We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Lusaka
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while attending a conference at another hotel in late June.

It is over 20 years since I last stayed there. Meanwhile it has been extensively modernised but still has its character. The room was large, the bathroom was a good size albeit that there is only a shower over the bath. There was a lack of channels on the TV and the picture on some channels was poor and that is my only complaint but did not bother me as I did not have the time to watch TV. I used the Thorn Tree restuarant on the ground floor for breakfast and had dinner there once and lunch on the day I left Kenya. Service was excellent and food was good. I used the bar on the first floor once in the evening and once late morning on the day I left for coffee. I had dinner one evening at the pool side restuarant. Again this was excellent.The staff I met in all areas of the hotel were excellent. I believe this is a 5 star hotel. I paid less than $200 per night which I consider very good value although this may have been a rate negotiated by the conference organisers in respect of a conference that I attended that took place at the Intercontinental hotel.

The Stanley has maintained its standards over the years and is good value with excellent service. Recommended.

Room Tip: My room faced the centre area so was away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear PeteLusaka,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Sarova Stanley after 20 years. We are glad that you noted our standards and good value with excellent service. Thank you for your recommendation.

We have noted all the points raised for your corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    216
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
152
58
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great hotel in the middle of Nairobi. Excellent service, nice staff, good food and nice gym & spa! Internet included and worked just fine. High security, easy to walk out for shopping.

This is an excellent business hotel.
Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Tommy C,

We appreciate the time taken to give us your feedback.

Thank you for rating us 5 star and an excellent business hotel.

We look forward to your next visit. Kindly contact us directly for airport transfer services.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Came here having spent the day travelling to Kenya from the uk, as we were getting married in Kenya they spoilt us by leaving cake, flowers, rose petals and a towel arrangement in our room, this was a nice touch.
All staff were friendly, approachable and efficient, the room was clean and everything worked, there was also free wifi, which wasn't brilliant, but it was free so you can't complain.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and everything was fresh and well presented.
The swimming pool on the roof was brilliant, warm and relaxing.
All in all they left a really good lasting impression on us and we would be glad to return.
A brilliant start to a brilliant holiday!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Griff84,

Thank you for your review and congratulations on your wedding.

We are happy to have shared this memorable stay with you and also happy that all lead to a brilliant stay. We look forward to hosting you again with more memorable memories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and was the start of our Kenyan trip. The hotel room was of spacious size and well kept. The cleaniless was faultless and had all the room facilities that you would expect. Breakfast was a vast array of choices and very nice, with a good service. Our only issue was that one day we had a drink in the bar and was a bit on the pricey side. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and all the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give a good overlook of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear charleigh p,

Greetings and thank you for your email.

W have noted your kind comments during your recent stay with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and all the staff were helpful.

For your next visit, kindly contact us directly as we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The team at the Sarova Stanley is great. Special regards to Carolyne Mweseli, Kagunga, Jedidah, Anthony, Leonard, Frigustus, Jared Lucy, Ruth and Paul Ngeno. The team is there for the clients to ensure you receive the best.

The rooms are clean, secure, well aerated and spacious.

Room Tip: The eastern rooms gives a view of Kimathi street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the special mentions of our team members who made your stay memorable.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived at Jomo Kenyatta Airport Nairobi at 6am on a Monday morning. So glad that the Sarova Stanley allowed us an early check-in without any additional cost [Bravo Sarova Stanley]. On arrival after our cab driver struggeled through the rush hour Nairobi traffic, we were greeted warmly and led to our huge room.
We had meetings from late morning so a few hours sleep was very welcome. Comfortable bed too.
Thick curtains kept the light and traffic noise out.
Wifi worked on my 'phone but not on my wife's. [It later transpired that for additional 'phones a code was required - but this did not work so we were to await the IT experts the next morning].
That evening we decided to book at the Stanley's Thai Chi restaurant. Whilst dressing up to go the the Thai Chi we found that the plug of the iron which we ordered from house keeping kept falling out of both of the two sockets available. Booking was not difficult. When we entered the restaurant was half full and we were very warmly greeted by the staff all in Thai attire. The ambiance of the restaurant was grand but very dark [difficult to read the menu] As the menu was difficult to read we were told that we would be assisted by a waiter For starters i ordered the Tom yam soup and my wife asked for grilled prawns the waiter showed my wife the item on the mennu which sted freid prawns - but the waiter assured us that they were grilled prawns. My starter was okay, not like a Thai Tom Yam soup, but similar. My wife got s few white balls of something which she found did not taste like prawns at all. She asked the waiter that these were not grilled prawns and she would not have this dish. It took our waiter a long time before he decided to tkae away the dish. By this time I had finidhed my starter. The mains were okay. A more senoir water explained that this was a dish with mashed up prawn with a variety of other ingredients but not grilled prawns. We left the restaurant disappointed.

As soon as we reached the room out sockets were sorted! wonderful.

Next morning still no wifi for my wife's 'phone.

Breakfast was good in the Thron tree cafe. I remembered my teenage days in the mid 60's living in Nairobi and having coffee there and people watching

We attended meetings the following day and that evening we decide to eat in the Thorn tree restaurant. The meal came with a complimentary starter which was such a treat, whilst eating the starter. Ravi the deputy food and beverage manager came to us and inquired about our evening the previous day. I was amazed that he took such an interest in our dissapointment. We explained everything to him and he stated that he woudl be making changes to the menu and also be looking into staff training. I thought that was so good Full marks for customer service. To top it up he waived our dinner bill charges. After this he arranged for us to use the business centre internet as my wife's wifi was not working. Depsite our initial dissapointment, Ravi took so much care and attention to ensure our visit was not marred by this one incident that he must surely be one of the few hotel managers in the world worthy of 6 stars!
All staff were lovely and caring.

We will certainly be back
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear MO53RO55,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are extremely glad to read about your experience during your last stay with us. We have noted all the points raised for our action.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel places you in the heart of Nairobi. Everything is in walking distance (shopping, banks, eateries etc). If you love NYC hustle, then this is the place to be. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. One staff in particular, Dominic, was very hospitable and went out of his way to make hotel guests feel welcome. He taught us some of the local dialect and even sent complimentary fruit to the room. We received the local newspaper complimentary each day, and the staff was very attentive to any problems that came up. The breakfast and dinner menus were great as well, especially the buffet. 5 stars to the staff for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 1frequentflyer365,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad our team and customer service exceeded your expectation. Thank you for the special mention of our team member. This mention has been shared to the whole team and has motivated us to continually improve on our customer service. We are also happy, that our dining experience was great.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.