We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days and was the start of our Kenyan trip. The hotel room was of spacious size and well kept. The cleaniless was faultless and had all the room facilities that you would expect. Breakfast was a vast array of choices and very nice, with a good service. Our only issue was that one day we had a drink in the bar and was a bit on the pricey side. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and all the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give a good overlook of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear charleigh p,

Greetings and thank you for your email.

W have noted your kind comments during your recent stay with us. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and all the staff were helpful.

For your next visit, kindly contact us directly as we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    199
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
62
149
53
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The team at the Sarova Stanley is great. Special regards to Carolyne Mweseli, Kagunga, Jedidah, Anthony, Leonard, Frigustus, Jared Lucy, Ruth and Paul Ngeno. The team is there for the clients to ensure you receive the best.

The rooms are clean, secure, well aerated and spacious.

Room Tip: The eastern rooms gives a view of Kimathi street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate the special mentions of our team members who made your stay memorable.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I arrived at Jomo Kenyatta Airport Nairobi at 6am on a Monday morning. So glad that the Sarova Stanley allowed us an early check-in without any additional cost [Bravo Sarova Stanley]. On arrival after our cab driver struggeled through the rush hour Nairobi traffic, we were greeted warmly and led to our huge room.
We had meetings from late morning so a few hours sleep was very welcome. Comfortable bed too.
Thick curtains kept the light and traffic noise out.
Wifi worked on my 'phone but not on my wife's. [It later transpired that for additional 'phones a code was required - but this did not work so we were to await the IT experts the next morning].
That evening we decided to book at the Stanley's Thai Chi restaurant. Whilst dressing up to go the the Thai Chi we found that the plug of the iron which we ordered from house keeping kept falling out of both of the two sockets available. Booking was not difficult. When we entered the restaurant was half full and we were very warmly greeted by the staff all in Thai attire. The ambiance of the restaurant was grand but very dark [difficult to read the menu] As the menu was difficult to read we were told that we would be assisted by a waiter For starters i ordered the Tom yam soup and my wife asked for grilled prawns the waiter showed my wife the item on the mennu which sted freid prawns - but the waiter assured us that they were grilled prawns. My starter was okay, not like a Thai Tom Yam soup, but similar. My wife got s few white balls of something which she found did not taste like prawns at all. She asked the waiter that these were not grilled prawns and she would not have this dish. It took our waiter a long time before he decided to tkae away the dish. By this time I had finidhed my starter. The mains were okay. A more senoir water explained that this was a dish with mashed up prawn with a variety of other ingredients but not grilled prawns. We left the restaurant disappointed.

As soon as we reached the room out sockets were sorted! wonderful.

Next morning still no wifi for my wife's 'phone.

Breakfast was good in the Thron tree cafe. I remembered my teenage days in the mid 60's living in Nairobi and having coffee there and people watching

We attended meetings the following day and that evening we decide to eat in the Thorn tree restaurant. The meal came with a complimentary starter which was such a treat, whilst eating the starter. Ravi the deputy food and beverage manager came to us and inquired about our evening the previous day. I was amazed that he took such an interest in our dissapointment. We explained everything to him and he stated that he woudl be making changes to the menu and also be looking into staff training. I thought that was so good Full marks for customer service. To top it up he waived our dinner bill charges. After this he arranged for us to use the business centre internet as my wife's wifi was not working. Depsite our initial dissapointment, Ravi took so much care and attention to ensure our visit was not marred by this one incident that he must surely be one of the few hotel managers in the world worthy of 6 stars!
All staff were lovely and caring.

We will certainly be back
.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear MO53RO55,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We are extremely glad to read about your experience during your last stay with us. We have noted all the points raised for our action.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel places you in the heart of Nairobi. Everything is in walking distance (shopping, banks, eateries etc). If you love NYC hustle, then this is the place to be. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. One staff in particular, Dominic, was very hospitable and went out of his way to make hotel guests feel welcome. He taught us some of the local dialect and even sent complimentary fruit to the room. We received the local newspaper complimentary each day, and the staff was very attentive to any problems that came up. The breakfast and dinner menus were great as well, especially the buffet. 5 stars to the staff for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear 1frequentflyer365,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad our team and customer service exceeded your expectation. Thank you for the special mention of our team member. This mention has been shared to the whole team and has motivated us to continually improve on our customer service. We are also happy, that our dining experience was great.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for 15 days.
Everyone is helpful or tries to be so.
People are friendly. Staff is accomodating.
Nice decor.
Had needed amenities.
Had wireless.
3 restaurants were well liked by my companions.
Complimentary breakfast was fine.
Only 5 star hotel in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your comments and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in this property for a day during business visit to Nairobi. Although structure is built in 1902, it offers 5 star services.Location wise its very much into city with main city market with FOREX, Taxi stand , medicines everything in 2 minutes walk. Staff is very cordial and overall its a highly recommended place. Swimming pool wasn't as per 5 star but good enough to get in for a dip. Overall its a value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FaisalAhmad,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that our location in Nairobi's central business district was of convenience to your purpose of visit. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sarova Stanley for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff are all wonderful and exteremly accommodating, from Irene who was helpful at the management level to Faith who was friendly at the reception desk, and Grace who was accommodating to my special dietary needs in room service. The hotel has a story that goes back to 1902 and has been well kept since then to uphold the colonial architecture and themes. I enjoyed my stay there, it was pleasant and the service was excellent on all levels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear AnEgyptian,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your rating of the hotel, special mentions of the team members who exceeded your expectation and sharing your experience.

We look forward to hosting you again with more pleasurable memories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Otel, Preferred Hotels, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.