We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, location not great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice stay, location not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Sarova Stanley was very welcoming, the staff were really nice, but it's right in the middle of the congestion - when we headed out, it would take so long to maneuver around traffic. But thanks to our driver, he managed well.

Room Tip: May be try for room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear cheerbowl,

Thank you for your review. We are glad your driver managed well in the traffic.

We hope that next time, you will share with us your pictures too.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    276
    216
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
152
58
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

By far the most comfortable hotel i have been too if one has business to take care of or take clients out for a drink or lunch in Nairobi CBD. The rooms are spacious, friendly staff and quite appropriately located. The decorations, paintings and photographs of the past takes one back in to time and give a virtual picture as to how the city centre looked like in the yester years. The food is good and the room service is prompt.

The orientle restaurant located on the 01st floor offers excellent dining experience and if one is just traveling then it isnt far from the masai market near Kenya Conference centre. I will not advise people to leave the hotel in the night for a stroll but catch a cab and go to better places in nairobi.

Room Tip: Take a room facing kenyatta avenue just to see the busy Nairobi streets in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear karan y,

It was our pleasure to host you and your clients in Nairobi's central business district heritage hotel. Thank you for your feedback.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after the long flight from Australia and were pleased to get a warm yet efficient
reception. The room was spacious and comfortable, the laundry service efficient and dinner by the pool was v good with huge portions (good for the very hungry). The hotel has a colonial feel about it with lovely timber on the staircases and the first floor bar has an authentic 'olde world' feel to it. I thoroughly recommend this hotel if visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear EJL12,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your kind comments on our reception team, room size, efficient laundry service and our dining portions. We are also grateful of your rating of our historical hotel ' old world' feel and your recommendation.

We look forward to interacting with you more and more; follow us or even be our fan.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in Sarova three times, minimum one week each time, and I am sure I will go back again.

Sarova provides you the feel that you are in important place. A professional, polite and willing to assist staff, attends you at the gate and direct you to a well decorated lobby . It is hard to believe the professionalism, friendliness and care of the staff.

The rooms are spacious, clean and secured (I recommend higher floor rooms that located away from the swimming pools). The breakfast is recommendable for food lovers! The restaurant and bars are designed with intention not let you think other places to dine and drink

Room Tip: The rooms toward the swimming pool are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mulugeta,

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation on our hotel and the team.

We look forward to hosting you again,

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Sarova Stanley. Last time in January the receptionist failed to take a "pre-authorisation" but charged my credit card. So when I checked-out a couple of days later, the receptionist charged my card again. After many phone calls with divers employees and managers, who all reassured me that they will refund the money to my credit card, I have not received it. That deceitful behaviour should not happen in a 5 star hotel. Once a month I'm in Nairobi, but that was the last time I have stayed in the mentioned premises.
And I'm still waiting for the reimbursment...

Room Tip: Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear David K.,

Thank you for your feedback.

We regret that one of my team members charged the card instead of taking a pre-authorization. This case was also picked up at audit for follow-through with the bank. The funds have since been processed and sent to your account to correct the mistake.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

As this was our first trip to Africa we had no idea what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel, staff, rooms, restaurants and bars. We had 2 nights in the hotel and it seemed to be in a convenient location, the traffic was horrendous so it was great knowing at the end of the day we had a little retreat to return to. Food in the Thai restaurant was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear worktotravel010,

We are glad to have hosted you in your frist trip to Africa. Thank you for your feedback and rating. I trust we shall be hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wittering, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in late January early February. Hotel and staff were great. Pool was a little small but quiet nice for downtown Nairobi.

Only slight problem is although situation is good the traffic is not and getting a taxi can be a struggle in the morning.

The bar is very good, I believe it was the Nairobi exchange or something in a former life.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Windsurfingsadlers,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again in our lovely city.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.