We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Honeymoon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Stanley

Save Saved
You added Sarova Stanley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complementary Transfer
Ranked #9 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Honeymoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst transferring from a safari to beach holiday. The hotel was lovely and the staff very friendly. The rooms here are very spacious and comfortable. The hotel was bieng decorated whilst we were their (which we had not been advised) but this didnt affect our stay. The breakfast here is buffet. Travel to and from the airport is very bad, lots of stationary traffic

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for rating our services.

We hope to host you again so that you may experience the enhanced luxury while the heritage and history has been maintained.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    215
    54
    15
    13
See reviews for
65
151
57
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel three times, its bang in the centre of Nairobi but i felt secure at all times. The staff are friendly and the 'public' areas are in good order, tastefully 'period decorated', service is prompt and efficient - except at breakfast where it all goes a bit 'African'. The hotel has a variety of restaurants and bars, I found the food very good. The gym is well equipped but quite small and the pool area is rather 'tight' as it is located on one of the upper floors. If you are after some tanning action then you might struggle as surrounding buildings can cast shade on the pool area depending on the time of day.

But the purpose of a hotel for sleeping and here there is a big contrast between small/large, old or modern rooms. I have experienced a plethora of contrasting rooms in my three stays - each of varying quality some good -some bad

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

We appreciate your loyalty and hope for continued support. We have noted the concerns raised and we are working towards ensuring guest comfort. Looking forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Backwell
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Itvis not the hotel I am complaining about but the management.
We had booked our room several months in advance,and had arranged transportation from the airport to the hotel.on arrival at the airport we were told that the hotel was "FULL"and we were to be taken to a sister hotel This is 9.00 at night and we are due to be picked up at 9.00 am in the morning to go to our next destination.
We said no take us to our hotel
My wife and I are by this time very annoyed and for the next hour had to argue wit reception,then the assistant manager and then the manager.Then suddenly reception found a room.
We paid a fortune for 8 hours in the room Not only did this spoil the start of our holiday we did not even get a n apology from the manahement even though we registered a complaint
The breakfast was superb but we would avoid the Sarova group in our future trips

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is constructive criticism like yours that will help us exceed guest expectation.

We would like to apologize for the unusual overbooking situation that led to your unsatisfactory experience. The points you have raised in your review have been made into actions plans to ensure such situations are handled to guest satisfaction. We assure you that we are addressing our shortcomings with all the relevant departments.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you once more. Kindly contact me directly the next time you plan to come to Nairobi on: thestanley@sarovahotels.com


Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, RI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel exceeded my expectations. I was hesitant to stay overnight in Nairobi, but I felt so safe. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were extremely welcoming! The restaurant was great, and offered a big selection. It was a perfect place to stay while being in between safaris. It gave us a relaxing night to shower and refresh ourselves!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Sarova Stanley and we assure you of refreshing African hospitality in all your future stays.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Sarova Stanley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel furniture is super and it brings out a warm and welcoming feel.The best thing about the hotel is its location, especially for business or transit tourists visiting Nairobi or on stop over to any of the national parks from Nairobi.
The rooms are well done.
Historical attraction of the Hotel is the 'Thorn Tree" where the Thorn Tree Restaurant currently is.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your continued support and look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is good and i usually stay here during my visits home. For the first time i ried using the pick up service from the airport but it wasnt worth the money i paid for. On arrival the driver gave me a very cold reception and after getting my luggage i just realised that he had packed in a dark alley near a dustbin or gabbage place with very little lighting. On the other hand he squeezed my luggages in the car booth hence breaking some thhings in my box. I already received an apology email from the manager but that bad feeling is still in me.Imagine after flying for more than 9 hours and expecting a good and soft landing at the airport only to receive an awkward reception.I love the hotel and the service is good.That was my first time that iused the pick up service and contemplating over ever using it again

Room Tip: Just ask for a good one and they will surely go out of their way to get you what you want .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your continued visits while in Nairobi. Your comments on the hotel, its location, the quality of sleep and our service are highly appreciated.

We sincerely apologize on the airport pick-up experience you had. We assure you that it is not the norm for the team to inconvenience guests in this manner. We have taken necessary steps to correct this gap

Once again thank you and we look forward to hosting you again on your return visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Stanley is in a good central location close to most amenities. The hotel is well kept and reminds of a bygone era. Our room was large, it had a great view and the air conditioning worked well. The staff were friendly and courteous, the restaurants were good, the bars were great as was room service. The gym is well equipped and the swimming pool fine. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We asked to have a view of the city and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Stanley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.