

We have noted the areas of concern raised for our action to rectify. Kindly give us more information on breakfast so that we can take an appropriate action. The hotel's check-out time is 10am, that is why your key didn't work after 10am. Upon availability, the hotel allows for late check-out on request.

You may reach us on thestanley@sarovahotels.com or +254 20 2757000.

We hope to host you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while attending a conference at another hotel in late June.

It is over 20 years since I last stayed there. Meanwhile it has been extensively modernised but still has its character. The room was large, the bathroom was a good size albeit that there is only a shower over the bath. There was a lack of channels on the TV and the picture on some channels was poor and that is my only complaint but did not bother me as I did not have the time to watch TV. I used the Thorn Tree restuarant on the ground floor for breakfast and had dinner there once and lunch on the day I left Kenya. Service was excellent and food was good. I used the bar on the first floor once in the evening and once late morning on the day I left for coffee. I had dinner one evening at the pool side restuarant. Again this was excellent.The staff I met in all areas of the hotel were excellent. I believe this is a 5 star hotel. I paid less than $200 per night which I consider very good value although this may have been a rate negotiated by the conference organisers in respect of a conference that I attended that took place at the Intercontinental hotel.

The Stanley has maintained its standards over the years and is good value with excellent service. Recommended.

Room Tip: My room faced the centre area so was away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PeteLusaka,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley after 20 years. We are glad that you noted our standards and good value with excellent service. Thank you for your recommendation.

We have noted all the points raised for your corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Nairobi. Excellent service, nice staff, good food and nice gym & spa! Internet included and worked just fine. High security, easy to walk out for shopping.

This is an excellent business hotel.
Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tommy C,

We appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback.

Thank you for rating us 5 star and an excellent business hotel.

We look forward to your next visit. Kindly contact us directly for airport transfer services.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Came here having spent the day travelling to Kenya from the uk, as we were getting married in Kenya they spoilt us by leaving cake, flowers, rose petals and a towel arrangement in our room, this was a nice touch.
All staff were friendly, approachable and efficient, the room was clean and everything worked, there was also free wifi, which wasn't brilliant, but it was free so you can't complain.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and everything was fresh and well presented.
The swimming pool on the roof was brilliant, warm and relaxing.
All in all they left a really good lasting impression on us and we would be glad to return.
A brilliant start to a brilliant holiday!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Griff84,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your wedding.

We are happy to have shared this memorable stay with you and also happy that all lead to a brilliant stay. We look forward to hosting you again with more memorable memories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.