We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi City experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nairobi City experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in this property for a day during business visit to Nairobi. Although structure is built in 1902, it offers 5 star services.Location wise its very much into city with main city market with FOREX, Taxi stand , medicines everything in 2 minutes walk. Staff is very cordial and overall its a highly recommended place. Swimming pool wasn't as per 5 star but good enough to get in for a dip. Overall its a value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear FaisalAhmad,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that our location in Nairobi's central business district was of convenience to your purpose of visit. We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    219
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
67
156
60
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sarova Stanley for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff are all wonderful and exteremly accommodating, from Irene who was helpful at the management level to Faith who was friendly at the reception desk, and Grace who was accommodating to my special dietary needs in room service. The hotel has a story that goes back to 1902 and has been well kept since then to uphold the colonial architecture and themes. I enjoyed my stay there, it was pleasant and the service was excellent on all levels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear AnEgyptian,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your rating of the hotel, special mentions of the team members who exceeded your expectation and sharing your experience.

We look forward to hosting you again with more pleasurable memories.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although built in 1902, this Hotel offers 5 star accomodtion and service! Situated downtown Nairobi, it nicely placed for walkabouts. The rooms are spacious and the Hotel restaurants serve really nice food with excellent service.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the elevators are always preferable. The only down side, if you can call it that, is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Robert P,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review and for rating us outstanding.

For more than 111 years, we have endevoured to meet and exceed customer expectation and we look forward to doing so for another century.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although not situated in a great place I;E centre of Nairobi, the hotel is great , very clean, beautiful rooms , great staff , great quality food and drinks , all you need to start your journey to the outback and on safari A*

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear DEBBZ27,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to be termed as “all you need to start your journey to the outback and on safari” We’d love for you to join us again in the near future and appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetserfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just returned from a two night stay at this hotel and it was fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and we were greeted with a cool refreshing drink. We were shown to our room which was beautifully decorated and has everything anyone could desire. The pool and bar area were superb and the Thai restaurant was superb. I loved the traditional charm and will certainly book again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear ErikaChesterfield,

We thank you for taking out time to post your review.

We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Stanley for one week and it was quite a pleasant stay. Breakfast is excellent with a lage choice of everything. I found the restaurants just a bit overpriced for dinner, especially considering you must add 30% to the cost of the meal for taxes and service charges. The food was of good quality and the service very caring.

The rooms are large and decorated with good taste. What is lacking for me is a good wi-fi connection. I was on the 7th floor and the connection came and went. I had to retreat to the business center to get things done as connection gets better on the lower floors. Some rooms have a cable, definitely ask for those rooms so you won't be dependent on the wifi. The staff did try and assist though. The desk chair is also not too comfortable if you plan to work so keep that in mind.

Exercise room very good (though no air conditioning) with excellent treadmills.

Location is great but not if you have to venture to Westlands as traffic is horrible.

Overall, a good stay and you do feel the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Avichai,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were delighted to host you for one week and you rated our breakfast choice as excellent, good food quality and service, spacious rooms and great location for the purpose of your visit.

We regret that your room had internet interruptions. We are investing in additional internet access points around the hotel that will boost our signal strength in all rooms. We have noted the concern on the AC in the Health club for our action.

We have take your feedback constructively and will ensure, as always, that we learn and improve to provide exceptional guest experience.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is of old Victorian style but very nicely and well maintained to give a luxurious living to the traveler. I was greeted at the doorstep in a typical African style "Jumbo". The lobby is small but well decorated with all the historical pictures of the city and hotel, rooms are comfortable with all amenities and specially the breakfast is excellent with very smiley welcome and broad range of recipes to enjoy. The whole stay was pleasurable for me.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Sadiq S,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to have shared our history and heritage with you which gave you memorable moments.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.