We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #8 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Boutersem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Adorable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, both on 3th & 7th floor,, rooms were equally furnished, the one on the on the 3th with noise from the street. Rooms are oké and clean.
Breakfast is good, can sit inside or outside on the terras, service of drinks a bit slow at times. Had also lunch and dinner in this restaurant, service is fantastic & friendly, the food is cooked to preference. Resto at the pool ( don't expect olympic size) is perfect for a drink. Had the buffet lunch, which is up to african standards, no fine cuisine but fair choice. Situation of the hotel in city centre, which is perfect but can take time to get out of the city because of traffic. Check in & out procedure a bit slow but correct.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Bart,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    219
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
67
156
60
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We hesitate a lot before booking at this hotel. We're very familiar with the Fairmont hotels and there is one in Nairobi. But a last minute special deal convince us to try it.

Well we were not disappointed, in fact we would go back there our next time. The hotel feel like a museum on the first couple floors. With all the pictures and rich wood decorations, we had the impression our journey had already started. The main asset of this hotel is undeniably the staff. Not just friendly, charming! Lots of free services, wi-fi and mostly the free storage. Our East Africa journey was divided on several portions and Nairobi was our hub. What a luxury to be able to leave some souvenirs and extra clothing behind for a few days. The whole process is secured and easy... it made our trip so much enjoyable.

In total, we were there three times and our rooms were immaculates. Flat tv, comfortable bed and stylish furniture. Personally I think the rooms could use a little refresh (wall, carpet, style) but my wife found it charming... so it's a personal view.

We were on our honeymoon... an example the staff goes over their head to please you... they left us a little surprise three times!

Thumbs up to the staff, the Torn Tree Café and the restaurant... the checking out process is a little too complicated and long... to improve in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for your feedback. It was our pleasure to host you in our heritage treasure and be part of your honeymoon experience. We have noted your comment on areas of improvement. On your next trip, we hope to exceed your expectation.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at the Stanley for 2 days. The staff were very friendly, especially the Brand Ambassador Dominic. The convenient first floor restaraunt, offered a great spread of fresh fruits and bakery items, in addition to the prepared meals local specialities and classics that I recognized. The restaraunt's indoor outdoor space, invites the hum the city and fresh cool air yet, partiitioned from the street making it a relaxing way to wake up!

The roof top pool offers beautiful views of the surrounding buildings. Together with the sauna and steam room, it has all the amenities to provide a good reprieve from the hustle and bustle outside.

The rooms are very nice, with elegant wood furnishings and comfortable sheets.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings and thank you for your comments. The Sarova Stanley family was honored to host you in our home. We wish you had shared some memories through pictures. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. The staff were friendly and always helpful. They went out of their way with any request that I had. I do believe it's a Kenyan culture as everyone I met in Kenya was friendly.

It is in a busy part of town, but that what made it exciting. The buzz, the atmosphere gave you a sense of Kenya.

The breakfast was average as was the pool restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have stayed, two days (June 2011) at the Sarova Stanley, during a business tour in East Africa. It is centrally located in Nairobi, and the first impression, when you enter the hotel, is "what an elegant hotel!!"
The check-in was smooth and it took me less than 15 mn. to be in my room. The room was reasonably big and very clean.
The strength of the Sarova is the lovely staff! I was sick when I reached the hotel (bad flu), the lady in the restaurant prepared a very nice hot drink made of fresh ginger, lemon and honey and believe me it helped me a lot to get well.
I cannot say much about the food, since I had all my meals outside with business partners but the breakfast was ok!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Nairobi.

Thank you for your feedback, we trust you have fully recovered. During your next stay we hope to host your business partners and yourself in any of our dining options for full dining experience.

Welcome back.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rooms are big clean and comfortable.
The Thai and the main restaurants serve tasty high quality food.
It is perfect place to spend the evening away from the crowded city.
The city center location may cause delays in coming in or going out due to all day traffic jam.

Room Tip: To avoid traffic noise ask for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback. We appreciate the comments and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Stanley at the beginning and end of our trip to Kenya December 2012 and Jan 2013. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed. The restaurant served good food at a reasonable price. The location allowed for walking the downtown area, and they provided a map and advice on the safe ares to walk. But it is the people there who made the stay so wonderful. The genuine caring and concern they showed when our safari company driver didn't show up on the last day. Joanne, Eva, and the manager, Duncan, worked tirelessly to make phone calls to try and contact them for us. They called the tourism ministry and places i would not have known about to get contact information. They allowed me free use of the business center after we were checked out. And when they were able to contact the company came and told me that they were disappointed in the way the safari company handled the situation. When we left fer the airport, they knew we would be there for several hours and sent us with two complimentary water bottles each so we wouldn't get thirsty. I can't say enough nice things about the people at the Stanley, who worked all day with us to make sure we were taken care of when we had been abandoned. Duncan told us it was because the people there genuinely like what they are doing, and i would have to agree. Joanne told us she know how she would feel if she was in our situation -- and even stopped by to say good bye when her shift ended. When you are far from home it is nice to know that there are people there who will help you in any situation, even when it is beyond their responsibility. Thank you Sarova Stanley for all you did for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your last stay with us.

We are grateful for your feedback and especially the mention of our colleagues who made your stay most memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.