We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Mandatory check-out at 10AM?!?"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices from these 13 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Tehran, Iran
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“"Mandatory check-out at 10AM?!?"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Well my wife and I spent one night at the Sarova Stanley hotel. We arrived at 11 oclock at night and were told that we had to check-out tomorrow morning at 10AM!! Now I don't believe this is the norm for Kenya hotels, (is it?), but what I DO know is I had to present my voucher to the reception THREE TIMES to different receptionists (and each of them took a photocopy of it each time!) where it had specifically mentioned that my check-out time was 12 o'clock noon, after which the receptionist would --each time-- reluctantly accept the fact that they have somehow been fooled into promising the extra two hours....
To my amazement, late check-out, whether it be 5 minutes or 8 hours, would be charged at a fixed rate of 75% of one night's stay, somewhere around 300 USD!!, so I made sure I was well out of my room with packed suitcases at a safe distance before 12...!
HOWEVER, room service and breakfast was truly amazing. Rarely if ever have I had such a spectacular breakfast with new additions (such as iced latte in a pitcher, fresh and hot meat loaf, ...etc in a very lovely environment with waiters and staff that were extremely nice with broad smiles. The same can be said for the concierge which was very nice, helpful and informative, along with other hotel staff, and the rooms were very spacious, three beds were spaced far apart with much room in between to walk about and not stumble over your belongings. Few hotels have such spacey rooms as the Sarova Stanley. All in all, aside from the ridiculous check-out problem, the hotel was excellent. Just make sure you know exactly what you have booked and until when precisely you have booked it and have multiple copies available!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    227
    56
    15
    13
See reviews for
70
163
61
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Good location in Nairobi CBD. Room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Excellent food and ambiance at the pool terrace restaurant. Breakfast buffet spread was big and very good. Arrived in the evening and had to leave early next morning for safari so didn't have much time to enjoy the facilities. Standard 5 star hotel service. Although I paid a discounted rate, I still find it slightly expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear lcw-indietraveler,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate the comments on our Pool deck restaurant and Thorn Tree Restaurant. We have shared this with our chefs to motivate them to exceed customer expectation through their creativity and fresh ingredients. We hope that on your next visit, you shall share your lovely pictures with all.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Excellent hotel & service. Very clean & friendly. Centrally located in Nairobi. Plenty of choice of food. Top floor swimming pool was gorgeous. Only down fall was that it was a tad expensive. Also they made us feel very welcome and they made a lot of effort to help celebrate our wedding anniversary! Defiantly would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to of been of high quality :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Cazza_x,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the comments and the rating.

Befriend us on our Facebook page and see more of the other Sarova properties, located in scenic destinations in Kenya.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The poor service does not match up all the captivating history that the stanley holds.....starting with when we got there...the staff has no enthusiasm and it was as if they were all trying to get away the minute we arrived.....or busy asking you if you had booked your next safari or rented a car.....all annoying questions after tiring travels.... the room is spacious but very outdated could use some bringing back to the times and give it some life......Breakfast on day #1 we thought it would be such a lovely idea to sit out in the open area and enjoy breakfast.....we were wrong the fumes from all the cars going by is just terrible....we are never going back there again...if you would like a hotel in town but yet feel like you are away from the chaos try the intercontinental or the Norfolk hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear idreamofkenya,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to have shared our history with you.

We have noted the concerns raised to better our service and product.

Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was my second visit after almost 17 years. I loved it then and still do! The Stanley is a beautiful, elegant, classic hotel in the center of the amazing city of Nairobi. The hotel has a fascinating history. The standard rooms are large and comfortable, The staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Both restaurants serve excellent food. The spa and business center are great additions.The price for a hotel for this caliber outstanding. Recommended without hesitation.
Airport pick-up is available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear NancySN,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your return visit after 17 years. Thank you also for your rating. We appreciate your feedback. Next time, kindly share with us pictures of each of your stays.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Stanley has a very fascinating history and I do love the architecture..my problem is with the staff...I do not know what method they use for screening their potential clients but my two visits there havent been pleasant...!!! At he restaurant, I got served as if I was seond rate client...at the lobby when I enquired ater a friend who was staying there..treatment wasnt better...however I hear it is just us kenyan who get the nose down treatment so try,
maybe you would get a better treatment

Room Tip: next to the swiimming pool..hgher floors have a better vien and are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Herine O,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad that the history and heritage of the hotel made your stay more memorable.

We regret the concern raised and have taken note of it for an immediate action plan to meet and exceed customer expectation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel was wonderful. The welcome was great. Though they have a system that won't let you check in before Mid-day. We had reached the hotel around 8 ( our flight timing was weird) and had to wait a couple of hours before we were given the room. If I had to take the room early, I was asked to pay the full day's charge in advance. But anyways, was given the room at around 10 along with the complimentary fruits, which were quite delicious. The gym as well as the heated swimming pool are good too. Overall had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Kauzy,

Thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your comments on our hotel and welcome. Our guest rooms may not be always available for early check-ins, unless specifically required in advance. We regret that, this caused the wait. However, we are glad your overall experience was great.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.